Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7th October 2010, 13:53   #451
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 186
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

They have changed pairs and now the noise on telephone line is gone, the SNR and attennuation are better but not quite in the range you gave. Posting the snapshot below, hope it works with these numbers.

Which service provider do you have? Airtel?
Attached Thumbnails
BSNL BroadBand Issues-line-p2.jpg  

Shankyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2010, 14:06   #452
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,565
Thanked: 360 Times
Default

I was looking forward to contributing in this thread , but I am waiting for over 14 days to get my modem, as I got the land line connection 2 weeks ago.

Is this normal waiting time? I heard that modem will be installed within a week after getting the telephone.
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2010, 14:10   #453
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 69
Thanked: Once
Default

@Clevermax - I got my modem in 3 days after I received the land line connection in Bangalore. Had to wait for another week for it ti start working though.
djjebs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2010, 14:12   #454
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,565
Thanked: 360 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djjebs View Post
@Clevermax - I got my modem in 3 days after I received the land line connection in Bangalore. Had to wait for another week for it ti start working though.
So looks like these guys delaying it, may be because of unavailability of modem. I am trying to reach the telephone exchange but no-one ever picks up the phone! I am hating BSNL already!
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2010, 14:22   #455
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 69
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
So looks like these guys delaying it, may be because of unavailability of modem. I am trying to reach the telephone exchange but no-one ever picks up the phone! I am hating BSNL already!
Maybe due to unavailability. These guys at the exchange rarely pick up the phones. The best thing to do is walk in to the exchange and get things sorted out or try calling the guy who installed your telephone line, he might have an answer.
djjebs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2010, 14:30   #456
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,565
Thanked: 360 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djjebs View Post
Maybe due to unavailability. These guys at the exchange rarely pick up the phones. The best thing to do is walk in to the exchange and get things sorted out or try calling the guy who installed your telephone line, he might have an answer.
That;s the problem. They installed the phone when I was not around. So I could not note down the number. Anyway, he told Modem comes form another department.

Going to the exchange tomorrow or day after to sort things out.
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2010, 14:40   #457
Senior - BHPian
 
aargee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KATN
Posts: 4,648
Thanked: 1,957 Times
Default

@Clevermax - Just get the email ID of all the entire top community from BSNL & shoot an email. But do this only if you wait for over 3-4 days. People from local exchange will be running towards your home. Trust me, the email stuff works!!!

By top, what I mean is CGM, GM & what not? Here you go - http://www.kerala.bsnl.co.in/tvm/srtvm.asp; once again, do this only if you've waited for quite sometime.
aargee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2010, 15:14   #458
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NA
Posts: 15
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shankyz View Post
Which service provider do you have? Airtel?
I've BSNL and I'm a few hundred metre away from the exchange which would explain the low attenuation. The SNR is okay but the line attenuation still seems to be high. If your broadband works fine don't worry over these numbers.
mod-the-pc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2010, 15:18   #459
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,565
Thanked: 360 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aargee View Post
@Clevermax - Just get the email ID of all the entire top community from BSNL & shoot an email. But do this only if you wait for over 3-4 days. People from local exchange will be running towards your home. Trust me, the email stuff works!!!

By top, what I mean is CGM, GM & what not? Here you go {URL} once again, do this only if you've waited for quite sometime.
Thank you aargee! I will surely do that if the modem doesn't come in another few days time!
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2010, 15:45   #460
BHPian
 
rajushank84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California, USA
Posts: 861
Thanked: 331 Times
Default

My BSNL broadband has been working fine without any issues for the past 5 years. Then a couple of months back, it started getting disconnected frequently. I logged a complaint, no response. Then after sometime, the landline would work but the broadband link would often be down. Then the landline itself went totally dead, no dial tone. After a month of logging complaints and not getting a response, I decided that enough is enough and filled a request to close the connection.

Moral of the story: BSNL works very very well when it works, proving that their infrastructure is good. But when things go bad, the tech support is horrible.
rajushank84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2010, 00:02   #461
BHPian
 
scorpio_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 155
Thanked: 64 Times
Default

Me too uses BSNL broadband at home. I used to use Airtel initially, thier customer service is the best but i was nit happy with the speed and also the charges.
BSNL has good plans and the speed is also nice, i agree here completely if it works no issues but on the event of issues, forget it. As one of the member said, email helps. the top officials in BSNL has customer focus but this has not reached to the bottom . You send email detailing out your issue, it will surely speedup the resolution.

Scorpio Fan
scorpio_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2010, 02:08   #462
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default

yes its a pain to tackle BSNL issue, In my small town, BSNL is the only broadband option and its a pain to get it fixed if it goes down.

Mostly if a problem occurs with DNS servers on sunday, you are hopeless till monday morning if its a working day.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2010, 07:29   #463
Senior - BHPian
 
Gansan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 3,417
Thanked: 860 Times
Default

The issue seems to have been resolved from yesterday morning. The speed in the mornings (till 8.00 AM) is very good. The speedtest.net shows speed up to 2 mbps and the ping test shows grade-B. But the speed goes down a lot in the evenings, which was not so noticeable before.
Gansan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2010, 11:11   #464
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 268
Thanked: 10 Times
Default Week end BSNL BB

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghpk View Post
Mostly if a problem occurs with DNS servers on sunday, you are hopeless till monday morning if its a working day.
, This is not issue of your town only. We face this issue on any weekend (sometimes), from DNS server going down to main server down. I see ADSL is up till exchange.

Last edited by omishra : 11th October 2010 at 11:12.
omishra is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2010, 09:46   #465
BHPian
 
bhp_maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Kochi, Kerala
Posts: 399
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by omishra View Post
, This is not issue of your town only. We face this issue on any weekend (sometimes), from DNS server going down to main server down. I see ADSL is up till exchange.
In such cases, you can try open DNS no? I hope they will work even if the BSNL DSN is down.
bhp_maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MTNL and BSNL's combo plan for broadband Minardi Shifting gears 35 20th June 2017 19:44
BSNL Broadband Wireless Configuration carboy Gadgets, Computers & Software 69 9th October 2012 23:19
Team-BHP is extremely slow with BSNL-Broadband! SumitB Shifting gears 23 1st August 2010 18:47
How To Improve BSNL/MTNL BroadBand Output finetuning Gadgets, Computers & Software 12 23rd December 2008 16:02
A question to all BSNL Broadband Unlimited Plan users adya33 Gadgets, Computers & Software 28 21st December 2008 20:25


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 16:31.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks