Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 1st October 2008, 17:07   #106
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,629
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

There is no point in fighting right now.
Take it this way that its good that with Rs. 6000 you will get it repaired and that thing will work properly and you dont have to spend another Rs. 18000 to get a new machine.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2008, 21:46   #107
Senior - BHPian
 
AbhiJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 1,282
Thanked: 415 Times
Default

A DIY suggestion...if you are willing

Have the drum taken out by a technician.

Araldite /Epoxy Adhesive + 24 hrs

Then re install..
AbhiJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2008, 01:07   #108
Senior - BHPian
 
wanderernomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chandigarh
Posts: 2,355
Thanked: 754 Times
Default

Thanks guys, I am thinking about the DIY. No harm in trying, eh? If it doesnt work out we can always get it repaired. Ill work out the "off record" thing as well with the tech.
wanderernomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2008, 13:07   #109
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 594
Thanked: 29 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wanderernomad View Post
Thanks guys, I am thinking about the DIY. No harm in trying, eh? If it doesnt work out we can always get it repaired. Ill work out the "off record" thing as well with the tech.
Check the tech for DIY approach I think he may provide you valuable inputs
In fact he can tell/provide good adhesive for the drum
aka_iitd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2008, 13:22   #110
Senior - BHPian
 
kb100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangy Boy!
Posts: 1,554
Thanked: 14 Times
Default Voltage Stabilisers

Friends

Most of us have/use electronic equipment at home that need protection. I am in the market for a good stabiliser for my HT setup. Can the knowledgeable please shed some light !!

Is this any good?

APC - Line-R - Product Information
kb100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2008, 22:48   #111
Senior - BHPian
 
kb100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangy Boy!
Posts: 1,554
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Guys... I REALLY need a good voltage stabiliser - Current setup is hooked to a VGuard Stabiliser and I read here on the forum that its trash.

I am planning to invest in a new plasma + HT setup.

Please advice!


Last edited by kb100 : 24th October 2008 at 22:55.
kb100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2008, 23:05   #112
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kochi
Posts: 2,147
Thanked: 142 Times
Default

And, pray, what is wrong with vguard? I would trust a home grown stabiliser to any non-Indian brand, simply because Indian brands are experienced in dealing with voltages like 110V, 48Hz!!!
BaCkSeAtDrIVeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2008, 23:05   #113
BHPian
 
Shakensoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: AS01
Posts: 492
Thanked: 220 Times
Default

APC will be good but expensive.

You can also try Logicstat if its available in your city.

Logicstat on the Web: Leading Manufacturer of Voltage Stabilizers in India
Shakensoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2008, 23:15   #114
Senior - BHPian
 
kb100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangy Boy!
Posts: 1,554
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BaCkSeAtDrIVeR View Post
And, pray, what is wrong with vguard? I would trust a home grown stabiliser to any non-Indian brand, simply because Indian brands are experienced in dealing with voltages like 110V, 48Hz!!!
That is what I thought too - I fact all my stabilisers are vGuard.

Apparently someone who hooked it up to a scope found the raw power cleaner! (in the LCD thread)

Under the circumstances I just wanted to ensure I get the maximum 'Sane' level of protection for the equipment I am proposing to buy in ten days!

Last edited by kb100 : 24th October 2008 at 23:17.
kb100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2008, 23:22   #115
BHPian
 
mura's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 181
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

If you are getting a Plasma + a serious HT setup with AVR and Powered Subwoofer get a 3 or 5 KVA Servo Stabiliser. Do NOT get electronic/CVT type stabilisers and do NOT Connect them to your home inverter.
mura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2008, 09:55   #116
BHPian
 
sixthsense's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 72
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mura View Post
If you are getting a Plasma + a serious HT setup with AVR and Powered Subwoofer get a 3 or 5 KVA Servo Stabiliser. Do NOT get electronic/CVT type stabilisers and do NOT Connect them to your home inverter.
Is there any harm if i run my HT on inverter ? the area i live in has frequent disruptions in electric power supply. Now the sole purpose of purchasing an 800VA inverter was to watch uninterrupted television.
sixthsense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2008, 11:05   #117
BHPian
 
MuzzledMoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: THRISSUR
Posts: 185
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Modern Devices does not need a voltage stabiliser. Just a surge protector is enough. Most modern equipments have switch mode power supply which can take universal input. SO just get a surge protector device and have peace of mind.
MuzzledMoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2008, 11:32   #118
Senior - BHPian
 
headers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greater Chennai
Posts: 4,548
Thanked: 424 Times
Default

depends on what you want to use that stabliser. Ensure that the stabiliser gives a full sine wave. There are a lot of cheap devices that give a quasi sine wave that spoils your purpose.
headers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2008, 14:14   #119
BHPian
 
dash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 58
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by headers View Post
depends on what you want to use that stabliser. Ensure that the stabiliser gives a full sine wave. There are a lot of cheap devices that give a quasi sine wave that spoils your purpose.
I have bought a plasma tv and looking to buy a 500VA V-Gaurd stabilizer. Can any one suggest if this would be sufficient or should I be looking for any other rating stabilizer? Pls. advise
dash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2008, 17:49   #120
Senior - BHPian
 
headers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greater Chennai
Posts: 4,548
Thanked: 424 Times
Default

check the power rating of the plasma tv and decide on the stabiliser accordingly.
headers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Home Construction/Makeover/Maintenance Thread Latheesh Shifting gears 581 21st August 2017 18:36
Building a truck camper : Home away from home DKG Modifications & Accessories 140 18th February 2016 18:40
Bringing home the Mahindra Scorpio LX. EDIT : Scorpio finds a new home! benbsb29 Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports 168 8th January 2015 11:22
Joining a domain: XP home Vista Home Premium johy Shifting gears 0 22nd November 2007 17:14
Home Audio thread with inputs from the ICE forum gunbir Gadgets, Computers & Software 13 3rd August 2006 11:45


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 04:37.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks