Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 29th August 2013, 20:57   #3886
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Delhi
Posts: 2,098
Thanked: 979 Times
Default Re: The Home Appliance thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by inder View Post
Guys I am confused between IFB and Bosch washing machines. Although I have an IFB curently running since 15 years,but have heard the quality of IFB has deteriorated and is not what it used to be. Hows Bosch ? Is anyone using it.
IFB is Bosch design. The Bosch models will be more contemporary design. I suggest that you try LG. I have also shifted from IFB to LG.
Aroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2013, 09:14   #3887
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,045
Thanked: 3,591 Times
Default Re: The Home Appliance thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aroy View Post
IFB is Bosch design.
of at least two generations ago, when they manufactured for Bosch!
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2013, 09:54   #3888
BHPian
 
Guite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Noida, NCR
Posts: 463
Thanked: 171 Times
Default Re: The Home Appliance thread

I have IFB microwave and washing machine. Its' replacement will not be IFB anymore.
Guite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2013, 12:31   #3889
BHPian
 
rm_arjuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 445
Thanked: 52 Times
Default Re: The Home Appliance thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigwheelz View Post
Strange that a company like Samsung is willing to refund customer money rather than offer some other model or provide a replacement.
Samsung made a full refund for my neighbour's split a/c when it malfunctioned after 9 months of usage
rm_arjuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2013, 14:20   #3890
BHPian
 
dilipkumar7278's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: COCHIN
Posts: 382
Thanked: 23 Times
Default

Guys
We have IFB in our house. Based on my experience I would suggest you to stay away from them. It has been a constant headache for us till now. Every two to three weeks a moron from IFB service comes for service. The damn thing resets itself after 15 minutes of washing. We are fed up after complaining to CC .... Thinking of buying a Samsung or bosch now
Regards

Last edited by dilipkumar7278 : 30th August 2013 at 14:21.
dilipkumar7278 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2013, 00:09   #3891
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 112
Thanked: 15 Times
Default Re: The Home Appliance thread

Anybody installed 3 Phase Servo Stabilizer in chennai, the low voltage problem is re-appearing again as the heat is back..
carbhp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2013, 11:04   #3892
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Delhi
Posts: 2,098
Thanked: 979 Times
Default Re: The Home Appliance thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by carbhp View Post
Anybody installed 3 Phase Servo Stabilizer in chennai, the low voltage problem is re-appearing again as the heat is back..
There are two types you can fix.
1. A 3-phase servo having one motor turning all the 3 auto transformers. This is fine if the voltage is balanced - that is all the voltages rise and dip evenly. This works fine in factory environment, but not so well in domestic environment.

2. Normally in domestic situations the 3 phases are quite unbalanced and show a wide range of voltages (between them). Here three individual servo stabilizers work the best.

If you put up servo stabilizers, then be sure to put Over and Under voltage cut offs, as the servos are relatively slow and if one phase suddenly recovers from say 180V to 230V, the output may suddenly shoot up to 280-290 range before the servo can swing it back. Same is the case for swing from high voltage to normal. The swing happens in two cases
. When a high load of a neighbour switches on/off
. When the distribution centre correct the voltage
Aroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2013, 08:26   #3893
BHPian
 
dre@ms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Singara Chennai
Posts: 480
Thanked: 96 Times
Default Re: The Home Appliance thread

I am in lookout for a emergency lights for my home. Checked DMart and there were 2 brands which were in my budget/taste.
Eveready LED DL 180 + Eveready LED Torch + 3 Batteries - 1399
Pigeon Emergency Lamp - 999

The main difference in both is, Eveready is LED and Pigeon is the conventional CFL 11w.

My calculation, if CFL goes for a toss, we can easily replace it. But even if one LED goes for a toss, we need to replace the complete set.

Am I right in my assumption? Which emergency lamp is suggested/recommended?
dre@ms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2013, 09:02   #3894
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,045
Thanked: 3,591 Times
Default Re: The Home Appliance thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by carbhp View Post
Anybody installed 3 Phase Servo Stabilizer in chennai, the low voltage problem is re-appearing again as the heat is back..
As has been pointed out by ARoy make sure you get three single phase units and not a three-phase unit, only then will the imbalance be addressed.

In my experience of over 35 years I have come across only one instance where the Servo unit was actually working after a decade or so. In fact this setup (3x1ph-40A) is still going strong after 40+ years.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2013, 11:11   #3895
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 112
Thanked: 15 Times
Default Re: The Home Appliance thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aroy View Post
There are two types you can fix.
1. A 3-phase servo having one motor turning all the 3 auto transformers. This is fine if the voltage is balanced - that is all the voltages rise and dip evenly. This works fine in factory environment, but not so well in domestic environment.

2. Normally in domestic situations the 3 phases are quite unbalanced and show a wide range of voltages (between them). Here three individual servo stabilizers work the best.

If you put up servo stabilizers, then be sure to put Over and Under voltage cut offs, as the servos are relatively slow and if one phase suddenly recovers from say 180V to 230V, the output may suddenly shoot up to 280-290 range before the servo can swing it back. Same is the case for swing from high voltage to normal. The swing happens in two cases
. When a high load of a neighbour switches on/off
. When the distribution centre correct the voltage
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgiitk View Post
As has been pointed out by ARoy make sure you get three single phase units and not a three-phase unit, only then will the imbalance be addressed.

In my experience of over 35 years I have come across only one instance where the Servo unit was actually working after a decade or so. In fact this setup (3x1ph-40A) is still going strong after 40+ years.
Thanks. I would like to know any good/reputed company which does this. Any idea how much would it cost ? I know it might be difficult unless the exact usage, but a typical house with 2 Split A/c, 2 Geyser, 2 LCD, plus others. How much would be the requirement and cost?

thanks again
carbhp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2013, 11:40   #3896
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,045
Thanked: 3,591 Times
Default Re: The Home Appliance thread

Quite frankly I will not bother, unless you have a very poor scenario. Your total load is barely 6 kVA. As long as ther voltage is no too high or low (say beyond 190-255V) everything will happily take it. Just add a starter/MCB to the ACs. I have been running without any stabilisers for 35+ years.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2013, 13:47   #3897
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 112
Thanked: 15 Times
Default Re: The Home Appliance thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgiitk View Post
Quite frankly I will not bother, unless you have a very poor scenario. Your total load is barely 6 kVA. As long as ther voltage is no too high or low (say beyond 190-255V) everything will happily take it. Just add a starter/MCB to the ACs. I have been running without any stabilisers for 35+ years.
Ok, I asked for quote from couple of companies for 6kVA. Let me see how much they asking..
carbhp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2013, 13:58   #3898
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,045
Thanked: 3,591 Times
Default Re: The Home Appliance thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by carbhp View Post
Ok, I asked for quote from couple of companies for 6kVA. Let me see how much they asking..
With three phases, check out and ask for two or three single phase units of 5kVA each.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2013, 17:53   #3899
BHPian
 
RajeswaranK7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 81
Thanked: 26 Times
Default Re: The Home Appliance thread

Guys,

I have two requirements

1) We are planning to get a semi-automatic washing machine for my mom. She is very specific on the semi-automatic part, as she doesn't want any complicated controls. It should be sturdy and capable of handling heavy loads is the other requirement. I was checking out on this model from LG P1561R3S. If any one has any experience with this model or any other suggestions please provide them.

2) I am looking for a fully automatic top load washing machine and we zerod in on Panasonic's NA-FS14X2WRB. Its a 14 KG machine and i need this capacity. But i don't find any reviews related to this model. How good are Panasonic's washing machines any idea?

Last edited by RajeswaranK7 : 4th September 2013 at 18:02. Reason: Removed the tags; added one more requirement
RajeswaranK7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2013, 22:11   #3900
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,855
Thanked: 15,413 Times
Default Re: The Home Appliance thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by RajeswaranK7 View Post
Guys,

I have two requirements

1) We are planning to get a semi-automatic washing machine for my mom. She is very specific on the semi-automatic part, as she doesn't want any complicated controls. It should be sturdy and capable of handling heavy loads is the other requirement. I was checking out on this model from LG P1561R3S. If any one has any experience with this model or any other suggestions please provide them.

2) I am looking for a fully automatic top load washing machine and we zerod in on Panasonic's NA-FS14X2WRB. Its a 14 KG machine and i need this capacity. But i don't find any reviews related to this model. How good are Panasonic's washing machines any idea?
A semi automatic will be more complicated than fully automatic.
In semi automatic you need to
1. Set up cycle
2. Run cycle
3. Take out clothes and put in separate drum
4. Again setup stuff and run.

With fully automatic(base models) all you need to do is put in clothes, select wash program(rotate a dial) and then take out clothes.
You can choose a basic model which will have modes like
Cotton,synthetic,delicate,handwash/wool,Quick
You can leave machine in quick mode so all you need to do is press start button thats it. Nothing else to do!
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Home Construction/Makeover/Maintenance Thread Latheesh Shifting gears 581 21st August 2017 18:36
Building a truck camper : Home away from home DKG Modifications & Accessories 140 18th February 2016 18:40
Bringing home the Mahindra Scorpio LX. EDIT : Scorpio finds a new home! benbsb29 Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports 168 8th January 2015 11:22
Joining a domain: XP home Vista Home Premium johy Shifting gears 0 22nd November 2007 17:14
Home Audio thread with inputs from the ICE forum gunbir Gadgets, Computers & Software 13 3rd August 2006 11:45


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 15:52.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks