Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 8th September 2010, 22:03   #1321
BHPian
 
archat68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 678
Thanked: 185 Times
Default

The calstrait thing is just BS. Magnetism has no effect on water hardness. If it contains some Ion-exchange resin then it's O.K. BTW Aquaguard people do sell one Iron remover addon for Aquaguard - don't know how much is the output capacity before you have change the resin.
archat68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2010, 00:12   #1322
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kochi
Posts: 2,147
Thanked: 142 Times
Default

Boy!!! hardly 24 hours since my last post, and so much posts here!!! Was The Yeti here??

Quote:
Originally Posted by condor View Post
@BSD, may be there is something wrong with the electricals of that particular WM. Try and analyze how much time it used in a month, the load it generates - and hence how many KWH it should consume in a month.
The IFB front loader is used far more than the Godrej top loader.

The IFB does have a heater, and it used most of time, as is set to 40 to 60 deg depending on what is being washed.

Quote:
you mean at your in-law's place, right ?
Thanks - I unconsiously translated the colloquial usage "bharya veedu".

Quote:
Originally Posted by amohit View Post
I bought it last month only. So, no service request so far. We have used it for 3 times so far.
What was the price?

I saw a couple fo brands on the net. What is this "wheat germ extractor" thing?

We want whole wheat atta. No "maida".

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghodlur View Post
Adding to this debate and apart from the electricity, would it be possible to stop the front loading machine in between the wash cycles and remove the clothes incase something is mistakenly kept say shirt pockets. I doubt that but it can be done in the top loading, no chances of spillage.
I have added clothes to the top loader when it is running. At some stages, the machine switches itself off if the lid is opened.

But, this is an inconsequential feature / convenience.

Quote:
Originally Posted by condor View Post
Reg the heater, I dont think @BSD mentioned either of those machines having a heater. So I'll assume neither has it. And this makes it even more surprising to see that high a electricity bill.
See above. IFB has a heater, and it is used. The top loader does not have a heater.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
Front loaders do not use much water.
True. Mother had measured this.

Water expelled from the IFB was measured - it was set to "rinse / soak"etc. cycle, which takes maximum time.

It expelled less than 4 buckets of water.

The top loader took 3 buckets of water for each stage - 3 or 4 stages, depending on the mode used. (do not remember).

The shortest type of wash program in the top loader took 3 times more water than longest type of wash program on a front loader.

Both the machines were 4.5 KG.

Reg the power ratings and consumption etc, will have to rummage through the old papers. Will post them as soon as Ifind them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aroy View Post
In over 10 years of using a front loader I have yet to come across such a case. We regularly wash handkerchiefs and small pieces of clothes. At times we do find coins in the filter ahead of the drain pump but nothing else.
I have noticed this cloth bag thing in user manuals of most latest models from samsung and LG (available for download from respective sites).

We do not use it either in the IFB or the top loader.

aargee - thanks for pointing out the link to Whirlpool front loader.

Last edited by BaCkSeAtDrIVeR : 9th September 2010 at 00:15.
BaCkSeAtDrIVeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2010, 10:08   #1323
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Delhi
Posts: 2,110
Thanked: 984 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BaCkSeAtDrIVeR View Post
Boy!!! hardly 24 hours since my last post, and so much posts here!!! Was The Yeti here??

I have noticed this cloth bag thing in user manuals of most latest models from samsung and LG (available for download from respective sites).

We do not use it either in the IFB or the top loader.

aargee - thanks for pointing out the link to Whirlpool front loader.
Firstly for any small piece to get outside the drum points to either shoddy manufacturing or a design fault. It may be easier for small things to find their way out in a top loader, as all they have to do is travel down. Front loader drum is horizontal with no outlet except the perforations on it.

The cloth bag funda as I see it, is to prevent small long pieces from entangling rather than finding their way out of the drum. When we wash the Dog Leash and Canvas Shoes we put them in a bag or wrap a towel around. This prevents them from banging around. Also laces and leash tie themselves into fantastic knots if left out of the bag!
Aroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2010, 21:40   #1324
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kochi
Posts: 2,147
Thanked: 142 Times
Default Shopping day 2.

Went to a different shop in quest of my next washing machine today.

The LG 9 / 5.5 KG washer dryer is quoted at 64K without discounts; was told I can expect a discount of 7K. I guess this is the model.

LG F-1403RDS29 Washer Dryer Combos - 9Kg/5 Kg Inverter Direct Drive Washer Dryer,Apple Red, Allery Care, Steam Refresh, Intensive Wash, Medic Rinse, Baby Care, Tub Clean, Cupboard Dry, Iron Dry, Eco dry, Time Dry, Less temperature - LG Electronics IN

Was told that LG does not have any other model. But, check this:-

LG Washer Dryer Combos - Top Loading, Semi Automatic Washing Machines

Obviously, there is a spelling mistake somewhere. :-D

Was shown two samsung models too - but this shop did not have the samsung washer / dryer combo.

This is what I am almost sold on.

6.5Kg fully automatic - WD-7652C8 - Front Loading - Washing Machine | SAMSUNG

Did not have whirlpool front loaders too. (Probably, did not see - they showed only the specific brands we asked for).

Did not bother looking at IFB, Siements and Haier - the other brands they had.
BaCkSeAtDrIVeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2010, 09:00   #1325
Senior - BHPian
 
aargee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KATN
Posts: 4,672
Thanked: 2,019 Times
Default

@BSD - LG is good, no doubt. But from my experience, just take a look on Whirlpool too; from my recent experience, their process is really good. The product may fail, but the service should be seamless to get back the product up & running soon.

Quote:
Did not bother looking at IFB, Siements and Haier - the other brands they had.
May be you need to look at the exorbitantly costing Siemens.
aargee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2010, 09:14   #1326
BHPian
 
archat68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 678
Thanked: 185 Times
Default

@BSD
If you don't have space constraint better go for separate WM and dryer. Will cost you same but you will get a larger capacity dryer. The standalone dryers are wall mountable too. You can install the dryer on top of your WM (front loading of course).

Last edited by archat68 : 12th September 2010 at 09:16.
archat68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2010, 15:14   #1327
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Delhi
Posts: 2,110
Thanked: 984 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aargee View Post
@BSD
May be you need to look at the exorbitantly costing Siemens.
Our first WM was a Siemens rebranded as Sumeet. It ran perfectly for ten years till the motor burnt out, and was replaced by an IFB about ten years ago. I think that the controller for both is same.

As long as the controller is electro-mechanical it can be easily repaired. But a fully electronic controller leaves you at the mercy of the manufacturers. Same as cars with an ECU, and without.
Aroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2010, 21:49   #1328
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kochi
Posts: 2,147
Thanked: 142 Times
Default

@archat, usage for the dryer function would be very sparse. As it is, drying performance is reasonable. What I am looking for is to save some time during monsoons, when spun dry clothes take 2-3 hours of hanging out in the air to get good driness.

Using the drying function of a regular basis is a sure fire way to empty one's pockets.

The Samsung model I mentioend has onlly 95% drying.

Does anybody here use the "bubble wash" feature on samsungs? Is it of any use?
BaCkSeAtDrIVeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2010, 22:20   #1329
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Delhi
Posts: 2,110
Thanked: 984 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BaCkSeAtDrIVeR View Post
@archat, usage for the dryer function would be very sparse. As it is, drying performance is reasonable. What I am looking for is to save some time during monsoons, when spun dry clothes take 2-3 hours of hanging out in the air to get good driness.

Using the drying function of a regular basis is a sure fire way to empty one's pockets.
Try what we used to do twenty years back in Delhi winters.

- Take a clothes horse (Aluminum frame structure)
- Hang all your clothes on it
- use a room heater (one with a fan in it) positioned at the bottom, pointing up.

Your clothes will dry out very fast. You can experiment with the the heater speed to get optimum drying time.
Aroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2010, 20:14   #1330
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kochi
Posts: 2,147
Thanked: 142 Times
Default

Does anybody use a voltage stabiliser for their Washing Machine?

After discussing my washing machine issue with some colleauges, wife says that some of them are using voltage stabiliser with their front loaders.

If so, what should be the capacity?


This one says 1.425 KW/H/wash.

http://www.sihomes.com/home.htm

Cannot find similar info for LG.

Last edited by BaCkSeAtDrIVeR : 20th September 2010 at 20:22.
BaCkSeAtDrIVeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2010, 20:19   #1331
Senior - BHPian
 
aargee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KATN
Posts: 4,672
Thanked: 2,019 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BaCkSeAtDrIVeR View Post
Does anybody use a voltage stabiliser for their Washing Machine?
Whoa!!! What's this I'm hearing? Boy!!! We've 2 IFB's in our family, one at MVPA & other at Nagerkovil (previously at EKM), with Nagerkovil more prone to electricity failures & low voltage. Still the IFB has not shown any complaints. It was bought atleast 2 years ago.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BaCkSeAtDrIVeR View Post
After discussing my washing machine issue with some colleauges, wife says that some of them are using voltage stabiliser with their front loaders.
Do you really need one?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BaCkSeAtDrIVeR View Post
If so, what should be the capacity?
What's the consumption of the WM? My guess would be 1KV stabilizer.
aargee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2010, 20:36   #1332
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kochi
Posts: 2,147
Thanked: 142 Times
Default

aargee - thanks. You took only 4 minutes.

Obviously, dealers are palming off "accessories" on unsuspecting buyers.

In fact, last time my IFB conked off, the heater control failed. The technicial attributed it to voltage fluctuation. Bleh!!! My computer and TV are on most of time, thanks to kids, and nothing happens to them. Ok, the comp has a UPS and SMPS, but the TV is simply plugged in to a wall socket. I chucked the stabiliser palmed off on my unsuspecting wife just before marriage.
BaCkSeAtDrIVeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2010, 20:44   #1333
Senior - BHPian
 
aargee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KATN
Posts: 4,672
Thanked: 2,019 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BaCkSeAtDrIVeR View Post
but the TV is simply plugged in to a wall socket. I chucked the stabiliser palmed off on my unsuspecting wife just before marriage.
Well, now days the TV & refrigerators have built in stabilizers, so cannot much attribute the voltage flucts to TV.

But a stabilizier for a WM is something totally unheard. Anyway, if you've decided to go in for one, you know nothing beats VGuard.

But just check the consumption of the WM in the tech spec. My guess is for front loaders, it should be more than 900W, so ideal one would be a KV's stabilizer; I could be wrong though.

One more suggestion is to call up the manufacturer & hear their opinion without mentioning the word - stabilizer & instead asking them like if they've any built in mechanism for voltage fluctuations. You know better.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BaCkSeAtDrIVeR View Post
aargee - thanks. You took only 4 minutes
Happy to help friends

Last edited by aargee : 20th September 2010 at 20:45.
aargee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2010, 20:53   #1334
Distinguished - BHPian
 
condor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Speed-brkr City
Posts: 10,518
Thanked: 3,985 Times
Default

Quote:
aargee (The Home Appliance thread) : My guess is for front loaders, it should be more than 900W, so ideal one would be a KV's stabilizer; I could be wrong though.
1 KV ? How did you calculate this ?
condor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2010, 21:03   #1335
Senior - BHPian
 
aargee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KATN
Posts: 4,672
Thanked: 2,019 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by condor View Post
1 KV ? How did you calculate this ?
@Condor - Like I said before, its only a guess & I could be 101% wrong too. We've a 1 ton AC & the power consumption is 940W & its fitted with 1 KV stabilizer. The front loaders consumes about 900-1300 watts & hence the guess.
aargee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Home Construction/Makeover/Maintenance Thread Latheesh Shifting gears 632 19th October 2017 02:56
Building a truck camper : Home away from home DKG Modifications & Accessories 140 18th February 2016 18:40
Bringing home the Mahindra Scorpio LX. EDIT : Scorpio finds a new home! benbsb29 Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports 168 8th January 2015 11:22
Joining a domain: XP home Vista Home Premium johy Shifting gears 0 22nd November 2007 17:14
Home Audio thread with inputs from the ICE forum gunbir Gadgets, Computers & Software 13 3rd August 2006 11:45


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 14:23.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks