Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24th June 2009, 14:50   #2701
Senior - BHPian
 
kaushik_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,064
Thanked: 148 Times
Default

So basically it's the Surge/spikes who are the killers. So my question is that do I really need to go for a stabiliser too although I have the Belkin surge suppressor?
kaushik_s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2009, 15:35   #2702
Team-BHP Support
 
Vid6639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 14,414
Thanked: 19,252 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaushik_s View Post
So basically it's the Surge/spikes who are the killers. So my question is that do I really need to go for a stabiliser too although I have the Belkin surge suppressor?
Okay so you don't have surges and spikes but you get fluctuations in voltage. The 220V can sometimes go as high as 280V. This will not immediately blow something but will delay the damage. You will get damage over time. The stabilizer ensures that irrespective on input the output is 220V.

Same for low voltage. If you are denying the circuit enough voltage brownout condition may occur causing improper operation of the device.

If the input voltage is higher than 220V the stabilizer will reduce it to below 220V and when the input goes below a voltage it boosts it up. Too low and the Stabilizer will cut off and shut down power to the appliance.
Vid6639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2009, 16:33   #2703
Senior - BHPian
 
kaushik_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,064
Thanked: 148 Times
Default

So the built-in stabilizer of the TV won't take care of that? I mean I was expecting the built-in stabilizer to take care of such fluctuations and the surge suppressor to take care of the spikes/surges.
kaushik_s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2009, 16:40   #2704
BHPian
 
appuchan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bangy
Posts: 641
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

I never had stabilizers or any such power conditioning equipments at my home in Bangalore. Have my 5.1 HTS with Marantz 5003 AV Rx and 37" LCD working directly off BESCOM line.

Had a large V-guard stab at my hometown for my fridge. In Kerala, its more or less a standard accessory when you buy a fridge. Not sure if it made any difference though.

Last edited by appuchan : 24th June 2009 at 16:41.
appuchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2009, 18:59   #2705
Team-BHP Support
 
Vid6639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 14,414
Thanked: 19,252 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaushik_s View Post
So the built-in stabilizer of the TV won't take care of that? I mean I was expecting the built-in stabilizer to take care of such fluctuations and the surge suppressor to take care of the spikes/surges.
The tolerance of the built in regulator circuits is not as much as dedicated one. The inbuilt one will regulate around 10%.

Our voltage in india varies from 140V to 290V. The stabilizers usually have this wider operating region.
Vid6639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2009, 19:20   #2706
Senior - BHPian
 
kaushik_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,064
Thanked: 148 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vid6639 View Post
The tolerance of the built in regulator circuits is not as much as dedicated one. The inbuilt one will regulate around 10%.

Our voltage in india varies from 140V to 290V. The stabilizers usually have this wider operating region.
Hmmm ok, and now that I already have the surge suppressor, do I still need to go for that hi-tech stabilizer (like Vertex servo and stuff) or I can go for a normal stabiliser like V-guard digital?
kaushik_s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2009, 23:32   #2707
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,215
Thanked: 1,162 Times
Default

BTW just a heads up - The 1080p Panasonic G10 Neo PDP plasma is out for 80K MRP. The brand shop in bangalore is offering it for ~75k after bargaining. This is in a completely different performance class compared to the X10/PV80.

This is the closest you can get to a Pioneer Kuro at a sane price and right now barring the pioneers, the V10 and G10 are the best TVs on the planet.

Last edited by reignofchaos : 24th June 2009 at 23:35.
reignofchaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2009, 00:13   #2708
Senior - BHPian
 
kaushik_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,064
Thanked: 148 Times
Default

That's an awesome price. All good news/offers come after you make the decision and buy something. Will look for this series after 4-5 years when there will be a need for a bigger and better TV he he
kaushik_s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2009, 02:00   #2709
BHPian
 
vcash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 453
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Hey Guys,
I am leaning towards the VU Hollywood Series 32 LCD LC-32P69 at Rs. 25K from Croma. Here are the specs:

:: VU Technologies :: Products Lounge - LCD TVs - Hollywood Series 32" LCD

Resolution 1366 X 768 - 720P
Native 5000 and Dynamic Contrast 30,000:1
Viewing Angle - 176 / 176
Response Time - 6MS
Brightness - 500 cd/m2

So What do you think? Oh and for all PS3 users - If I buy a console a month or two down the line, would this TV be a good display - I understand that it is not "True HD", in the sense no 1080p but does PS3 output it's games in 720p and how does it look? I realize the blu-ray does but honestly I don't care about watching HD movies in 1080p. 720p is just fine with me.


Thanks!
vcash

Last edited by vcash : 1st July 2009 at 02:10.
vcash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2009, 12:44   #2710
BHPian
 
jassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 980
Thanked: 11 Times
Smile

@vcash - you could try the samsung 4 series 32" lcd - i was scouting for a friend in bangy and a got a deal of 30k (from pai electronics). Check in your city for the same
jassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2009, 15:46   #2711
BHPian
 
anurag_p80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 313
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Guys, I am thinking of upgrading to a 42" plasma in the near future. Panasonic PV8 or LGPQ60. Open to audition other sets too, since am in no hurry. Where can i get the best deals on these sets in Hyderabad?
anurag_p80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2009, 21:56   #2712
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,215
Thanked: 1,162 Times
Default

^^Panasonic G10 if you can afford it. PV80 is too old now.
reignofchaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2009, 12:14   #2713
BHPian
 
xbox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 226
Thanked: 76 Times
Default

I saw the Phillips 42PFL9703 LCD in Relaiance digital (HYD- Rd no 12 Banjara Hills) the other day. I liked the features mainly the 100Mhz refresh rate and the 2ms response time. I felt these specs are necessary for using this TV with the Xbox console as i do not want any blurring on fast moving games/programs.
The price they quoted was 90k.

Need to know --
1) Any first/second hand review for this model?
2) If the price is right?
3) Any other store where you feel i can get a better deal

PS-- i decided on this model after comparing it to an equivalent Sony model as the Sony has only 40" and also 10 bit of color when compared to 17 bit on this one. Also Sony is 10k more expensive.

Last edited by xbox360 : 3rd July 2009 at 12:15.
xbox360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2009, 12:34   #2714
Senior - BHPian
 
aadix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: hyderabad
Posts: 1,594
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

thats a lot! you get a lg 47" incher (lh 50) with 200hz refresh ratio for roughly around 75k.

would have suggested the panny g10, but it hasnt come to hyd yet.
aadix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2009, 17:40   #2715
BHPian
 
anurag_p80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 313
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

*bump*. No action on this thread?
anurag_p80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Movies, Documentaries, games, etc to Showcase your hi-def plasma/lcd & HTS jassi Shifting gears 58 28th December 2010 19:11
Underglow Thread: Please post pics & info of underglow(neon/LED/etc.) kit on your car DIY Guru Modifications & Accessories 1 18th November 2010 03:08
LCD TV or (LCD montior+VGA Box) for Wii? ashwin489 Gadgets, Computers & Software 0 20th July 2009 14:33


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 06:37.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks