Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18th November 2008, 20:30   #2026
BHPian
 
jassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 980
Thanked: 11 Times
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by shajufx View Post
If someone could mention here the settings that you have done on a PV8 or PV80, it would have been a good tip for a perfect viewing. I find a lot of difference in the actual clarity when playing with the contrast/brightness/sharpness area. Could anyone suggest a set up DVD or a channel that helps in fine tuning the plasma ? Also please share the 'aspect' selection you have done on your TV. I am curious to know how the RGYB buttons are used. Thanks.
Shaju - i posted this earlier - try this Panasonic TH42PX80 Best Settings After Calibration - i did the same but in eco (CATS) mode on the pv80.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VSG12777 View Post
Hi ab1xlr8

Wow. The snaps look pretty good. I am sure DVDs look even better. I tested out this 42PG61UR model at the LG brand shop here with Toy Story / Finding Nemo / Monsters Inc DVDs which were all in 1.78:1 aspect ratio - meaning in 16:9 mode these DVDs filled up the screen with perfect proportions. They looked amazing.

If it's 42 inch I would probably go in for the LG PG61. But if it's 50 inch, then Panasonic would be the one. The LG is too expensive - brand shop here is quoting 118k as the best price. I think the Panasonic then is a far better deal at 107k. Let's see.

Thanks for the photos !!

Warm regards,
Venkat
Venkat - any cgi stuff will look good - don't use that as the benchmark. Also at the distances you are talking full hd will not make any difference. I would suggest bump your budget a bit and 50pv80 is a good choice. If 42" then 42pv80, unless the LG has PQ to beat the panny (don't think so). You will have to get your wife to understand (i am single so dunno how easy that is ) there is no point on deciding on LG because it looks good frameless (usb is there in all dvd players) if the pq is better on panny. None of the cnet reviews etc recommend lg over panny in best 42" hdtvs.
Best HDTVs (33 - 43 inches) - CNET Reviews
nor is lg rated over panny overall for top plasmas
Best plasma TVs - CNET Reviews
jassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2008, 20:45   #2027
BHPian
 
w 12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 402
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kb100 View Post
Don't think so - PV80 has the 100 Hz option in the menu.
The Panasonic india website for PV 80 H , India says 100 Hz doublescan feature is not available ( VIERA TH-42PV80H | Plasma TV | Digital AV | Panasonic India )

So does the review on Cnet asia for the same model,

Panasonic Viera TH-42PV80 (42-inch plasma) Preview - TVs - CNET Asia

This is confusing.
w 12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2008, 20:55   #2028
BHPian
 
sj_koova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 594
Thanked: 143 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by w 12 View Post
The Panasonic india website for PV 80 H , India says 100 Hz doublescan feature is not available ( VIERA TH-42PV80H | Plasma TV | Digital AV | Panasonic India )

So does the review on Cnet asia for the same model,

Panasonic Viera TH-42PV80 (42-inch plasma) Preview - TVs - CNET Asia

This is confusing.
100Hz double scan is 200Hz, where is inserts additional frames. Double scan is available only in 8xx series
PV80 has both 50Hz and 100Hz, selectable through menu settings
sj_koova is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2008, 20:58   #2029
Senior - BHPian
 
kb100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangy Boy!
Posts: 1,554
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by w 12 View Post
The Panasonic india website for PV 80 H , India says 100 Hz doublescan feature is not available ( VIERA TH-42PV80H | Plasma TV | Digital AV | Panasonic India )

So does the review on Cnet asia for the same model,

Panasonic Viera TH-42PV80 (42-inch plasma) Preview - TVs - CNET Asia

This is confusing.
In the SETUP menu go to the second page and you will find REFRESH RATE third from the last. This gives you two options - 50hz and 100hz.

This information is first hand - I just double checked less than 10 seconds ago!!

What is perhaps lacks is 100hz 'doublescan' .

Last edited by kb100 : 18th November 2008 at 20:59.
kb100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2008, 21:28   #2030
BHPian
 
jassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 980
Thanked: 11 Times
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by kb100 View Post
In the SETUP menu go to the second page and you will find REFRESH RATE third from the last. This gives you two options - 50hz and 100hz.

This information is first hand - I just double checked less than 10 seconds ago!!

What is perhaps lacks is 100hz 'doublescan' .
did you guys try the overscan option - make sure its on for sd and off for hd - is this the one where it inserts additional frames (v real pro)

PS - i think i was wrong the overscan is for
---snip---
Selects the screen area displaying the image (Off / On)
On : Enlarged the image to hide the edge of the image.
Off : Displayed the image in the original size. • Set to “On” if noise is generated on the edge of the screen. • This function is available when aspect is set to 16:9. • This function can be memorized separately for SD (Standard defi nition) and HD (High
defi nition) signals.
---snip--
from panny pv80 manual
yes 100hz and 50hz are two options, but no double 100hz scan

Last edited by jassi : 18th November 2008 at 21:34.
jassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2008, 21:35   #2031
Senior - BHPian
 
kb100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangy Boy!
Posts: 1,554
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jassi View Post
did you guys try the overscan option - make sure its on for sd and off for hd - is this the one where it inserts additional frames (v real pro)

Where is the 'Overscan' feature? I can only find the refresh rates. I also don't find any option of making any settings - one has to manually select 50hz or 100hz each time
kb100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2008, 21:57   #2032
BHPian
 
jassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 980
Thanked: 11 Times
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by kb100 View Post
Where is the 'Overscan' feature? I can only find the refresh rates. I also don't find any option of making any settings - one has to manually select 50hz or 100hz each time
on the pv80 when watchin dth - i see under pic settins page 2
jassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2008, 22:03   #2033
Senior - BHPian
 
kb100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangy Boy!
Posts: 1,554
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jassi View Post
on the pv80 when watchin dth - i see under pic settins page 2

In Pic settings page 2 there are only two things -- "3D-Comb" & "Reset to Default" . The first one has an ON or OFF option only.
kb100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2008, 22:07   #2034
BHPian
 
jassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 980
Thanked: 11 Times
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by kb100 View Post
In Pic settings page 2 there are only two things -- "3D-Comb" & "Reset to Default" . The first one has an ON or OFF option only.
are you sure you are in av mode where you connect your dth or stb
these settings are pic dependent as per manual, so maybe not visible in your case as pic doesn't need overscan
jassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2008, 22:09   #2035
Senior - BHPian
 
kb100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangy Boy!
Posts: 1,554
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jassi View Post
are you sure you are in av mode where you connect your dth or stb
these settings are pic dependent as per manual, so maybe not visible in your case as pic doesn't need overscan
Yup - DTH is on AV1

Which page of the Manual is this feature in?

Last edited by kb100 : 18th November 2008 at 22:13.
kb100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2008, 22:11   #2036
BHPian
 
jassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 980
Thanked: 11 Times
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by kb100 View Post
Yup - DTH is on AV1
maybe its because i am watching bigg boss right now and you are not

can you try in regular cable mode - i am sure you have stb connected via av as well regular coax

edit - i don't have it in tv mode only av mode for dth - i think its picture quality dependent and no you don't need to be in cable tv mode - av mode is best !!

Last edited by jassi : 18th November 2008 at 22:26. Reason: response to kb100
jassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2008, 22:15   #2037
Senior - BHPian
 
kb100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangy Boy!
Posts: 1,554
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jassi View Post
maybe its because i am watching bigg boss right now and you are not

can you try in regular cable mode - i am sure you have stb connected via av as well regular coax

I am watching Big Boss too. And I have Tata Sky and this has only composite input - and no I am NOT using the co-axial input - should I be???

Which page of the manual do find this feature?
kb100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2008, 22:29   #2038
BHPian
 
ab1xlr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: mumbai
Posts: 93
Thanked: Once
Default

As i had mentioned earlier in my post the Lg pg61 handles standard definition like tata sky and dvds better than the panny pv80.The websites like cnet have all measured the performance in high definition material , where the panny pv80 scores above the Lg .So i hope you guys get the point.If your main veiwing is mostly standard cable and stuff get the Lg .


LG 42PG6000 Review

Last edited by ab1xlr8 : 18th November 2008 at 22:38.
ab1xlr8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2008, 10:01   #2039
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 185
Thanked: 46 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kb100 View Post
Where is the 'Overscan' feature? I can only find the refresh rates. I also don't find any option of making any settings - one has to manually select 50hz or 100hz each time
Overscan is available only in 16:9 aspect ratio. Select 16:9 and then you will see this option.
anuragn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2008, 11:45   #2040
BHPian
 
im_srini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Portland
Posts: 932
Thanked: 330 Times
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by reignofchaos View Post
The price I quoted is from the Delhi distributor (Alpha Radios) and he's willing to ship it anywhere insured for an additional 2k. The 42" 428XD is 95k from them and the 508XD(5080HD in most markets) is 1.5lacs.
Hi ReignOfChaos, thanks for the info - I emailed Alpha-Radios on a whim & they called back.

The price quoted for the Pioneer PDP-508XD (HD-ready) plasma was 1.65L & that for the Pioneer PDP-LX508D (full-HD) was 2.52L. I was told I'd be emailed the freight & insurance charges (to Chennai) in a couple of days. In comparison, the respective quotes from a leading AV vendor here in Chennai were 2.25L & 4+L

The price of the PDP-508XD puts it quite close to the Sony KLV-46W400A 46" LCD that I was considering. The KLV-46W400A is full-HD, but I guess for a screen size of 50" & a viewing distance of 12', it shouldn't matter. The Sony however, comes with a better service network, not to mention the optional finance scheme (rather attractive).

I do not have any information on the warranty offered by Pioneer for the PDP-508XD, & also the efficiency of their service network. Anyway, will wait for Alpha-Radios to get back...

Last edited by im_srini : 19th November 2008 at 11:46.
im_srini is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Movies, Documentaries, games, etc to Showcase your hi-def plasma/lcd & HTS jassi Shifting gears 58 28th December 2010 19:11
Underglow Thread: Please post pics & info of underglow(neon/LED/etc.) kit on your car DIY Guru Modifications & Accessories 1 18th November 2010 03:08
LCD TV or (LCD montior+VGA Box) for Wii? ashwin489 Gadgets, Computers & Software 0 20th July 2009 14:33


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:10.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks