Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 3rd March 2007, 14:21   #1
BANNED
 
viper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,769
Thanked: 8 Times
Default Dual Sim Card Mobiles

Hi Guys,

Was killing some time today as had a day off and went to my mobile supplier to upgrade my phone software when he showed me a new phone. It had no name mentioned and said that it has come down from Hong Kong. He says it has all the faetures found inhigh end phones with the exception of Blue Tooth and Infra Red. The phone looks good and is pretty sleek and is approx. the size of a Nokia 6233. They are getting 3-4 models in the next fortnight which will have bluetooth as well.

Took a demo and was pretty impressed with the phone. It comes with a spare battery and a 1 year warranty from the shop keeper(he is reliable). Is retailing it for Approx Rs8.5k. Sounds good and you can use 2 diff SIMS from different service providors. Was contemplating on getting one what do the experts say is it worth the price.

Viper
viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2007, 14:33   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
hydrashok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my Office
Posts: 2,528
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Is this the one, Viper?


...

...


Quote:
Since Apple's iPhone announcement a little over a month ago, touch screen handsets have been popping up all over our radar screen. As touch screens bet more attention in 2007, the Eliya is a new entrant with an actual distinguishing feature apart from a touch screen and a smartphone operating system -- dual SIM support. There are little and unremarkable tricks to get two SIMs into most phones (yeah, we know many are kinda low-tech), but how about OEM support for two cards? If you're into having two GSM carriers -- maybe one for voice and one for data -- the Eliya will hook you up from the start. No carving into your previous SIMs so you can stick them somewhere in a single SIM slot. Ok, we saved the kicker for last -- this Eliya unit can support both SIMs at once -- and you can be registered on two separate systems as once as well. No switching between SIMs in your phone's menu. Dual registration on two GSM systems at the same time -- and it's only 2007.

From EngadgetMobile & (pics from)SlashGear:
Be safe, have two carriers on the go - Engadget Mobile
Be safe, have two carriers on the go - SlashGear
hydrashok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2007, 14:37   #3
BANNED
 
unknown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 429
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

If u want to use 2 sim in one phone then buy a "Dual sim adapter".
unknown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2007, 14:42   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,818
Thanked: 1,439 Times
Default

Dual SIM adapters only carry two SIMs of which you can use any one at a time.

You need dual-radio phones, and thankfully there are a few coming out in the market now:

Check this chinese Dual-SIM PDA out. Its called the CoolPad and we feature these in our stores (since we're a new operator) - 2 WORKING GSM lines.

PDA Smartphone Yulong CoolPAD 728 G2 Dual GSM Phone. Brand new T26 G2 and 8160 G2. Twin SIM. 2 SIM Karten gleichzeitig betreiben in ein Handy. Benefon TWIN+. Cosmex 8080. Dual-Working.

YULONG

Mobile-review.com Two networks in one device: dual-mode smartphones from Yulong

Its nice but it lacks 3G and thats important for me - at least ONE of the lines should be 3G.
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2007, 14:50   #5
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,660
Thanked: 6,084 Times
Default

why do some phones have line1 and line 2?
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2007, 14:53   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
hydrashok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my Office
Posts: 2,528
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Or this one? Found it on eBay. From HongKong.

eBay: Dual Sim 3.2 Mega Pixels Touch Screen MP3 MP4 512mb (item 320087023539 end time Mar-05-07 11:44:40 PST)



Make: CECT (???)
Price he's quoted: USD263.41 (About Rs.11,853/-)
hydrashok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2007, 14:54   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,818
Thanked: 1,439 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
why do some phones have line1 and line 2?
This is to help you switch between 2 MSISDNs (Mobile Numbers). Most operators now allow you to have 2 numbers to your SIM card, so that you have one for your personal use and one for official. You use the Official Line from 9 to 5 or whenever you're supposed to be at work, then switch to Line 2 which is your home number so that you're not disturbed by clients that have your official number.

EDIT - @ hydrashok that one does not have 2 Radios. You should be able to see 2 Signal Indicators simultaneously.

If Tanveer (tsk) is reading this - Yulong also have a CDMA + GSM phone where you can carry one GSM line and one CDMA line (provided your CDMA Service Provider uses SIM Cards).

Last edited by Steeroid : 3rd March 2007 at 14:58.
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2007, 14:56   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
hydrashok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my Office
Posts: 2,528
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

The ebay one looks pretty uhhh... shady.

The CoolPad looks real cool!
hydrashok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2007, 15:02   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
rahul_intlad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,577
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Viper the only complications could be getting the mobile service provider's settings installed onto your mobile if the phone is from an unknown manufacturer.Try to get these settings done from the person who is selling you the mobile and see if they work.

Last edited by rahul_intlad : 3rd March 2007 at 15:03.
rahul_intlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2007, 15:04   #10
BANNED
 
viper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,769
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Hi Hydra,

No am sorry none of those are the phone I saw. Its not a PDA or touch screen phone looks more like one of the LG Dynamite mobiles. Forgot to mention also has a 1.3Mp Camera, video recording and plays all kinds of music(MP3, MP4 etc).

Will try and get a pic of the phone. He has no spec sheet or manual in English with it, its in chinese or some such language.

Viper
viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2007, 15:50   #11
aZa
Senior - BHPian
 
aZa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Noida / Delhi
Posts: 1,595
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

Hey jignesh bhai waiting for your pics in the meanwhile i found this on googling a bit

MAGIC SIM

SIMIORE

A user report
aZa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2007, 16:01   #12
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,660
Thanked: 6,084 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
This is to help you switch between 2 MSISDNs (Mobile Numbers). Most operators now allow you to have 2 numbers to your SIM card, so that you have one for your personal use and one for official. You use the Official Line from 9 to 5 or whenever you're supposed to be at work, then switch to Line 2 which is your home number so that you're not disturbed by clients that have your official number.

EDIT - @ hydrashok that one does not have 2 Radios. You should be able to see 2 Signal Indicators simultaneously.

If Tanveer (tsk) is reading this - Yulong also have a CDMA + GSM phone where you can carry one GSM line and one CDMA line (provided your CDMA Service Provider uses SIM Cards).
cool. i didnt know that.
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2007, 17:21   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
nitrous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UAE/Lon/Madras
Posts: 6,964
Thanked: 261 Times
Default

Quote:
Most operators now allow you to have 2 numbers to your SIM card,
Are u sure,khader bhai???
nitrous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2007, 18:04   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

WOW a little off topic but anyone know is we can get the "Eliya" one here in India ? Looks kool
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2007, 18:40   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,818
Thanked: 1,439 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aZa View Post
Hey jignesh bhai waiting for your pics in the meanwhile i found this on googling a bit

MAGIC SIM

SIMIORE

A user report
All of these can help you use two sim cards (or more), but only one will be active at any point of time. In order to use have two ACTIVE sim cards making and receiving calls, the phone requires 2 radios.

I also doubt that the phone Jiggs is talking about has 2 radios - twin radio phones have to be more expensive than that. Its probably got 2 SIM Card slots, which does not necessarily mean that you can use both SIMs at the same time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
Are u sure,khader bhai???
Quite sure - everyone has the capability to do so, its a question of whether they offer this as a service or not. Ask your friendly neighbourhood mobile operator's customer service. Say you want 2 MSISDNs on your SIM.

Last edited by Steeroid : 3rd March 2007 at 18:42.
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which cities in U.P. can issue Smart card or Plastic card driving license (DL) ? zook09 The Indian Car Scene 11 24th November 2010 15:21
LAN card to LAN card sharing abhibh Gadgets, Computers & Software 15 21st December 2008 01:55
Dual SIM carboy Gadgets, Computers & Software 1 10th May 2008 11:57
Dual Sim Cell Phones whatcanthisbe Gadgets, Computers & Software 2 6th June 2007 13:18
Dual Sim Adaptor v.tec Gadgets, Computers & Software 0 9th March 2006 20:05


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 03:52.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks