Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18th July 2008, 11:51   #46
Distinguished - BHPian
 
supremeBaleno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Weekdays@Chennai, Weekends@Kerala
Posts: 5,142
Thanked: 1,580 Times
Default

Nice thread. I am looking at an inverter for our home in Kerala, where typically there is daily atleast a couple of hours of official powercut (load-shedding as EB calls it) and apart from this many more outages.

I got the following quote from Su-Kam distributor in Chennai. Does it look OK ?

- 2.5 Kva Pure-Sine wave inverter with 4 Nos of Battery - 50,000/-
- 3.0Kva Pure-Sine wave inverter with 4 Nos of Battery - 60,000/-

Installation wiring Charges Extra

The 2.5KVA should do just fine for our requirements.

How much would a local 2.5KVA inverter cost comparitively ?
supremeBaleno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2008, 11:56   #47
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Shillong
Posts: 925
Thanked: 82 Times
Default

Supreme, I have tried once and in the process, burnt my hands by going in for a local inverter. After purchase, things started going bad within the first week. Issues like the charger not working, the fuses blowing, not working for the specified load, etc. Installation was done by the company officials and then they started blaming their own installation. A high capacity inverter needs some expertise which unfortunately, these local companies cannot provide. I would not suggest you go with a local inverter company.
SumitB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2008, 13:16   #48
Senior - BHPian
 
trrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alleppey, Kerala
Posts: 2,113
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Hi,

> - 2.5 Kva Pure-Sine wave inverter with 4 Nos of Battery - 50,000/-
> - 3.0Kva Pure-Sine wave inverter with 4 Nos of Battery - 60,000/-
> Installation wiring Charges Extra

No idea bout he prices for such big load inverters.

If you have a 3 phase connection, you could look at hooking up one smaller unit for each phase which could save you wiring.

When I had a rewiring done in my house, I installed three 500watts inverters catering to different areas with separate wiring for them.

With a couple of lights and fans and a 29 inch TV, a 100 amp battery lasts for 2+ hours. A light and a fan alone should work for about 8 hours before giving up in my setup.

I have a local inverter, an Index inverter and another branded inverter. I think these are the least bothersome electrical appartus that I have owned. The battery does need proper care, though.

Sorry not to be of much help, though!
trrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2008, 14:08   #49
Distinguished - BHPian
 
supremeBaleno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Weekdays@Chennai, Weekends@Kerala
Posts: 5,142
Thanked: 1,580 Times
Default

Thanks SumitB and Rajesh-sir.

Quote:
Originally Posted by trrk
I have a local inverter, an Index inverter and another branded inverter.
And how much did each of these cost you ? Just to get an idea about the prices and differential between local and branded.

My requirement is also a couple of fans, 2-3 tube lights, 2 CFLs, TV, fridge (can even drop this - not very important) etc. If I drop the fridge, I really dont need the 2KvA I think and can go for a lower configuration inverter. Will save on money too.
supremeBaleno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2008, 14:12   #50
BANNED
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 293
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Thanks guys for all the replies.

These are thje quotes that I got [all approx]. Will cost approx 3 lakhs for a 15KVA Genset [including all]. This will power my brothers as well as my house. If we get this we get to use all ACs etc BUT I feel that 70% of the time the gen will run without airconditioning load and we might be not at home or even if at home maybe some fans. Running cost is 3l diesel per hour.

Other option is maybe a 5Kva UPS for each - will get the cost and we might be able to run a single AC in each house or if not then adequate lights and fans for long power cuts. Will decide soon.
deepakvrao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2008, 15:48   #51
Senior - BHPian
 
trrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alleppey, Kerala
Posts: 2,113
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Hi Biju,

> Rajesh-sir.

Could you cut the last part out?

> And how much did each of these cost you ? Just to get an idea about the
> prices and differential between local and branded.

Only the third one that I mentioned was bought recently (28-05-2007). It is a Voltek brand priced at (4050 + 4% VAT) Rs 4212. The others are a decade or more old. The last battery that I bought (17-03-2008) was a locally made one of 100amp for Rs 6500 with 2 years warranty.

> My requirement is also a couple of fans, 2-3 tube lights, 2 CFLs, TV, fridge > (can even drop this - not very important) etc. If I drop the fridge, I really > dont need the 2KvA I think and can go for a lower configuration inverter.

Never tried the fridge with the inverter. We have large capacity frideges and never thought of connecting them to the iverter as the things inside easily survive an 8 hour outage.

2 fans - 120W, 3 tube lights - 120W, ignoring CFLs, TV - 100W, normal fridge - 100W, all would be 440W rounded to 500W. The capacity usually is 80% ot rated loaded except for some good brands. An 800VA inverter should be sufficient for you, if these are wired separately for the inverter, I think. Battery depending on the duration of backup needed.

> Will save on money too.

Very definitely!

Last edited by trrk : 18th July 2008 at 15:51.
trrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2008, 16:58   #52
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,652
Thanked: 243 Times
Default

One of my friends recently bought an APV Inverter, costed apprx 13k with battery. Runs all that you have posted. dont remember the Kva though 600kva, I guess.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bblost View Post
any idea how much a generator will cost.
Something to power up say 2 fans and 2 tubelights.
TV will be an added bonus.
dadu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2008, 18:20   #53
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 1,219
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deepakvrao View Post
Thanks guys for all the replies.

These are thje quotes that I got [all approx]. Will cost approx 3 lakhs for a 15KVA Genset [including all].
Our custom made 15KVA genset using a TATA 407 engine cost about a 1 lakh to have made last year. Works fine and powers AC etc without any problem.
bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2008, 08:32   #54
BANNED
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 293
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

OK guys - I finally got 2 2.5 KVA Sukams. Each was about 60K with 4 Exide 150AH batteries. Looks well made with a small LCD displaying status of battery charging etc.

Today we are scheduled to have no power from 9am to 5pm so I can see how these work.

Thanks for the help and suggestions.

Quote:
I got the following quote from Su-Kam distributor in Chennai. Does it look OK ?

- 2.5 Kva Pure-Sine wave inverter with 4 Nos of Battery - 50,000/-
- 3.0Kva Pure-Sine wave inverter with 4 Nos of Battery - 60,000/-
SupremeBaleneo, I checked at two dealers after reading your post and they both quoted as follows

2.5KVA UPS - approx 23K, after discount they were willing to give for 20K
3.5KVA UPS - 5K more
Each Exide 150AH Inverter battery at 10.5K - 10K after discount.

Do you think I am actually paying 10K more per set?

Last edited by deepakvrao : 20th July 2008 at 08:36.
deepakvrao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2008, 09:36   #55
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 155
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Well, APC has pathetic service in Bangalore. They supply only specific brands of batteries. APC does not practively send people for battery maintenance.Even after logging a request they take 10 days and reminders.

Franchisees have been using poor quality distilled water casing batteries to fail in 6 months. Mine have been replaced twice in 14 months and so is case of 4 other friends who bought inverter together.

Whenever batteries go bad, the electricity bill goes up by 100 units.

Assuming only 10000 inverters in Bangalore, APC is responsible for wasting 2x100x10000 = 2 million units of electricity every year!

Wake up APC


Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO View Post
I'd be surprised if that were true. APC is an extremely high quality brand. I have been using an APC UPS system without a single complaint. Even BHPians have spoken in favour of APC : Link
megger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2008, 09:16   #56
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 978
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

I stay in an apartment which is equipped with an automatic diesel generator, 2KV+ per flat. I can run everything except geysers, like lights, fans, refrigerator, washing machine (not in heating mode), TV etc. Whenever power cut happens, there is an obvious gap during switchover, and once again when power is back.

It is not absolutely required and may not be practical, but here is a question out of curiosity- Is there any way to avoid the gap, and make it like UPS? The back up device needs to be high power (greater than or equal what DG supplies), but a tiny backup capacity (time) will do, may be even a few minutes! It should not require maintenance and should not waste much energy. Any ideas??
santosh.s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2008, 18:17   #57
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Faridabad/Delhi
Posts: 1,591
Thanked: 434 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by santosh.s View Post
It is not absolutely required and may not be practical, but here is a question out of curiosity- Is there any way to avoid the gap, and make it like UPS? The back up device needs to be high power (greater than or equal what DG supplies), but a tiny backup capacity (time) will do, may be even a few minutes! It should not require maintenance and should not waste much energy. Any ideas??
That "gap" thing is very bad for electronic items. You can buy a sine wave inverter with built in UPS. Such models are available in various makes. You can go in for a single battery inverter since you already have DG back up for items like fan and lights.
directinjection is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2009, 16:36   #58
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 443
Thanked: 63 Times
Default Need advice on inverters

I am looking to get myself an inverter for my house in Surat. We have regular load shedding for around 2-3 hours (not more). I require some kind of power backup which can run at least 3 fans, 3 tube lights and 320 lts refrigerator for around 2 hours max. I can let go of the refrigerator after 1 hr so that I can get extended usage of fans.

I am not quite sure what are pure sine wave convertors, how batteries figure into this whole thing and why does one need to refill the same - basically i am a n00b when it comes to inverters.

I am looking at something less than 10K for the entire package.
kalpeshc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 00:09   #59
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,394
Thanked: 656 Times
Default

3 fans and 3 tubelight os fine, but fridge use lot of power during switching on its compressor. is it a must to include the fridge.
as due to this your budget will be inflated.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 10:17   #60
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 443
Thanked: 63 Times
Default

I can let go of the fridge. I guess the first priority would be fans and maybe a couple of CFLs (I can replace/augment my tubelights with CFLs for power savings).
kalpeshc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inverter Batteries Tarun Gadgets, Computers & Software 1088 10th October 2017 08:44
Car Battery to 220V AC convertor / inverter for charging laptop etc sreeku In-Car Entertainment 163 25th September 2016 23:00
Myth: UPS can't run on inverter? linuxtechie Gadgets, Computers & Software 17 24th October 2008 15:47


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 02:01.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks