Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 3rd December 2008, 21:38   #136
Senior - BHPian
 
kb100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangy Boy!
Posts: 1,554
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

I have just picked up a Vertex 2KVA Servo Stabiliser souped up to audiophile standards like thicker cables, better terminals, double stage filteration, EMI/RFI protection etc, etc.

The picture on my Panny 80D has to be seen to be believed! The colour, Contrast, and the Black levels have all seen dramatic improvement. The SD signals (Tata Sky) seems to have 'firmed-up' and become more solid! DVD signals upconverted to 720p and passed thru a HDMI cable is purely brilliant!

I am completely satisfied and recommend this wholeheartedly - get yourself the best possible servo - it makes a HUGE difference! (Be careful - there are a lot of cheap ones out there)

I have a Panny which pulls 350 W at full power (120-160 typical usage), an AVR which pulls 500 W , A DVD player that pulls say 10W, and am going to add a sub which will nened 300W . So this is a total draw of 1160W IF everthing is running at full power . Guess a 2KVA is enough for this?

Last edited by kb100 : 3rd December 2008 at 21:54.
kb100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2008, 04:27   #137
BHPian
 
madbullram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chennai & Appleton, WI
Posts: 513
Thanked: 75 Times
Default

KB: Can you post the pic of the Servo and also give the dimension of the same? How much did it cost you?

Its really interesting to know you Pana's PQ improved after this which till know I never thought is possible.

From your figures I think 2KVA is enough. Usually we go 15% more than the max draw to be on the safe side.
madbullram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2008, 05:33   #138
Distinguished - BHPian
 
phamilyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 5,581
Thanked: 3,241 Times
Default

What now, another new one on teambhp ICEbergs, tyre/alloy icebergs, LCD TV iceberg, Stabilizer icebergs too!

ps:jk
phamilyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2008, 14:46   #139
Senior - BHPian
 
kb100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangy Boy!
Posts: 1,554
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by madbullram View Post
KB: Can you post the pic of the Servo and also give the dimension of the same? How much did it cost you?

Its really interesting to know you Pana's PQ improved after this which till know I never thought is possible.

From your figures I think 2KVA is enough. Usually we go 15% more than the max draw to be on the safe side.
Universal Electronics - Home

This is a company formed by ex-KryKard staff. They are one of the few people who will work with you to customise this to you own set of requirements.

Please note that the one I have is a souped up version - with better innards customised for AV requirements. It cost me 11,503/- for 2KVA - I am told 3 KVA would be around 12.5 k. Their regular one will be about 1.5-2k lesser. It looks exactly like the snap on the link above (the product on the left)

Please PM me if interested and I will give you the contact number of the company person.


The PQ is wonderful - even my 5 yr old daughter kept saying the picture is 'Blacker' - the contrast! And all the tickers on the bottom of the screen, logo's, etc. need to be seen to be believed! SOLID lettering! Wonderfully easy on the eyes! An isolation transformer I am told will futher improve matters - but my current level of equipment does not warrant it. The best option, I am told, is a double converting online UPS - this will however cost more than my Plasma!
kb100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2008, 15:38   #140
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BLR
Posts: 2,222
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Cheap route to getting the thrills of a lasik procedure eh ? Heheh
s0uljah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2008, 09:47   #141
Senior - BHPian
 
mithun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cochin
Posts: 1,941
Thanked: 49 Times
Default

How can we select the right stabilizer for a home appliance based on the power rating of the appliance ?

Can someone please describe a universal calculation process ? I'm a moron when it comes to electricals !
mithun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2008, 09:48   #142
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 594
Thanked: 29 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mithun View Post
How can we select the right stabilizer for a home appliance based on the power rating of the appliance ?

Can someone please describe a universal calculation process ? I'm a moron when it comes to electricals !
For which appliance do you want.
It merely depends upon the current rating !
aka_iitd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2008, 10:24   #143
Senior - BHPian
 
mithun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cochin
Posts: 1,941
Thanked: 49 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aka_iitd View Post
For which appliance do you want.
It merely depends upon the current rating !
I want it for my fridge. BUT, is there any calculation process that can be used irrespective of the appliance.
mithun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2008, 14:50   #144
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,600
Thanked: 6,686 Times
Default

I am no electrician either, but if we know the number of kilowatts that the device is rated at then we will know what stabiliser to buy for it.

In practice, it is not necessary to know even this, because unless your fridge is unusually big, it will be enough to tell a good electrical shop that you want a stabiliser for fridge. If you want to spend more on a higher-rated stabiliser then they probably will not object --- but, for fridges and AC units the time delay function is important, protecting the compressor from short cuts, it being damaging to power them off then on again quickly.
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2008, 22:00   #145
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,850
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

Want to buy new fully automatic machine.
Should take around 5.5-6Kgs
Should have drying function(though total 100% dry is not really a need)
Should have a water heater inside(I think stainless steel drum will be needed).

Can somebody suggest something in 15-16K range max?
We have an old sumeet fully automatic front loader, are there any exchange schemes going on?
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2008, 22:27   #146
BHPian
 
archat68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 669
Thanked: 182 Times
Default

Check the IFB models from their site. Use compare-india for getting approx market price. You should get one in this range. There was also some exchange offer going on with the IFB models.
BTW Washing machines have very poor resale/exchange value.
archat68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2008, 00:31   #147
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,850
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

Ok.. Anybody can suggest me a good repair center for fully automatic front loaders in Noida?
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2008, 01:37   #148
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
Ok.. Anybody can suggest me a good repair center for fully automatic front loaders in Noida?
so you already have one?

wats the problem with the one you have!
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2008, 11:26   #149
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,850
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

It does not dry now, the clothes come out dripping wet after drying cycle. Earlier they used to come out just moist(this is not 100% dryer). After taking out clothes there is still water in drum. I suspect the drain circuit has an issue
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2008, 13:20   #150
Senior - BHPian
 
mithun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cochin
Posts: 1,941
Thanked: 49 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mithun View Post
I'm planning to buy a 230L frost-free Double door fridge. Prefers Samsung & Whirlpool brands.

So which one should I purchase taking into consideration A.S.S, quality & features ?
Any opinions about my query ?
mithun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Home Construction/Makeover/Maintenance Thread Latheesh Shifting gears 578 18th August 2017 11:24
Building a truck camper : Home away from home DKG Modifications & Accessories 140 18th February 2016 18:40
Bringing home the Mahindra Scorpio LX. EDIT : Scorpio finds a new home! benbsb29 Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports 168 8th January 2015 11:22
Joining a domain: XP home Vista Home Premium johy Shifting gears 0 22nd November 2007 17:14
Home Audio thread with inputs from the ICE forum gunbir Gadgets, Computers & Software 13 3rd August 2006 11:45


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 12:44.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks