Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 3rd April 2013, 06:27   #6616
BHPian
 
bbops1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: bangalore
Posts: 32
Thanked: Once
Question Full HD - 1080p = 1080i

while browsing found this interesting piece on CNET regarding the HD.
bbops1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2013, 14:28   #6617
Senior - BHPian
 
Desmosedici's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,378
Thanked: 407 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

MY Sony EX330 32 inch LED came in yesterday from Croma. Had to fix on a stand and connect the set-top box so did that myself today. The Sony guys called for a demo which i refused as they would come and just tell you how to operate which is common knowledge.

Initial observations on a normal Hathway set-top box regarding the picture quality is that i could see a lot of pixelisation as compared to my old 32inch LG LCD TV which is running on the same set-top box.

Might need to fine tune the settings and check it out later. Sound quality is strictly ok.

I was under the thought that a Sony should be tad better than the koreans on the picture quality offered but i am a little disappointed here.
Desmosedici is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2013, 14:53   #6618
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Gurgaon/MBD
Posts: 183
Thanked: 71 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Desmosedici View Post
MY Sony EX330 32 inch LED came in yesterday from Croma. Had to fix on a stand and connect the set-top box so did that myself today. The Sony guys called for a demo which i refused as they would come and just tell you how to operate which is common knowledge.

Initial observations on a normal Hathway set-top box regarding the picture quality is that i could see a lot of pixelisation as compared to my old 32inch LG LCD TV which is running on the same set-top box.

Might need to fine tune the settings and check it out later. Sound quality is strictly ok.

I was under the thought that a Sony should be tad better than the koreans on the picture quality offered but i am a little disappointed here.
Is it a HD enabled TV ? If yes, you might have to change the set top box to a HD set top box and the pic quality would be incredible.

I recently bought a Samsung 3D Plasma Full HD 51 inches - the SD set top box gave me pathetic pics - changed it to HD set top box and found mind blowing clarity. Basically your TV is expecting a high quality input which is not provided by the standard set top box.
Fiest@DuraTec is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2013, 14:58   #6619
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Back to Chndgrh
Posts: 2,150
Thanked: 2,798 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

Quote:
2013 models are expected in India by May (next month). I suggest wait for a month and then checkout the ST60 from Panasonic. Pricing details will be shared after 15 April.
ST60 has very good Black levels and colors . But these are best for HDTV , I picked 55 Inch one here in Canada last week - absolutely amazing 3D
Turbanator is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2013, 15:05   #6620
Senior - BHPian
 
Desmosedici's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,378
Thanked: 407 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fiest@DuraTec View Post
Is it a HD enabled TV ? If yes, you might have to change the set top box to a HD set top box and the pic quality would be incredible.

I recently bought a Samsung 3D Plasma Full HD 51 inches - the SD set top box gave me pathetic pics - changed it to HD set top box and found mind blowing clarity. Basically your TV is expecting a high quality input which is not provided by the standard set top box.
Mine is HD Ready and not Full HD and honestly i do not know the difference between the two.

Since the TV is going to be used very sparingly (both me and wife work UK Shift and come late) and mainly only on weekends, i went for a normal set-top box for now. I was under the impression that this would suffice. I would do a rethink now.
Desmosedici is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2013, 16:53   #6621
BHPian
 
Googleman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Blore/Jmshedpur
Posts: 240
Thanked: 48 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Desmosedici View Post
Mine is HD Ready and not Full HD and honestly i do not know the difference between the two.

Since the TV is going to be used very sparingly (both me and wife work UK Shift and come late) and mainly only on weekends, i went for a normal set-top box for now. I was under the impression that this would suffice. I would do a rethink now.
Full HD(1080P) and HD(780P) Ready needs HD set-top box for better picture quality. Hathway provides such boxes, you can replace.
Googleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2013, 17:27   #6622
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: chennai
Posts: 106
Thanked: 18 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

I recently bought a Samsung 46" Smart LED. I do have Airtel HD STB. I have set the aspect ratio for both HD and SD as 16:9 in TV and also in STB. HD channels are working fine. SD transmissions doesn't cover entire screen. I have black area in all sides.
I called Airtel customer support for this issue. They said, I need to switch off the TV and STB. Take off the cable comes from the dish and the smart card and put them back. I am going to try this tonight. My doubt is that is this solution just like restarting our windows? What will happen when plug the cable off and plug again?
Appreciate any help on this.
ndinesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2013, 17:51   #6623
Senior - BHPian
 
Desmosedici's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,378
Thanked: 407 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Googleman View Post
Full HD(1080P) and HD(780P) Ready needs HD set-top box for better picture quality. Hathway provides such boxes, you can replace.
Thanks. i shall contact my operator for the same and report back. But by using just a HD set-top box, will even the non HD channels be better than the normal set top box?
Desmosedici is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2013, 11:27   #6624
BHPian
 
hiren959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 339
Thanked: 50 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fiest@DuraTec View Post
Is it a HD enabled TV ? If yes, you might have to change the set top box to a HD set top box and the pic quality would be incredible.

I recently bought a Samsung 3D Plasma Full HD 51 inches - the SD set top box gave me pathetic pics - changed it to HD set top box and found mind blowing clarity. Basically your TV is expecting a high quality input which is not provided by the standard set top box.

Can you please give us the details about your TV as I am going to buy the same in near future.
hiren959 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2013, 11:32   #6625
BHPian
 
newtonMeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 497
Thanked: 332 Times
Default

Are the LED Any cheaper in Japan / Indonesia? I know the are cheaper in Thailand
newtonMeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2013, 12:09   #6626
BHPian
 
Baddychat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Noida
Posts: 305
Thanked: 128 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by newtonMeter View Post
Are the LED Any cheaper in Japan / Indonesia? I know the are cheaper in Thailand
Yes they are cheaper in Thailand and also in Singapore.

Incidentally the important thing one should look out for when buying a television from these places is the warranty. They generally carry local and not international warranty. So the possible headache with think kind of warranty offsets the price advantage IMO.
Baddychat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2013, 19:22   #6627
rbp
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 431
Thanked: 255 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

No more R & D on plasma's from Panasonic any more, dunno how long they will keep them in production

Quote:
The bad news? While Panasonic's plasma manufacturing will continue, The Verge reports VP Kiyoshi Okamoto confirmed at the event that development has ceased on its plasma models, although some engineers have been shifted to work on OLED displays. We'll see if its recovery efforts and technological developments lead to new large-size OLEDs anytime soon, but for now it appears we're seeing the last of its efforts to push plasma technology forward.

http://www.engadget.com/2013/04/11/p...nd-that-its-p/
rbp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2013, 08:45   #6628
Senior - BHPian
 
sagarpadaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 2,619
Thanked: 1,238 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ndinesh View Post
I recently bought a Samsung 46" Smart LED. I do have Airtel HD STB. I have set the aspect ratio for both HD and SD as 16:9 in TV and also in STB. HD channels are working fine. SD transmissions doesn't cover entire screen. I have black area in all sides.
I called Airtel customer support for this issue. They said, I need to switch off the TV and STB. Take off the cable comes from the dish and the smart card and put them back. I am going to try this tonight. My doubt is that is this solution just like restarting our windows? What will happen when plug the cable off and plug again?
Appreciate any help on this.
HD channels by default come in 16:9 spec. Change the settings of the STB to display in 16:9 .Current setting is 4:3 , thats why you are getting black areas.
sagarpadaki is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2013, 13:53   #6629
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Vizag
Posts: 1,940
Thanked: 1,244 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fiest@DuraTec View Post
I recently bought a Samsung 3D Plasma Full HD 51 inches - the SD set top box gave me pathetic pics - changed it to HD set top box and found mind blowing clarity. Basically your TV is expecting a high quality input which is not provided by the standard set top box.
Fiest, I am a plasma lover myself and am zeroing in on same model. The 5 series one. Which series is yours? Actually I would love to buy a 55-60 inch plasma but next stop in Samsung is 64 inch which is close to 2L. I wish we had a 55-60 inch plasma available here.

Also, you said picture quality on HD channels on HD STB is excellent. That is good. But what about pic quality of non-HD channels on HD STB. How are they?
pgsagar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2013, 16:40   #6630
BHPian
 
Sebring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Dubai
Posts: 428
Thanked: 444 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

I prefer my Panasonic Plasma to LEDs as I have found, the sharper the image more is the strain. I have a Sharp LED as well, giant size, and struggle to watch movies for longer hours.
Sebring is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Movies, Documentaries, games, etc to Showcase your hi-def plasma/lcd & HTS jassi Shifting gears 58 28th December 2010 19:11
Underglow Thread: Please post pics & info of underglow(neon/LED/etc.) kit on your car DIY Guru Modifications & Accessories 1 18th November 2010 03:08
LCD TV or (LCD montior+VGA Box) for Wii? ashwin489 Gadgets, Computers & Software 0 20th July 2009 14:33


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 15:04.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks