Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 1st July 2015, 17:55   #5296
BHPian
 
sbala's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 389
Thanked: 146 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chetan_Rao View Post
An inspection would put your mind at rest, but if your area has salty/hard water, the sound is probably just from the scaled heating coil warming up causing the accumulated salt to crackle. My parents' home gets really hard water and the geyser in the main bathroom is serviced before/after every winter to avoid scaling-induced issues.

Immersion coil heaters usually make that crackling/hissing noise once they get scaled.
I am using this heater for past 6 years. I can understand what you have said here. Based on my experience, it's completely normal. Just make sure to call customer care and get the heater cleaned once in 6 months to get the salt deposits out.
sbala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2015, 09:17   #5297
BHPian
 
RiGOD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 150
Thanked: 93 Times
Default Re: The Home Appliance thread

Planning to replace our 5 year old Videocon Semi Auto washing machine (WM) with a Fully Auto Top Load.

- When it comes to WM's which are the most reliable brands? Videocon kept on giving us headaches every now and then.

- Maximum budget is Rs.15,000. Any specific model that I must look into?

Last edited by RiGOD : 4th July 2015 at 09:17. Reason: Typo
RiGOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2015, 10:10   #5298
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Kochi
Posts: 63
Thanked: 52 Times
Default

I now have Samsung top load fully auto 6.5 kg and am satisfied with it.


My earlier one was Whirlpool and was constantly having problems. Threw it away after just 2 years.
arunkumarsarat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2015, 22:52   #5299
BHPian
 
Sebring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Dubai
Posts: 329
Thanked: 153 Times
Default Re: The Home Appliance thread

The WM that gave us the most headaches was Godrej Top Loader. This was way back in 2005. Frequent breakdowns resulted in us as well as the repairman getting frustrated. It was truly a nightmare. Had sold it for whatever price we could get. The next buy was a Samsung Top Loader, doing well till now.

Front loaders were not suitable given the frequent power cuts, and the need to add clothes once the cycle had started.
Sebring is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2015, 23:09   #5300
BHPian
 
RiGOD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 150
Thanked: 93 Times
Default Re: The Home Appliance thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by arunkumarsarat View Post
I now have Samsung top load fully auto 6.5 kg and am satisfied with it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sebring View Post
The next buy was a Samsung Top Loader, doing well till now.
Thanks for the response

Which specific model do you have? Any idea if its still available?
RiGOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2015, 23:35   #5301
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Kochi
Posts: 63
Thanked: 52 Times
Default Re: The Home Appliance thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by RiGOD View Post
Thanks for the response

Which specific model do you have? Any idea if its still available?


I would recommend you to go for the WA62 series taking into consideration your budget and the features you would like to have.
arunkumarsarat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2015, 08:45   #5302
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,444
Thanked: 281 Times
Default Re: The Home Appliance thread

I have a LG 6.5 kg top loader running for 10 years now. No AMC ever taken. Total money spent on maintenance over 10 years - less than Rs. 1000.
carboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2015, 10:59   #5303
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,042
Thanked: 3,586 Times
Default Re: The Home Appliance thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sebring View Post
Front loaders were not suitable given the frequent power cuts, and the need to add clothes once the cycle had started.
My LGs and also even the Zanussi (all Front loaders) coped with power cuts with no hassles. It was only the first lot of digital machines which had problems. Now they seem to remember where they were.

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 6th July 2015 at 13:02. Reason: Typo.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2015, 23:19   #5304
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: KA03
Posts: 224
Thanked: 199 Times
Default Re: The Home Appliance thread - Microwave High Voltage Fuse

Need help on microwave leakage.


Just thought I'd post this after spending quite a bit of time troubleshooting our Electrolux Microwave: Problem - Works, but no heat.

1. Googled through lots of microwave repair web pages and wasted a lot of time checking the door switches - I realized there was a short cut - unhook the input to the high voltage transformer and check if it gets 230V supply when the door is closed.

2. After this checked each one of these high voltage diode, capacitor and magnetron.

3. Turned out to be the High Voltage Fuse.
Wish I'd checked that first!

After wiring up the fuse with fuse wire (doubt if I'll get that glass fuse as a spare that is inside the holder) Everything working fine now

Another tip - take photos before you start unplugging the components - helps a lot when you put them back.

--------
OK, this is the part where I need help: (INAEE) I put my phone inside the microwave (Relax, I did not cook it ) closed the door (not powered up) and did a ping to it. (My WiFi is on 2.4 GHz) - The ping is supposed to fail (inside the Faraday Cage), but it did not. The cover is back on properly, so is the microwave leaking radiation? How do I fix this?
mvadg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2015, 14:55   #5305
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,867 Times
Default Re: The Home Appliance thread - Microwave High Voltage Fuse

Quote:
Originally Posted by mvadg View Post
... I put my phone inside the microwave (Relax, I did not cook it ) closed the door (not powered up) and did a ping to it. (My WiFi is on 2.4 GHz) - The ping is supposed to fail (inside the Faraday Cage), but it did not. The cover is back on properly, so is the microwave leaking radiation? How do I fix this?
Relax, nothing is wrong.

Did you check at what frequency is the microwave working at? And what frequency is the perforated grating on the glass door supposed to block? Saying "inside a Faraday cage" is a simplistic assumption. And testing it / looking for leakage with a 2.4GHz wifi device is even more ridiculous.

Your oven works at 900 Mhz. Compare the wavelength at this frequency with wavelength at 2.4GHz. It will be then obvious to you that the shielding / blocking, which works at 900MHz, doesn't do so at 2.4GHz. Also, even if the shielding were to work, it will only attenuate the RF signal to a lower dBm level (only 6-sided shielding with sheet metal without perforations will completely block all RF from going out). This attenuated signal might still be enough for the wifi section of the phone to respond to ping. Perhaps you should try Speedtest to see how much attenuation is there.

And isn't "Faraday cage" associated only with static electricity, and not microwaves?
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2015, 15:15   #5306
Senior - BHPian
 
black12rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ridin earth now
Posts: 1,258
Thanked: 271 Times
Default Re: The Home Appliance thread

My washing machine is below the overhead water tank. This is the only place it can be. Cannot relocate the WM to lower ground. Due to this there is not sufficient water pressure going to washing machine .

To solve this problem, I need a water pressure pump that connects inline between water input and washing machine .

Any one using or know inline water pressure pump for washing machines ?
black12rr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2015, 17:24   #5307
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: KA03
Posts: 224
Thanked: 199 Times
Default Re: The Home Appliance thread - Microwave High Voltage Fuse

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Relax, nothing is wrong.
...
Did you check at what frequency is the microwave working at? And what frequency is the perforated grating on the glass door supposed to block? Saying "inside a Faraday cage" is a simplistic assumption. And testing it / looking for leakage with a 2.4GHz wifi device is even more ridiculous.

Your oven works at 900 Mhz. Compare the wavelength at this frequency with wavelength at 2.4GHz.
Thanks DerAlte.
I looked up "900Mhz microwave oven" - apparently they are not used now. [You learn something new everyday!]. And you are right about the Faraday cage too.

I checked the specs for the magnetron - (Amazon.com)
  • Out Oven power(po): 950W
  • Frequency(fo):2460MHz
  • Peak anode Voltage(ebm):4.2KV
  • Filament voltage(Ef):3.3V
  • Average6 anode current(lb):300mA
I tried WiFi Analyzer after the ping test and two channels disappeared once the oven door was closed. Hope this means radiation at 2.46 GHz is attenuated. Will need to look up the exact frequencies for each WiFi channel and test again.



The magnetron is this one:
Attached Images
  
mvadg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2015, 17:52   #5308
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default Re: The Home Appliance thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Your oven works at 900 Mhz. Compare the wavelength at this frequency with wavelength at 2.4GHz. It will be then obvious to you that the shielding / blocking, which works at 900MHz, doesn't do so at 2.4GHz.
I recollect that Microwave ovens did interfere with WiFi in past. Google points to two "sort of reliable" sources that mention Microwave oven radiate in 2.4 GHz band (maybe in addition to 900 MHz).


http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/product...d807395a9.html


Quote:
In reality, the many other types of devices emitting in the unlicensed band dwarf the number of 802.11 devices. These devices include microwave ovens, cordless phones, Bluetooth devices, wireless video cameras, outdoor microwave links, wireless game controllers, Zigbee devices, fluorescent lights, WiMAX, and so on. Even bad electrical connections can cause broad RF spectrum emissions. These non-802.11 types of interference typically don't work cooperatively with 802.11 devices, and can cause significant loss of throughput. In addition, they can cause secondary effects such as rate back-off, in which retransmissions caused by interference trick the 802.11 devices into thinking that they should use lower data rates than appropriate.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electr...Microwave_oven

Quote:
Microwave ovens operate by emitting a very high power signal in the 2.4 GHz band. Older devices have poor shielding[citation needed], and often emit a very "dirty" signal over the entire 2.4 GHz band.
I would do a scan to see if it is the case with recent ovens (I.e. does WiFi analyzer detect a microwave oven being on).
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2015, 18:04   #5309
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: KA03
Posts: 224
Thanked: 199 Times
Default Re: The Home Appliance thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post

...
I would do a scan to see if it is the case with recent ovens (I.e. does WiFi analyzer detect a microwave oven being on).
Thanks NetfreakBombay.
Not sure how WiFi Analyzer works (And I dont know much about electronics).
From what I'm guessing, it is scanning all the channels and is simply stating what the WiFi chip on the phone is reporting. Don't know if it the chip is looking at all the frequencies (in an analog sort of way). May be someone who is familiar with the workings of the WiFi chip vs an analog RF detection device can throw some light(pun intended).

Last edited by mvadg : 7th July 2015 at 18:06.
mvadg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2015, 18:20   #5310
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,867 Times
Default Re: The Home Appliance thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
I recollect that Microwave ovens did interfere with WiFi in past. ...
Sir, he didn't switch the microwave on - he just closed the door with his cellphone inside, and pinged it!

Both the ovens I have are 900MHz (yes, I am an old man). I haven't detected interference with wifi when the microwave was working and I was sitting near it. But, I wouldn't disbelieve the possibility or existence of interference - it is totally dependent on the grating on the glass and other leakage paths.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Home Construction/Makeover/Maintenance Thread Latheesh Shifting gears 578 18th August 2017 11:24
Building a truck camper : Home away from home DKG Modifications & Accessories 140 18th February 2016 18:40
Bringing home the Mahindra Scorpio LX. EDIT : Scorpio finds a new home! benbsb29 Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports 168 8th January 2015 11:22
Joining a domain: XP home Vista Home Premium johy Shifting gears 0 22nd November 2007 17:14
Home Audio thread with inputs from the ICE forum gunbir Gadgets, Computers & Software 13 3rd August 2006 11:45


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:48.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks