Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 5th November 2013, 13:04   #7066
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,079
Thanked: 251 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by n_aditya View Post
.... the LG 42inch (LN5400) ...
That is a good TV, but the Sony 42W800A is better I think.
Comes in 42" size and has an IPS panel too! Also passive 3D with 4 pairs of glasses free.
Higher price point, but worth a look.
anupmathur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2013, 16:40   #7067
Team-BHP Support
 
mobike008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 10,515
Thanked: 7,189 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fillmore View Post
Owners of Samsung PS51F5500.
How is the PQ for Standard Def content ?
Also I did not find that much of a glare in moderately bright lit rooms.

Any other observation / comment you have , before I take the leap ?
My initial feedback

1. 3D is simply waste. I saw a couple of hours of 3D and it really gave me a headache afterwards

2. PQ of standard content is quite good but, HD content is simply breathtaking

3. It's like a mirror with even some light. So if your room is brightly lit, may not be a good idea to buy this TV

4. Pretty happy with fast moving action too

Quote:
Originally Posted by VW2010 View Post
@Mobike

If you can get hold of Spears & Munsil HD Benchmark 3D Blu-ray/DVD please give it a shot.
Thanks for the recommendation. However, i plan to use the free BD that came with the TV.

This point brings me to some issues facing with Samsung BD player. It does not play any of the DVDs at all some of them bought from Amazon India as well due to region lock code

I tried a process of opening the code my pressing B button on remote and then pressing a certain code and then 5 ( Region Code for India). But, still it hasnt unlocked.

How do I unlock this BD Player? Pointers please

Quote:
Originally Posted by gkrishn View Post
During the initial days of plasma, I had the contrast and colour at less than 40. Now that it has run in, they are at 80 and 50 respectively.Sorry about color being 0. That was wrong.
Also if you TV has some auto brightness and power management setting etc, disable them too.
Thanks for these pointers. Will set the TV accordingly and see how it effects the PQ
mobike008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2013, 10:32   #7068
Distinguished - BHPian
 
n_aditya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Namma Bengaluru
Posts: 5,182
Thanked: 2,674 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

Bought the LG LED last evening (model # LN5400 ; 42inch ; no 3D ; no SMART).

I was told by Jumbo electronics in Mantri Mall and Giria in Malleswaram that stocks are not available and delivery can be expected in 20 days.

Called a friend of my dad who has a small electronics shop in our area. He called the LG distributor and promised delivery today.

Made the payment (best price of all - Rs. 48k) and asked to deliver tomorrow instead (of today owing to some religious belief in the family).

Need to buy a HDMI cable now. Which one would you guys recommend? I did some googling and there was ones without ethernet (which i need) but some with 10.2 gbps data transfer speed (on flipkart). Any ideas?
n_aditya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2013, 13:08   #7069
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 551
Thanked: 149 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by n_aditya View Post
Need to buy a HDMI cable now. Which one would you guys recommend? I did some googling and there was ones without ethernet (which i need) but some with 10.2 gbps data transfer speed (on flipkart). Any ideas?
HDMI cable with ethernet? What is this? Could you explain? AFAIK, HDMI was for AV feed from set top box/blu ray player. When I bought a TV and an HD set top box, one of the two came with an HDMI cable. I don't remember which one. But I did not have to buy a new one. Don't you have an HD box with which you might have got the HDMI cable?
shipnil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2013, 13:52   #7070
Distinguished - BHPian
 
n_aditya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Namma Bengaluru
Posts: 5,182
Thanked: 2,674 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shipnil View Post
HDMI cable with ethernet? What is this? Could you explain? AFAIK, HDMI was for AV feed from set top box/blu ray player. When I bought a TV and an HD set top box, one of the two came with an HDMI cable. I don't remember which one. But I did not have to buy a new one. Don't you have an HD box with which you might have got the HDMI cable?
The LED TV i am buying does not come with a HDMI cable in the box, hence my query.

I did check on Flipkart and there are HDMI cables with and without ethernet.

Please see below links:

With Ethernet

Without Ethernet

I'm confused if the one without Ethernet would do just fine for me. I will be connecting my Asus Media player and the Sony 5.1 HT to the LED TV.
n_aditya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2013, 14:03   #7071
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,079
Thanked: 251 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

FlipKart often goof up on the specs they publish.
HDMI cables have nothing to do with ethernet.
That is an RJ45 plug.
anupmathur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2013, 14:21   #7072
Senior - BHPian
 
srishiva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 3,463
Thanked: 689 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by anupmathur View Post
FlipKart often goof up on the specs they publish.
HDMI cables have nothing to do with ethernet.
That is an RJ45 plug.
Above version 1.4, ethernet is available over HDMI. I have seen these at shops.

There is also a newer HBaseT which is HDMI over ethernet. Lots of new stuff happening.
srishiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2013, 14:23   #7073
Distinguished - BHPian
 
n_aditya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Namma Bengaluru
Posts: 5,182
Thanked: 2,674 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by srishiva View Post
Above version 1.4, ethernet is available over HDMI. I have seen these at shops.

There is also a newer HBaseT which is HDMI over ethernet. Lots of new stuff happening.
So which one should i buy?

I will be connecting the Home Theater through my media player to the LED TV.
n_aditya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2013, 14:24   #7074
Senior - BHPian
 
srishiva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 3,463
Thanked: 689 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by n_aditya View Post
So which one should i buy?

I will be connecting the Home Theater through my media player to the LED TV.
You dont require ethernet, just plain HDMI will do.
srishiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2013, 14:54   #7075
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 551
Thanked: 149 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by n_aditya View Post
T

I'm confused if the one without Ethernet would do just fine for me. I will be connecting my Asus Media player and the Sony 5.1 HT to the LED TV.
Quote:
Originally Posted by n_aditya View Post
So which one should i buy?

I will be connecting the Home Theater through my media player to the LED TV.
Normally the setup I have heard is such that, you use one HDMI for your media player and second HDMI (marked with ARC=Audio Return Channel) to connect to the home theater.


Or if your home theater has HDMI in as well as HDMI out then you connect the media player to HT HDMI in and the HT HDMI out to the LED TV.

But in this case you need two HDMI cables :(

Last edited by shipnil : 6th November 2013 at 14:55.
shipnil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2013, 15:19   #7076
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NA
Posts: 249
Thanked: 186 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (5)
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by n_aditya View Post
So which one should i buy?

I will be connecting the Home Theater through my media player to the LED TV.
just a caution while buying HDBaseT cable.
it doesn't support ARC.
Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDBaseT
Nicky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2013, 15:42   #7077
Distinguished - BHPian
 
n_aditya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Namma Bengaluru
Posts: 5,182
Thanked: 2,674 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shipnil View Post
Normally the setup I have heard is such that, you use one HDMI for your media player and second HDMI (marked with ARC=Audio Return Channel) to connect to the home theater.


Or if your home theater has HDMI in as well as HDMI out then you connect the media player to HT HDMI in and the HT HDMI out to the LED TV.

But in this case you need two HDMI cables :(
My HT has no HDMI port and no USB ports as well, hence using the media player. Portable HDD is plugged into the media player via USB port. Composite audio cables connects HT and media player, composite video cable (yellow) connects media player to CRT TV.

All this now changes when the LED TV arrives tomorrow, hence the confusion.

Will the media player play HDMI and composite AV simultaneously?
n_aditya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2013, 16:43   #7078
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 551
Thanked: 149 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by n_aditya View Post
Will the media player play HDMI and composite AV simultaneously?
Do you need to choose the "Source out" port on the media player like you choose "source in" on your TV like AV, Composite, RF In etc.? If not, then your media player will be sending signals to all source out ports. In this case you continue using composite audio to HT and HDMI to TV.

My old DVD player used to send audio out through composite AV as well as 5.1 at the same time.

BTW, any luck having Optical in on your HT? Normally all these TVs have Optical Audio out that you can connect to HT.
shipnil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2013, 14:01   #7079
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Patna
Posts: 198
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Bought a Lg 42 in Smart tv yesterday LN 57 series. Now I needs to upgrade to HD dth. Syncing with my wifi was smooth and easy. The controls are better than I expected. No 3D. It's an absolute waste for another 40000 bucks apart from the eye strain. Price 57000.

I am liking it so far.
Carcrazy60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2013, 14:03   #7080
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chandigarh
Posts: 199
Thanked: 32 Times
Default re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by n_aditya View Post
My HT has no HDMI port and no USB ports as well, hence using the media player. Portable HDD is plugged into the media player via USB port. Composite audio cables connects HT and media player, composite video cable (yellow) connects media player to CRT TV.

All this now changes when the LED TV arrives tomorrow, hence the confusion.

Will the media player play HDMI and composite AV simultaneously?
The best connectivity option for you will be to connect output of Media Player to TV using HDMI and then use the audio out of the TV to direct sound to HT.
gharika is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Movies, Documentaries, games, etc to Showcase your hi-def plasma/lcd & HTS jassi Shifting gears 58 28th December 2010 19:11
Underglow Thread: Please post pics & info of underglow(neon/LED/etc.) kit on your car DIY Guru Modifications & Accessories 1 18th November 2010 03:08
LCD TV or (LCD montior+VGA Box) for Wii? ashwin489 Gadgets, Computers & Software 0 20th July 2009 14:33


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:12.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks