Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11th May 2008, 12:26   #61
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,444
Thanked: 281 Times
Default

Hi,
Is there any cheap accessory (available easily in Mumbai/Pune) which will let me use 2 SIM's in my Cell Phone. I don't want to buy a new phone. Neither do I want both to be active at the same time. Just want the convinience of occasional switching without removing the battery/sim card etc.

Looking for something like this
Duosim|GSM 3G Mobile Phone|Dual Sim Card Adapter|Dualsim|Twin sim|Magicsim|Ghost sim|Supersim Cloner

Someone also said that the operator can put 2 MSIDN's on the same SIM - does Vodafone do this, any idea?
carboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2008, 00:23   #62
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: delhi
Posts: 384
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

I 've been dreaming of a good dual sim phone for the last quite some time . It was really a pain and stupid to carry 3 phones but i had no option as i use 3 different nos. I never wanted to buy those big ,bulky ,ugly looking chinese phones .

I saw the Samsung D880 last month and had almost purchased it till i heard that samsung was planning to launch a new Dual sim phone the D780 , a more sleeker ,smarter looking phone . I waited and waited and last week got a call from the dealer and immediatly went and bought it .

About the phone , its performing very well , looks very smart , both sims work simultaneously and whenever i want to call from my second sim all i 've to do is press a button on the left and its ready .
It has very basic features like the 2.0 megapixel camera , bluetooth etc. ,quite weighty , very small screen but overall an excellent phone at a very reasonable price .
Beemer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2008, 09:26   #63
Senior - BHPian
 
amtak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai - The city of Sea Link!!!
Posts: 2,772
Thanked: 331 Times
Default

Hi Beemer,

Could you please tell us how much the piece costs if you don't mind? I am also planning to buy one soon.

Thanks!
amtak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2008, 00:16   #64
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: delhi
Posts: 384
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amtak View Post
Hi Beemer,

Could you please tell us how much the piece costs if you don't mind? I am also planning to buy one soon.

Thanks!
Dude it costed me Rs. 9200/ with bill and warranty . Go for it , IMO this is the best Duo available in the market .
Beemer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2008, 00:38   #65
Distinguished - BHPian
 
phamilyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 5,581
Thanked: 3,242 Times
Default

our office boy has a dualsim chinese stuff in 3500. n70 copy. shiny etyadi. very decent music and 1.3mp cam is the only pain. but very interesting otherwise. quite fundoo!
phamilyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2008, 01:03   #66
Senior - BHPian
 
amtak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai - The city of Sea Link!!!
Posts: 2,772
Thanked: 331 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beemer View Post
Dude it costed me Rs. 9200/ with bill and warranty . Go for it , IMO this is the best Duo available in the market .
Fantastic! Just checking the Sammy website. Nokia doesn't make dual sim isnt it?
amtak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2008, 09:32   #67
Senior - BHPian
 
amit_mechengg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 2,356
Thanked: 1,092 Times
Default

best way is to go branded samsung duo which operates tata indicom and any GSM or both GSM or both CDMA,

it comes with touchscreen and host of other functions just at a price tag of rs 9000/- , chroma mall price. check with local dealers will get in lesser
amit_mechengg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2008, 11:25   #68
Senior - BHPian
 
ph03n!x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madras
Posts: 1,703
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

Someone at work had an iPhone rip-off for about 5000 bucks - the phone physically looked a lot like the iPhone, but the interface was cheap-looking, and not that great. It had Dual-Sim capabilities, and he said it works pretty fine, serves the purpose very well.

I wonder why no big names (except for Samsung... and Spice) have a dual-sim phone yet?
ph03n!x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2008, 18:22   #69
BHPian
 
Gtea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Shillong
Posts: 163
Thanked: Once
Default

Have been using Dual Sim Chinese phone (no idea of Make) for the last few months. It's very convenient.
The battery life is poor and I have to charge it every night but you do get an extra battery with it.
It's quite easy to use once you get used to it.

Btw just bought a 4gb micro sd card and it is supported by the phone.

The speakers inbuilt are awesome btw.


Puia
Gtea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2009, 15:35   #70
BHPian
 
abdriver2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 330
Thanked: 23 Times
Default

Any reviews of Wespro WM3708i ? It sells online for 5k and has all features.
I am not sure if it is China-made.
abdriver2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2009, 15:40   #71
BHPian
 
hemanthisgreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 587
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

It seems the grey market chinese phones will stop functioning in a few days. Mobile operators will stop services to such phones.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/C...ow/4352642.cms
hemanthisgreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2009, 15:55   #72
BHPian
 
abdriver2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 330
Thanked: 23 Times
Default

A very small fraction of these Chinese phones come without IMEI numbers. All the rest have an IMEI for both Master and Slave SIM.

You can easily find out by pressing *#06# on your phone.
abdriver2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2009, 15:58   #73
BHPian
 
hemanthisgreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 587
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abdriver2000 View Post
A very small fraction of these Chinese phones come without IMEI numbers. All the rest have an IMEI for both Master and Slave SIM.

You can easily find out by pressing *#06# on your phone.
The article mentions that many of these phone have 15 digit IMEI numbers, whereas other phones have 16 digit IMEI numbers. The phones with 15 digit IMEI numbers are the ones, whose services will be stopped.
hemanthisgreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2009, 16:30   #74
BHPian
 
abdriver2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 330
Thanked: 23 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hemanthisgreat View Post
The article mentions that many of these phone have 15 digit IMEI numbers, whereas other phones have 16 digit IMEI numbers. The phones with 15 digit IMEI numbers are the ones, whose services will be stopped.
I don't think thats true. My Nokia has a 15 digit code. My Spice D80 has 2 codes of 15 digits each. Some chinese phones have the number missing altogether. I think they would be targetted.

In any case, IMEI number is not useful anyways. On 2 occasions, when my friends phones were lost/stolen and we called up Hutch (now Vodafone) with IMEI numbers and asked them to disable it, they said "Sir, this facility is not available in India" and asked us to file an FIR instead.
abdriver2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2009, 18:04   #75
Senior - BHPian
 
pranavt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,628
Thanked: 272 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abdriver2000 View Post
I don't think thats true. My Nokia has a 15 digit code. My Spice D80 has 2 codes of 15 digits each. Some chinese phones have the number missing altogether. I think they would be targetted.

In any case, IMEI number is not useful anyways. On 2 occasions, when my friends phones were lost/stolen and we called up Hutch (now Vodafone) with IMEI numbers and asked them to disable it, they said "Sir, this facility is not available in India" and asked us to file an FIR instead.
The need for IMEI numbers is so that the "terrorists" can be tracked and more information found out. Obviously it's nothing but the government which wants more power so they can wiretap and sniff our conversations by tracking IMEI numbers.
pranavt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which cities in U.P. can issue Smart card or Plastic card driving license (DL) ? zook09 The Indian Car Scene 11 24th November 2010 15:21
LAN card to LAN card sharing abhibh Gadgets, Computers & Software 15 21st December 2008 01:55
Dual SIM carboy Gadgets, Computers & Software 1 10th May 2008 11:57
Dual Sim Cell Phones whatcanthisbe Gadgets, Computers & Software 2 6th June 2007 13:18
Dual Sim Adaptor v.tec Gadgets, Computers & Software 0 9th March 2006 20:05


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 12:08.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks