Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22nd August 2007, 23:52   #301
Senior - BHPian
 
shuvc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 2,895
Thanked: 282 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rangaraj View Post
There are no HD-DVD or Blu Ray players sold in the Indian market, so they will not play these disks.
Well, the PS3 can play Blu-Ray, can it not ?
shuvc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2007, 10:49   #302
BHPian
 
Su-47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 610
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fb1 View Post
Ok people need help, suggest me a nice 26" LCD HDTV... I already have a 32" bravia.. I need a 26" for my xbox 360 in my room... Pls suggest some good ones including links and pricing.. Thank you.
Pls. be a little cautious while choosing an LCD screen for gaming applications. I am not into gaming, but can easily notice ghost trails on sports broadcasts. I am talking about the 42" Samsung Bordeaux Art here.

So, if you are into high-speed gaming, do a little research and choose a panel with low response time.
Su-47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2007, 11:07   #303
BHPian
 
tadukuttan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 241
Thanked: 21 Times
Default Set top box with S-Video or Component out?

Had purchased a Samsung LA40R81B couple of weeks back (it only took 10 minutes in the shop after Vidyut gave me the model number, thanks dude).

Now, I use it for watching Cable, and at home I have a Hathway STB. It is really disgusting to watch Cable on it, compared to the clarity I get when watching a DVD (progressive scan, component out). Tried TataSky in the shop, that was not impressive either.

From what I have seen, the STB AV out has too many mpeg artifacts visible on sizes larger than 37 inch. Are there any STBs which will give S-Video or Component out, instead of the AV out? That definitely will help with the cable picture quality till we get HD transmission? Or is there any way to DIY a box like that?
tadukuttan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2007, 11:16   #304
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: yamunanagar
Posts: 19
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

well i am myself dealing in lg and sony lcds and plasma tvs if u want to buy a 26" or 32" look out for 26lc7 and 32lc7 models contrast ratios 10000:1 and reponse time 5ms( campared to 8 ms prevailing) price range
rs.30-31k for 26" and 45k for 32"
saketnagpal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2007, 11:18   #305
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: yamunanagar
Posts: 19
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

between plasma is better technology and picture quality on normal signal(hd signal is still a distant reality) is better than lcd
saketnagpal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2007, 11:31   #306
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 978
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tadukuttan View Post
From what I have seen, the STB AV out has too many mpeg artifacts visible on sizes larger than 37 inch. Are there any STBs which will give S-Video or Component out, instead of the AV out? That definitely will help with the cable picture quality till we get HD transmission?
The first such STB that I came across (which is usable in India) is the one provided with BSNL/MTNL/IOL IPTV. These boxes also have a digital coaxial connection for Dolby 5.1 audio connection to your AV receiver. Unless you are already a DTH subscriber, you may want to give it a try, like what I am going to do. Also, they will probably be the first ones to launch HD service too!

(Refer to my recent posts on this thread: http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/gadget...ion-india.html)
santosh.s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2007, 13:04   #307
Team-BHP Support
 
mobike008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 10,521
Thanked: 7,202 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudra Sen View Post
Mine took less than 15 mins today. TH-42PV70H Panasonic plasma. I'm happy with it's quality.
you guys are phenomenal How much did the 42" Panasonic Plasma costed you and what is the model no?
mobike008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2007, 14:50   #308
BHPian
 
Su-47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 610
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tadukuttan View Post
Now, I use it for watching Cable, and at home I have a Hathway STB. It is really disgusting to watch Cable on it, compared to the clarity I get when watching a DVD (progressive scan, component out).

From what I have seen, the STB AV out has too many mpeg artifacts visible on sizes larger than 37 inch. Are there any STBs which will give S-Video or Component out, instead of the AV out? That definitely will help with the cable picture quality till we get HD transmission? Or is there any way to DIY a box like that?
Tadukuttan, Merely changing the cable will not help in alleviating MPEG artifacts (I'm assuming you are talking about MPEG artifacts like Ringing, Blockiness and Contours).

DVD picture quality is better because:
(a) They can afford higher bit rates than broadcast television. (4.7GB over two hrs is approx 6Mbps, which is higher than what is used by broadcast TV)
(b) Moreover, since most of the movie-encoding is done 'offline' they can do better quality encode than live broadcast.

By having a component (or HDMI) cable you only allow great content to be rendered onto your panel.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Su-47 View Post
Pls. be a little cautious while choosing an LCD screen for gaming applications. I am not into gaming, but can easily notice ghost trails on sports broadcasts. I am talking about the 42" Samsung Bordeaux Art here.
I meant 40" TV there.

Last edited by Su-47 : 23rd August 2007 at 14:54.
Su-47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2007, 15:30   #309
Senior - BHPian
 
shuvc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 2,895
Thanked: 282 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
you guys are phenomenal How much did the 42" Panasonic Plasma costed you and what is the model no?
Don't recall the model number, but I saw a Panasonic 42" Plasma selling for 69K at Pantaloons eZone. That was the display price. Additional discounts may be possible.
shuvc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2007, 17:50   #310
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,664
Thanked: 6,104 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tadukuttan View Post
Had purchased a Samsung LA40R81B couple of weeks back (it only took 10 minutes in the shop after Vidyut gave me the model number, thanks dude).

Now, I use it for watching Cable, and at home I have a Hathway STB. It is really disgusting to watch Cable on it, compared to the clarity I get when watching a DVD (progressive scan, component out). Tried TataSky in the shop, that was not impressive either.

From what I have seen, the STB AV out has too many mpeg artifacts visible on sizes larger than 37 inch. Are there any STBs which will give S-Video or Component out, instead of the AV out? That definitely will help with the cable picture quality till we get HD transmission? Or is there any way to DIY a box like that?
in the shop they take 1 connection of tata sky and connect it to those samsung thingys which then give a connection for lots of tvs. in that the quality is lost. also when tata sky is installed at home they put a new wire, the shops probably dont use the quality wire for all their tvs hence another reason why quality is lost.i

have a 40" bordeaux and am using tata sky. its decent but obviously not as good as a dvd.
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2007, 18:10   #311
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 433 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tadukuttan View Post
Are there any STBs which will give S-Video or Component out, instead of the AV out? That definitely will help with the cable picture quality till we get HD transmission? Or is there any way to DIY a box like that?
Try Dish TV. They have Kaon & Zenega STBs which are miles ahead of the TATA Sky STB, though i am not sure if your ghosts will be taken care of in your LCD TV.
I use a Kaon receiver on a 100HZ TV which is prone to digital artefacts, but i get a terrific result on my TV except a couple of channels which are running on very low bandwidth.
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2007, 18:49   #312
sAP
BHPian
 
sAP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 10000 Lakes
Posts: 275
Thanked: 15 Times
Default Interface woes

Quote:
Originally Posted by tadukuttan View Post
From what I have seen, the STB AV out has too many mpeg artifacts visible on sizes larger than 37 inch. Are there any STBs which will give S-Video or Component out, instead of the AV out? That definitely will help with the cable picture quality till we get HD transmission? Or is there any way to DIY a box like that?
I use a Coship CDVBC5120 Irdeto cable receiver which has an S-video out. Even with a good S-video interconnect, the video artifacts are still there, though overall composure is better than composite. I guess the processors inside these cheap STBs can't handle complex scenes all that well.

PS: As far as audio goes, the Coship has an optical digital out, which I have wired to my Denon 1603 HT Receiver. The Denon's DAC does a decent job, but the transmission is still only stereo, so does not do a 5.1 though both boxes support it.

Esteem lover, do you know any place in Chennai where I can buy a high quality STB off the shelf? I am looking for an Irdeto embedded cable receiver, which is not what is used either by Dish TV or Tata Sky.

sAP
sAP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2007, 19:07   #313
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 433 Times
Default

The artefacts have nothing to do with the connectors & everything to do with the transmission & reception. I think the best you can get here is echostar which is available in ritchie street, but i don't suppose it will work with your SCV or hathway.
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2007, 19:22   #314
sAP
BHPian
 
sAP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 10000 Lakes
Posts: 275
Thanked: 15 Times
Default processor bandwidth

Though artefacts don't have much to do with connectors in this scenario, it does have something to do with the STB's RISC processor though. For example, in complex scenes, the same free to air channel have less artefacts when I connect the cable directly to my HDTV than when I run them via the STB. So it appears that the STB's processor is the weak link in that situation, not just the transmission/ reception.
sAP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2007, 19:23   #315
Senior - BHPian
 
Ajaybiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,354
Thanked: 140 Times
Default

Waiting for the right time as now no money and also i want full HD instead of HD capable.
Need to upgrade my handy cam too for HD.
Ajaybiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Movies, Documentaries, games, etc to Showcase your hi-def plasma/lcd & HTS jassi Shifting gears 58 28th December 2010 19:11
Underglow Thread: Please post pics & info of underglow(neon/LED/etc.) kit on your car DIY Guru Modifications & Accessories 1 18th November 2010 03:08
LCD TV or (LCD montior+VGA Box) for Wii? ashwin489 Gadgets, Computers & Software 0 20th July 2009 14:33


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 06:56.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks