Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 2nd February 2007, 04:59   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default remote control on desktop

while i am doing my research, thought it will be a good idea to post it here as well.

i have a laptop with XP home (so no desktop remote), wired to a router, and another one connected to same router wirelesly.

All I want to do is control the first laptop with my second one (only WMplayer), since the first one is my central computing station with all music, videos etc, and will be hooked up to the TV, in the other room. earlier i thought of getting a bluetooth mouse, but exploring this option, since the wirless laptop is always on (official work) and almost always beside me.

anywaybody aware of any freeware which could let me do this?
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2007, 06:11   #2
BHPian
 
rohitbagai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 401
Thanked: 226 Times
Default

Hi why only WMplayer?...you can control whole operating system with the help of realvnc. Its free and fast.
rohitbagai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2007, 07:53   #3
BHPian
 
sharathjeppu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 157
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

If you are using XP, go to Help and support Center --> invite a friend to your computer with remote assitance.

You don't need any third party software.
sharathjeppu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2007, 11:17   #4
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 46
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

It possiable to install remote desktop on win xp Home (I am using it)

However the other options are:

1. you can also search for software call winVNC i think its a freeware.
2. using a bluetooth remote, i have that software if you want it, its in java, and has a very small footprint. (PM me if you want the software)
speedonline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2007, 11:28   #5
Team-BHP Support
 
moralfibre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MH-12
Posts: 6,562
Thanked: 6,028 Times
Default

Instead of Real/win VNC use TightVNC since it also supports file transfer. Install the server application on the computer you want to access remotely and access the server using VNC client. You will need the IP address of the remote computer to access and also ensure that VNC is running as a service. Also ensure that the router permits access to the port on which the remote computer is being accessed.
moralfibre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2007, 13:04   #6
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 46
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moralfibre View Post
Instead of Real/win VNC use TightVNC since it also supports file transfer. Install the server application on the computer you want to access remotely and access the server using VNC client. You will need the IP address of the remote computer to access and also ensure that VNC is running as a service. Also ensure that the router permits access to the port on which the remote computer is being accessed.
@moralfibre i dont think file transfer is an issue as he is connecting to a lan. I belive the only issue here is that he want to house/play all his music from/on the desktop.
speedonline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2007, 17:33   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

thanks guys,

windows messenger seems to be failing because of zonealarm. wil try tinkering with it in eve after work.

i may use vnc if i can figure out how to restrict it to LAN. it opens a port only secured by an 8 character password.

@speedo.. the software you mentioned, is it on J2ME? i have bluetooth phones that can accept java apps. bluetooth for the pocket pc is screwed up.
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2007, 17:56   #8
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 46
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vivekiny2k View Post
thanks guys,

windows messenger seems to be failing because of zonealarm. wil try tinkering with it in eve after work.

i may use vnc if i can figure out how to restrict it to LAN. it opens a port only secured by an 8 character password.

@speedo.. the software you mentioned, is it on J2ME? i have bluetooth phones that can accept java apps. bluetooth for the pocket pc is screwed up.
Yup its j2me. It does not work on ppc's , I have already tried it on mine.
speedonline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2007, 02:54   #9
BHPian
 
sixthsense's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 72
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

If you are not very particular about WMPlayer, then you can install winamp which will i guess will play all your media files. Then you can install winamp network remote plugin through which you can control it from your second laptop. You can try searching for the plugin on winamp's site.
sixthsense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2007, 00:10   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

Thanks buddy, will try winamp too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by speedonline View Post
2. using a bluetooth remote, i have that software if you want it, its in java, and has a very small footprint. (PM me if you want the software)
this works, but only with microsoft bluetooth stack (plus dot net). which is so pathetic that even microsoft site has instructions on how to bypass it . i took it off and went back on widcomm.

I finally fixed bluetoth on my pocket PC fixed....so i guess i will be using pocketPC-bluetooth-internet route to control my PC now.
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2007, 00:22   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

noticed something on my set up.

1. when laptop is connected to a local speaker, it's noise free.
2. when laptopo is connected to TV thru RCA cable (25 ft), but on battery, it's noise free.

but when i connect it to TV and put the power adapter, i get srong statics noise, which is bearable, but quite distracting. Can somebody take a guess on what's happpening?
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2007, 06:35   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

weird. i took an extender (basically american to indian plug) with only 2 pins, leaving earth pin open to air, and it's fine now.

i have no idea why earth on laptop charger was causing disturbances.
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY: Adding a Remote level control/ Bass remote to your Amplifier HimuraKenshin In-Car Entertainment 8 11th April 2012 16:59
A Device that can control all my gadgets / Universal Remote Control a4_attitude Gadgets, Computers & Software 28 24th August 2011 11:10
How to use remote desktop through wifi router DCEite Gadgets, Computers & Software 14 7th June 2010 18:38
Remote desktop of laptop from PC using Bluetooth? DCEite Gadgets, Computers & Software 2 12th September 2008 10:58
Connecting Home PC with Remote Desktop anujmishra Gadgets, Computers & Software 13 7th August 2008 12:41


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 06:01.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks