Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 13th March 2007, 19:23   #1
BHPian
 
a4_attitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 442
Thanked: 0 Times
Default helpp how to transfer photo n music to new computer

Hey guys recently got my system formatted now i want to tranfer my music n photo data in computer how to do that any idea???
waiting
W.A
a4_attitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2007, 20:23   #2
BHPian
 
navdeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 885
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

I didn't get u. From where you want to transfer data to computer
navdeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2007, 21:28   #3
aZa
Senior - BHPian
 
aZa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Noida / Delhi
Posts: 1,595
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

Yeah ajay bhai, From ---- TO ???
aZa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2007, 00:47   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
V-16's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: mumbai
Posts: 4,575
Thanked: 834 Times
Default

If you want to transfer from one comp to another, use a dvd drive or if not compatible, use a pen drive or an external drive,
V-16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2007, 01:02   #5
BHPian
 
sreenivass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bangalore India
Posts: 872
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

simplest, put them in the same network zip and do ftp. BTW plz mention what the operating systems are and if you have them in the same network.
sreenivass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2007, 06:20   #6
Distinguished - BHPian
 
condor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Speed-brkr City
Posts: 10,320
Thanked: 3,661 Times
Default

where are the systems ? How much data do you have ? And why is it becoming a challenge when it should have been as simple as a copy & paste, with a media in between [like a flash / jump drive or cd back-up]
condor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2007, 11:58   #7
BHPian
 
a4_attitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 442
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

ooopsss my mistake i was in hurry forget to write IPOD, i want to tranfer my ipod data to computer
a4_attitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2007, 12:08   #8
BHPian
 
nitroxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: DXB
Posts: 817
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

connect your ipod bu usb it'll appear as a drive in my computer and transfer
nitroxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2007, 12:09   #9
BHPian
 
a4_attitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 442
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

ya thts the issue its not showing as any extrnal drive
a4_attitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2007, 12:12   #10
BHPian
 
navdeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 885
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

connect the usb to your computer and turn on the ipod.
navdeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2007, 12:20   #11
BHPian
 
a4_attitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 442
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

ofcurse i did switched on the ipod but it use to show as a externaldrive in computer but now its not showing, i guess there is a command to show ur ipod as external disk...
a4_attitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2007, 12:24   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
vikram_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,380
Thanked: 936 Times
Default

There is no command for showing the ipod as a external disk. connect your ipod to the system and try restarting your system. Most of the times this works.
vikram_d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2007, 12:29   #13
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Banglaore
Posts: 269
Thanked: Once
Default

may be a updated driver for USB would help. checkout windows updates (Assume you on Microsoft)
chanapli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2007, 12:31   #14
Newbie
 
archangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kochi
Posts: 18
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

a4_attitude@ which operating system are you using ---> windows 98 ya windows XP?

if it is windows 98, i guess maybe you need to install the ipod USB driver software first in order to detect the ipod.
archangel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2007, 12:42   #15
BHPian
 
navdeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 885
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Yes you must restart your computer. Attach the ipod again.
If it still does not work. Goto control panel ->add/remove hardware-> search for new device. It may show up a new USB device ( and may need driver to install, usually not required for win2k and XP )
navdeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The *NEW* Team-BHP Photo Gallery! Rehaan Announcements 31 5th January 2012 11:36
First interior photo of new 2012 911 (998) sidindica The International Automotive Scene 10 24th August 2009 14:39
New Owner not ready to do the transfer of my Bike ashishy Motorbikes 21 31st May 2009 16:04


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 12:56.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks