Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22nd November 2010, 12:08   #496
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Direct action would be better instead of indirect. You and your neighbors should do dharna in the BSNL local AE's office.
ha ha, no i don't have time for such a protest rally and people don't participate much.
Another issue is we have 2 kinda connections in our locality, one is the new logins and other one are old sancharnet ID's the problem is with the OLD ones, they said chandigarh one is problematic, bengaluru one is ok.

God give us a private 3G player in U.P.(east) soon, don't need more than few GB's and won't care about pricing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bhp_maniac View Post
Do send across mails to the top management of BSNL in your state. You can get all the contact details of top level management from state website of BSNL. It will work for sure. I've had such an issue, but only for my connection. On complaining, my JE told me to disconnect the BB and take it from some other operator. I send across mails to all those top managers and did get call from the state level head of BSNL. The issue was solved within 72 Hrs from the time I sent them mail. Just do it, after its just some minutes to draft the mail right
Just came back from area exchange and idiots say the problem is from tower room and they don't have keys for it, Called up local Dataone customer care, "complaint likh leta hun" (writing a complain for issue), that guy sounded so slow i know it would need a kick from top authorities of bsnl to get it going.
Thanks for your suggestion, hunting for those e-mail ID's now.

Last edited by ghpk : 22nd November 2010 at 12:11.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2010, 23:45   #497
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 664
Thanked: 154 Times
Default

Raccoon - The modem which i had was the Huawei Smartax MT 800 one. Good service for 5 years !

The replacement wireless one is a Teracom one !
nirmaljusdoit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2010, 09:29   #498
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,565
Thanked: 359 Times
Default Re: BSNL BroadBand Issues

I have a BB Home UL Combo connection, which is 512 kbps. I usually get download speeds as a 2 mbps connection, I can download torrents at speeds exceeding 200 kilo Bytes per second.

Speed test reveals that my download speed is, on an average, about 1.4 mbps and the upload speed is about 0.4 mbps.

Check the screenshot of torrent download happening at about 200 kBps.

BSNL BroadBand Issues-speed.png

Question is, is this normal for a 512 kbps connection or am I getting more than what the plan should give. I have confirmed with BSNL that my plan is indeed a BB Home UL Combo which is supposed to be 512 kbps.


EDIT: I am not sure whether there is any FUP, like the bandwidth is capped after I cross say 10GB per month or so..anyway, I hit 6-7 gb withing first 5 days of the month and I haven't seen a reduction is speed throughout the month.

Last edited by clevermax : 9th December 2010 at 09:34.
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2010, 14:29   #499
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 69
Thanked: Once
Default Re: BSNL BroadBand Issues

@Clevermax, thats a pretty good speed you are getting for 512kbps speed. I have the same connection (512 UL) in Bangalore, the max Download speed I've experienced is 75
djjebs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2010, 15:49   #500
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 906
Thanked: 353 Times
Default Re: BSNL BroadBand Issues

BSNL Phone + Broad Band has been out in our area for more than two months (road-widening), but all the houses still keep getting bills with rentals.
jinojohnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2010, 15:57   #501
BHPian
 
bhp_maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Kochi, Kerala
Posts: 398
Thanked: 80 Times
Default Re: BSNL BroadBand Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
I have a BB Home UL Combo connection, which is 512 kbps. I usually get download speeds as a 2 mbps connection, I can download torrents at speeds exceeding 200 kilo Bytes per second.

Speed test reveals that my download speed is, on an average, about 1.4 mbps and the upload speed is about 0.4 mbps.

Check the screenshot of torrent download happening at about 200 kBps.

Attachment 466080

Question is, is this normal for a 512 kbps connection or am I getting more than what the plan should give. I have confirmed with BSNL that my plan is indeed a BB Home UL Combo which is supposed to be 512 kbps.


EDIT: I am not sure whether there is any FUP, like the bandwidth is capped after I cross say 10GB per month or so..anyway, I hit 6-7 gb withing first 5 days of the month and I haven't seen a reduction is speed throughout the month.
This is definitely not normal. You are getting more speed. Technically speaking a 512 kbps connection should get a maximum of 512/8 = 64 kBps. Anything above that is free. But what to worry? You are getting 2 MBPS unlimited
bhp_maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2010, 16:02   #502
Senior - BHPian
 
Raccoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Poona
Posts: 1,832
Thanked: 105 Times
Default Re: BSNL BroadBand Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by jinojohnt View Post
BSNL Phone + Broad Band has been out in our area for more than two months (road-widening), but all the houses still keep getting bills with rentals.
No service = no bills. Simple! Apply/fight for rental waiver.
Raccoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2010, 22:22   #503
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,565
Thanked: 359 Times
Default Re: BSNL BroadBand Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by bhp_maniac View Post
This is definitely not normal. You are getting more speed. Technically speaking a 512 kbps connection should get a maximum of 512/8 = 64 kBps. Anything above that is free. But what to worry? You are getting 2 MBPS unlimited
Yes.. happy that I am getting speeds that I am not paying for.

I have noticed one more thing. Today evening when I got back home and started browsing, I noticed a dead slow internet speed - speed test with US servers revealed that the speed is just 0.11 mbps for d/l. I just rebooted my modem and voila! I have a speed of 1.5 mbps again to the same servers in US!

My morning session had at least 1.8 GBs of data transfer. Has anyone noticed this behavior? Guys who run their modems 24/7 has to try this..
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2010, 23:03   #504
BHPian
 
lazybrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bangalore/Mangalore
Posts: 191
Thanked: 91 Times
Default Re: BSNL BroadBand Issues

@Clevermax did u check your Broadband plan on BSNL portal? If not, i would suggest you to check once. Please click on below URL.

BSNL Portal

you can obtain username and password by calling BSNL toll free Customer care, if you do not have one. If on the portal if your provisioned plan shows up as 512 kbps but you are getting more speed then you are really lucky.

PS: I have a 2 Mbps plan with FUP of 50 GB per month for which i pay Rs. 2999/- per month but i hardly get 1.5 Mbps speed. When i called the BSNL guys they clarified that the speed is up to 2 Mbps which means maximum is 2 Mbps and can vary throughout the day.

Last edited by lazybrain : 9th December 2010 at 23:06.
lazybrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2010, 11:34   #505
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,565
Thanked: 359 Times
Default Re: BSNL BroadBand Issues

@lazybrain: As i told in the post before last one, I have already confirmed the plan in the website and also by directly asking the official at the office. I have a 512 kbps plan.

Any idea what is the limit of download for this plan after which the FUP kicks in? I had a max download of about 17 or 18 gb last month. But still my speed was high.

EDIT: The JTO who came to install modem told me that I am the only BB customer in that area... May be that's the reason why I am getting all the speed now.

Last edited by clevermax : 10th December 2010 at 11:35.
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2010, 12:34   #506
BHPian
 
bhp_maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Kochi, Kerala
Posts: 398
Thanked: 80 Times
Default Re: BSNL BroadBand Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
@lazybrain: As i told in the post before last one, I have already confirmed the plan in the website and also by directly asking the official at the office. I have a 512 kbps plan.

Any idea what is the limit of download for this plan after which the FUP kicks in? I had a max download of about 17 or 18 gb last month. But still my speed was high.

EDIT: The JTO who came to install modem told me that I am the only BB customer in that area... May be that's the reason why I am getting all the speed now.
I exactly had this kind of behavior on my Airtel connection for a couple of months. I was using 512 Kbps unlimited and I got always 2 Mbps, download speeds around 220kBps. This things may happen in case the port to which your landline is connected at the exchange end is of different speed by mistake from their side. Afterwards I shifted from that place. So No need to worry. Enjoy the high speed
bhp_maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2010, 13:40   #507
BHPian
 
JMaruru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 518
Thanked: 97 Times
Question Re: BSNL BroadBand Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
@lazybrain: As i told in the post before last one, I have already confirmed the plan in the website and also by directly asking the official at the office. I have a 512 kbps plan.
How much do you pay/month for this 512 KBPS plan?
JMaruru is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2010, 13:46   #508
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,565
Thanked: 359 Times
Default Re: BSNL BroadBand Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMaruru View Post
How much do you pay/month for this 512 KBPS plan?
It's a 750 Rupees per month plan. (plus taxes of course)
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2010, 01:16   #509
UKR
BHPian
 
UKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Trivandrum/Bangalore
Posts: 90
Thanked: 2 Times
Default Re: BSNL BroadBand Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
It's a 750 Rupees per month plan. (plus taxes of course)
I am contemplating on taking this plan from BSNL. Is there a FUP for this plan? None was mentioned in their website the last time I checked.
UKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2010, 15:58   #510
Senior - BHPian
 
Raccoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Poona
Posts: 1,832
Thanked: 105 Times
Default Re: BSNL BroadBand Issues

^^^There is no FUP of any kind on this plan.
Raccoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MTNL and BSNL's combo plan for broadband Minardi Shifting gears 35 20th June 2017 19:44
BSNL Broadband Wireless Configuration carboy Gadgets, Computers & Software 69 9th October 2012 23:19
Team-BHP is extremely slow with BSNL-Broadband! SumitB Shifting gears 23 1st August 2010 18:47
How To Improve BSNL/MTNL BroadBand Output finetuning Gadgets, Computers & Software 12 23rd December 2008 16:02
A question to all BSNL Broadband Unlimited Plan users adya33 Gadgets, Computers & Software 28 21st December 2008 20:25


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 16:28.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks