Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16th February 2009, 15:51   #166
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,613
Thanked: 6,700 Times
Default

Don't put speaker by any of this kit, either!

Keep anything with a magnet in it at least a few inches away from all your kit.
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 18:30   #167
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by omishra View Post
Thanks for suggestion. Isn't that aluminium Cylindrical Cover over external HDD will protect it from signal?
Again It is placed at the bottom of the antenna where antenna has shadow.
If I am wrong please suggest, anyway I am also not 100% confident in this and want to shift that HDD somewhere away.

What about inbuilt HDD of Desktop with wifi?
Its not the HDD that will be affected, but your wifi signal due to EMI from HDD and its crude SMPS supply that comes with these casing.

Last edited by SirAlec : 16th February 2009 at 18:31.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 22:40   #168
BHPian
 
ariendj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 503
Thanked: 79 Times
Default

the modem is motorola S5100i.
its has 4 outlets at the back
Ethernet port
a port for usb(shown in pic)- its other end is a normal usb port and i i have not used this cable yet.
a port for the internet cable
port for power plug
Attached Images
 
ariendj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 23:38   #169
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

If this is a always on connection (if you don't use a dialer to connect from pc)

do one thing, you don't need to invest in a router just the UTP cable and two connectors.

You need usb drivers (driver cd) for this model.

1. use usb for you desktop and
2. ethernet port for your laptop with cable running from down all the way to first floor. (ofcourse there will be no wifi)
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2009, 00:26   #170
BHPian
 
ariendj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 503
Thanked: 79 Times
Default

seems my pc doesnt recognize the broadband connection when using the usb but it works perfectly when using the ethernet cable??
is there something that im missing!!
ariendj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2009, 08:14   #171
Senior - BHPian
 
pranavt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,628
Thanked: 272 Times
Default

With a USB connection, you have to dial the connection from your PC...
pranavt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2009, 17:11   #172
BHPian
 
dreamdiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 420
Thanked: 55 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ariendj View Post
seems my pc doesnt recognize the broadband connection when using the usb but it works perfectly when using the ethernet cable??
is there something that im missing!!
PCs when connected to the modem using USB requires you to install the modem drivers.

When you go to Device manager (Click Start - Run - Type "devmgmt.msc" (without quotes) and click OK), you will see a yellow bang next to USB devices which is infact your modem when conencted using USB cable without the drivers installed. Right click this entry in device manager to update drivers automatically with the modem CD in the drive or download the drivers and install it from the Modem manufacturers website.

Once in device manager, the device entry looks clean you can go online using USB connection from the modem.
dreamdiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2009, 01:01   #173
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pranavt View Post
With a USB connection, you have to dial the connection from your PC...
Its not so..!

you need to install usb to ethernet drivers for your adsl modem. It comes along with the modem in a cd.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2009, 10:30   #174
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 268
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pranavt View Post
With a USB connection, you have to dial the connection from your PC...
Yes if modem supports bridged connection through ADSL then it can be configured for dialup. Look more details in Bridged connection support in your device's manual.
omishra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2009, 15:41   #175
BHPian
 
ariendj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 503
Thanked: 79 Times
Default

i was finding the problem when installing the modem driver through the cd provided.the last step detects the connection but it seems my usb connection was showing"low or no connectivity icon" in the tray below.but when i use the ethernet cable it works slick as ever!!

OT:i have one more doubt,i wanted to extend the cable wire of the modem since il be placing the pc in another room.
il need an extra 10 meters of cable,i was wondering if there is any connector that i can get to buy to connect two ends of the cable or do i have to replace it fully with a single cable wire??
ariendj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2009, 16:35   #176
BHPian
 
dreamdiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 420
Thanked: 55 Times
Default

[quote=ariendj;1211700]i was finding the problem when installing the modem driver through the cd provided.the last step detects the connection but it seems my usb connection was showing"low or no connectivity icon" in the tray below.but when i use the ethernet cable it works slick as ever!!
quote]

The modem will support either USB or ethernet connection at a time. So when you have the USB connected make sure the ehternet is unplugged. And also power off the modem, wait for 2 minutes and power it ON. This should help you get rid of "Limited or no connectivity" message for the USB connection.
dreamdiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2009, 17:05   #177
BHPian
 
ariendj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 503
Thanked: 79 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamdiesel View Post

The modem will support either USB or ethernet connection at a time. So when you have the USB connected make sure the ehternet is unplugged.
i was planning to get a lap at end of this month,does your above statement mean that i cant use the usb cable for surfing net on pc and the ethernet cable for surfing from the lap at same time!!!
ariendj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2009, 17:33   #178
BHPian
 
dreamdiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 420
Thanked: 55 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ariendj View Post
i was planning to get a lap at end of this month,does your above statement mean that i cant use the usb cable for surfing net on pc and the ethernet cable for surfing from the lap at same time!!!
Not gonna work. You will have to get a wireless router to setup a home network. The wireless router will split the internet connection so that multiple computers can go online simultaneously.

The wireless router will support both wired and wireless connection. So that laptop can connect wireless and the desktop wired using ethernet.
dreamdiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2009, 23:41   #179
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,613
Thanked: 6,700 Times
Default

Quote:
Not gonna work. You will have to get a wireless router to setup a home network. The wireless router will split the internet connection so that multiple computers can go online simultaneously.
So will a small hub or switch, at vastly less cost!

If wireless is not needed, then no need to spend on a wireless router!

With a 4-port hub: one port to modem ethernet, three left for PCs.

The modem is a modem/router, even if it only has one ethenet port.
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2009, 13:24   #180
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: HYD
Posts: 226
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ariendj View Post
i was planning to get a lap at end of this month,does your above statement mean that i cant use the usb cable for surfing net on pc and the ethernet cable for surfing from the lap at same time!!!
You would need a Switch or wireless router. I would recommend wireless since your second PC would be a laptop.

5-port switch - Rs.500 (sufficient for wired networking)

WiFi - Rs.1600 (necessary for wireless)

Hub is an obsolete technology
Comrade is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless Home Networking Akshay1234 Gadgets, Computers & Software 35 31st May 2013 23:14
Linksys WAG 200G Wireless Home Gateway+MTNL Triband: settings required nishantgandhi Gadgets, Computers & Software 9 3rd June 2009 19:34
LAN card to LAN card sharing abhibh Gadgets, Computers & Software 15 21st December 2008 01:55
Home Wireless A/V esteem_lover Gadgets, Computers & Software 9 7th February 2007 16:59
Wireless LAN protocol sandeepmdas Shifting gears 3 22nd September 2005 12:15


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 01:22.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks