Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 27th April 2007, 15:29   #31
BHPian
 
ghostrider4385's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 389
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

I faced problems with my netgear router. It used to suddenly lose connection. Got damn annoying. I luckily got myself an airport express and an airport extreme base station. No problems with them so far (crossing my fingers).
ghostrider4385 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2007, 15:43   #32
Team-BHP Support
 
Vid6639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 14,288
Thanked: 18,804 Times
Default

Netgear WGR614. It's cheaper than the linksys IIRC. I've been using it for more than 2yrs with absoultely no problems.

But I'm not happy with the linksys which is at my office. Several times it needs to be restarted as it just doesnt allow any comps to connect.

The netgear will cost around Rs.2K.
Vid6639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2007, 15:47   #33
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,177
Thanked: 1,101 Times
Default

^^I use the same netgear too but it has serious issues with packet forwarding in case you wish to run home servers that you wanna access from outside. I'm planning to dump it and get something better. I guess the thread creator is better off with the tried and tested Linksys WRT54G.
reignofchaos is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2007, 15:55   #34
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,383 Times
Default

We used to use a Netgear at the office. After 2 years it was busted and we got a new linksys.
The setting problems we had were insane. It would not automatically configure and assign an IP address to each comp. We would enter the IP addresses manually and sometimes it would still not connect.

We finally replaced it with a new netgear and everything works just fine.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2007, 15:56   #35
BHPian
 
Su-47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 610
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

I've used Belkin for the last 2.5 years and it works very well. I think 802.11g routers have become commodities and any of the well known brands would perform well (Linksys, Netgear, Belkin, Buffalo). So, buy whatever is available at a cheap price...

Getting a 100m range under normal operating conditions looks far fetched though. By normal conditions, I mean indoor usage with concrete structures, 2.4G cordless-phones, neighbours WiFi etc. interfering with the signal.

Configuring a router is not exactly plug and play, but its not complex either. I recommend that you configure security also. WPA is recommended, if it is supported by your PDA.

Last edited by Su-47 : 27th April 2007 at 16:09.
Su-47 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2007, 16:16   #36
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default

I recommend LinksysWRT54GL or WRT54GS, stay away from WRT54G
Extremely good community support, runs Linux so infinitively hackable, tweakable.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2007, 16:17   #37
BHPian
 
rapideffect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: mumbai
Posts: 147
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
We used to use a Netgear at the office. After 2 years it was busted and we got a new linksys.
The setting problems we had were insane. It would not automatically configure and assign an IP address to each comp. We would enter the IP addresses manually and sometimes it would still not connect.

We finally replaced it with a new netgear and everything works just fine.

Infact I had the same problem with my linksys wirless g router but got it rectified after making a few changes at Airtel's (service provider) end. Airtel provided modem had a setup which was not allowing the router to be configured as a DHCP server to assign IP address to each comp. Later with the assistance of Airtel I have changed the DNS setup as given by Airtel to comply with Wireless G. Initially the Airtel guys were hesistant to help as they sell wireless router and services. But later when threatened of discountinuing their service they came forward to help us.
rapideffect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2007, 17:13   #38
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,818
Thanked: 1,439 Times
Default

Carry your wireless network in your pocket - do yourself a favour and get an Apple Airport Express. Plug in to a power socket, connect to your Ethernet model using RJ45 and you're on! Wherever you are!
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2007, 17:22   #39
BANNED
 
unknown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 429
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

How much does LinksysWRT54GL costs ?
unknown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2007, 18:33   #40
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,383 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
Carry your wireless network in your pocket - do yourself a favour and get an Apple Airport Express. Plug in to a power socket, connect to your Ethernet model using RJ45 and you're on! Wherever you are!
This is a good idea. I use an Airport Express myself.

It is linked to my Mac and password protected with an 7 digit alphanumeric code. Any mac that enters the area, needs this 7 digit code to connect.
Then we stream music and share internet and share a USB printer too.

However if a PC tries to connect to this apple network, the WEP equivalent password is a 128 bit encryption which is HUGE and quite annoying to put in.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2007, 18:47   #41
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by unknown View Post
Range ? 100 m or Above more than that is available ?
any communication is a two way process. you can increase the range if you add boosters/dish antennae etc on BOTH sides (router and the laptop). not sure how that would look though
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2007, 19:08   #42
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,492
Thanked: 6,768 Times
Default

if you request airtel they will replace your existing modem with a wifi one and this will solve all headaches in one go, and cost is also minimal if you convince them to do a swap between the old and the new one

for price reference, they charge 5 k for complete connection from scratch when i last checked
Jaggu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2007, 19:12   #43
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default

With few obstacles or line of sight and updated non official firmware GL and GS from linksys can do 100mts without antennas. Put in a simple directional antenna and you are talking line of sight upto 20kms.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2007, 19:49   #44
BANNED
 
unknown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 429
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

Hi ,
I've bought Linksys Wrt54gs Today for 4k , & My Desktop won't support Wifi yet i've Not installed Pci card , So i can't use wifi With My Phone ? I've Switched On the Router , Plug the Ethernet cable in it , My phone have detected the Wifi But i can't Browse Web ?

Last edited by unknown : 28th April 2007 at 19:51.
unknown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2007, 17:58   #45
BANNED
 
unknown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 429
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

Bump .....................
unknown is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless Home Networking Akshay1234 Gadgets, Computers & Software 35 31st May 2013 23:14
Linksys WAG 200G Wireless Home Gateway+MTNL Triband: settings required nishantgandhi Gadgets, Computers & Software 9 3rd June 2009 19:34
LAN card to LAN card sharing abhibh Gadgets, Computers & Software 15 21st December 2008 01:55
Home Wireless A/V esteem_lover Gadgets, Computers & Software 9 7th February 2007 16:59
Wireless LAN protocol sandeepmdas Shifting gears 3 22nd September 2005 12:15


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 17:38.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks