Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th July 2013, 08:35   #6796
BHPian
 
diyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 250
Thanked: 111 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raccoon View Post
Insurance based? Does that cover component failure/manufacturing defects, etc?
Covers everything. Comprehensive coverage. You gotta have it fixed by the official provider and claim the amount at Croma. This is what I was told.
diyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2013, 09:22   #6797
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Gandhidham
Posts: 68
Thanked: 53 Times
Default Best 32" LCD for Least Price

Hi,

I would like to buy a 32" LCD for my weekend getaway home. The current use would not be much hence would like to spend as little as possible. I have a Panasonic TH-L32-C4D which is serving me very well but its not currently available in market and has been phased out.

Any pointers to the best LCD I could get for the least price? I know LCD is dying but I do not want to spend anything above it currently as I would like to invest in good AV only after couple of years with better technology than current.
mrohit17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2013, 10:07   #6798
BHPian
 
k2max6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 483
Thanked: 129 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrohit17 View Post
Hi,

I would like to buy a 32" LCD for my weekend getaway home. The current use would not be much hence would like to spend as little as possible. I have a Panasonic TH-L32-C4D which is serving me very well but its not currently available in market and has been phased out.

Any pointers to the best LCD I could get for the least price? I know LCD is dying but I do not want to spend anything above it currently as I would like to invest in good AV only after couple of years with better technology than current.
As far as I know LCD's are not available now. LED's are available at similar pricing. You can get a 32" Samsung LED for around 25k. Toshiba for around 20k. Panasonic should also be in similar price range. Sony slightly expensive.
k2max6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2013, 10:26   #6799
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,079
Thanked: 251 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by k2max6 View Post
As far as I know LCD's are not available now. LED's are available at similar pricing. ....
All the current TVs are LCD.
These are LCD panels with back-lighting that is provided by LEDs, instead of the older fluorescent lamps.
anupmathur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2013, 00:21   #6800
BHPian
 
diyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 250
Thanked: 111 Times
Default

Guys I have 3 flat screen TVs- 46 Sony LCD, 37 lg led, 32 Sony LCD
Need to understand why these wide screen TVs still lose portions of telecast on the sides? Pretty irritating to think that we spend so much and still can't read the whole text or part of the scene. Am I doing something wrong with my STBS settings? Have 2 HD STBs and one SD. Got to check on my projector if I can see the whole picture..,
diyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2013, 00:49   #6801
Senior - BHPian
 
khoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Dilli
Posts: 2,722
Thanked: 1,250 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

It seems you have the user setting in your STB set for displaying pictures in the 4:3 format, this is suitable for CRTs. For the FPDs this ratio should be set to 16:9

In case this is already 16:9 on the STB (which seems unlikely as all of your panels are having the issue) then check the aspect ration on the panel itself.

Certain panels give you a choice of 16:9; 14:9; 4:3, Just; 4:3 Full & then Zoom levels. Here again the ratio should be set to 16:9.

Quote:
Originally Posted by diyguy View Post
Guys I have 3 flat screen TVs- 46 Sony LCD, 37 lg led, 32 Sony LCD
Need to understand why these wide screen TVs still lose portions of telecast on the sides? Pretty irritating to think that we spend so much and still can't read the whole text or part of the scene. Am I doing something wrong with my STBS settings? Have 2 HD STBs and one SD. Got to check on my projector if I can see the whole picture..,
khoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2013, 11:37   #6802
BHPian
 
diyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 250
Thanked: 111 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by khoj View Post
It seems you have the user setting in your STB set for displaying pictures in the 4:3 format, this is suitable for CRTs. For the FPDs this ratio should be set to 16:9

In case this is already 16:9 on the STB (which seems unlikely as all of your panels are having the issue) then check the aspect ration on the panel itself.

Certain panels give you a choice of 16:9; 14:9; 4:3, Just; 4:3 Full & then Zoom levels. Here again the ratio should be set to 16:9.
My Tv is set to wide full. My STB is set to 16:9.
See the missing alphabets below. This is on my 46 Sony.
Attached Images
   
diyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2013, 11:46   #6803
BHPian
 
Styler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 371
Thanked: 186 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

I own a Panasonic P42UT50D and a really like this TV.

I was looking for a TV for my mom's room. It is a small 12 X 10 ft room so max size I want is 40 / 42" . Since 42" Plasma TVs are not available I have narrowed down to a 2013 Samsung LED TV Model 40F6400 . This is a great TV and is available in the Grey Market for 47,500.

How does this look. Does anybody have this TV ?

Styler
Styler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2013, 11:47   #6804
BHPian
 
Styler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 371
Thanked: 186 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by diyguy View Post
My Tv is set to wide full. My STB is set to 16:9.
See the missing alphabets below. This is on my 46 Sony.
You have some incorrect settings which are causing this. You could have enabled zoom in the TV or something. I own a few Flat Panel TVs with Tata Sky HD and never had this problem.

Styler
Styler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2013, 11:58   #6805
BHPian
 
diyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 250
Thanked: 111 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Styler View Post
You have some incorrect settings which are causing this. You could have enabled zoom in the TV or something. I own a few Flat Panel TVs with Tata Sky HD and never had this problem.

Styler
When you have the time can you check the channel RT, if you are getting it?
I have not enabled zoom.
diyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2013, 12:01   #6806
Senior - BHPian
 
S_U_N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,778
Thanked: 375 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

^Can you post a screenshot/ photo of the Aspect ratios available on the TV?
There should be an Aspect button on the remote.

Edit: Change aspect ration to 4:3 and then check if show the full content (compared to SD box on the other TV?)

Last edited by S_U_N : 11th July 2013 at 12:02.
S_U_N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2013, 13:50   #6807
BHPian
 
diyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 250
Thanked: 111 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S_U_N View Post
^Can you post a screenshot/ photo of the Aspect ratios available on the TV?
There should be an Aspect button on the remote.

Edit: Change aspect ration to 4:3 and then check if show the full content (compared to SD box on the other TV?)
Ok solved it. There is a setting called Display Area. It was set to Normal. There was an option Full Pixel. On using that the picture is now full!
Thanks for the input guys.
Attached Images
 
diyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2013, 22:51   #6808
BHPian
 
diyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 250
Thanked: 111 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by diyguy View Post

Ok solved it. There is a setting called Display Area. It was set to Normal. There was an option Full Pixel. On using that the picture is now full!
Thanks for the input guys.
Replying from phone and have no way to edit this post, but I wasn't able to solve this on my 32 Sony LCD or my 37 LG LED. Tried the options on display area but doesn't solve the issue...
diyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2013, 12:13   #6809
BHPian
 
Styler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 371
Thanked: 186 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Styler View Post
I own a Panasonic P42UT50D and a really like this TV.

I was looking for a TV for my mom's room. It is a small 12 X 10 ft room so max size I want is 40 / 42" . Since 42" Plasma TVs are not available I have narrowed down to a 2013 Samsung LED TV Model 40F6400 . This is a great TV and is available in the Grey Market for 47,500.

How does this look. Does anybody have this TV ?

Styler
Does anybody have any feedback of the Samsung 2013 Model 40F6400 ?
Styler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2013, 12:38   #6810
BHPian
 
dre@ms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Singara Chennai
Posts: 491
Thanked: 114 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

What is the Energy Saving setting everybody uses on their Samsung LCD TV. I have the 40" and set it to High. Someone said that the power consumption would be less in this setting.
Is that true?
But the whole purpose of HD clarity is defeated IMHO
dre@ms is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Movies, Documentaries, games, etc to Showcase your hi-def plasma/lcd & HTS jassi Shifting gears 58 28th December 2010 19:11
Underglow Thread: Please post pics & info of underglow(neon/LED/etc.) kit on your car DIY Guru Modifications & Accessories 1 18th November 2010 03:08
LCD TV or (LCD montior+VGA Box) for Wii? ashwin489 Gadgets, Computers & Software 0 20th July 2009 14:33


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 17:49.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks