Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 19th March 2009, 00:27   #106
Senior - BHPian
 
Nitin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 3,301
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

Computer gurus,please help!

My hard drive crashed a while ago,and I need to reorder a new one.I'm looking at the 500GB Western Digital hard drive. I have a Dell Dimension 2350 (5 years old).
eCOST.com-Western Digital 500GB Caviar SE Internal Hard Drive - WD5000AAJS - Western Digital WD5000AAJS (Internal Storage) - eCOST.com - electronics, computers, laptops, mp3 players

I'm trying to figure out if this hard drive will be compatible with the Dell system.I haven't had a chance to talk to Dell yet,but I'll do so this week. In the mean time,I was wondering if anyone has this unit,or if they've had any experience in fixing the HD on Dell systems.

More about the unit:
Dell Dimension 2350
Nitin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2009, 01:17   #107
BHPian
 
mohit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Toronto / Kurukshetra
Posts: 640
Thanked: 119 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitin View Post
Computer gurus,please help!

My hard drive crashed a while ago,and I need to reorder a new one.I'm looking at the 500GB Western Digital hard drive. I have a Dell Dimension 2350 (5 years old).
eCOST.com-Western Digital 500GB Caviar SE Internal Hard Drive - WD5000AAJS - Western Digital WD5000AAJS (Internal Storage) - eCOST.com - electronics, computers, laptops, mp3 players

I'm trying to figure out if this hard drive will be compatible with the Dell system.I haven't had a chance to talk to Dell yet,but I'll do so this week. In the mean time,I was wondering if anyone has this unit,or if they've had any experience in fixing the HD on Dell systems.

More about the unit:
Dell Dimension 2350
The only issue I see here is that you desktop may not have a SATA port. Dell should be able to show you the config of the machine given its maintenance tag.
mohit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2009, 02:01   #108
Senior - BHPian
 
Nitin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 3,301
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mohit View Post
The only issue I see here is that you desktop may not have a SATA port. Dell should be able to show you the config of the machine given its maintenance tag.
I haven't been able to figure out if the system has a SATA cable.I'll try to get the necessary info from Dell, and then get an opinion on what type of HD to get. Thanks for your input, Mohit.
Nitin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2009, 04:15   #109
BHPian
 
mohit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Toronto / Kurukshetra
Posts: 640
Thanked: 119 Times
Default

Dell Page for Dimension 2350
Looks like it has only IDE. You are better off looking for IDE drives. Some models here:

Newegg.com - Computer Hardware,Hard Drives,Internal Hard Drives,IDE Ultra ATA100,

You can search for the best price.
mohit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2009, 07:20   #110
Senior - BHPian
 
Nitin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 3,301
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

That looks like it,Mohit. Its deinitely not a SATA cable in the CPU.

A 500GB HD with SATA costs just about $50, but with the IDE a 500MB HD is almost $75. Anyways,I've got to get whats compatible,so no highway option available.
Nitin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2009, 07:25   #111
BHPian
 
mohit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Toronto / Kurukshetra
Posts: 640
Thanked: 119 Times
Default

Check monoprice.com for PCI to SATA adapters. You just may be able to save some money!

For only $6.08 each when QTY 50+ purchased - IDE ATA-133 HDD to Serial ATA SATA Converter with SATA cable and Power cable | IDE / SATA Adapter

Save some money here!!

Last edited by khan_sultan : 19th March 2009 at 09:47.
mohit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2009, 20:44   #112
BHPian
 
JMaruru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 518
Thanked: 97 Times
Default BSOD & 0x000000F4(0x00000003,0x89B343C0,0x89B34534,0x805C 8C88)

Folks,

On my dell inspiron 6000 laptop, got BSOD with the error message 0x000000F4(0x00000003,0x89B343C0,0x89B34534,0x805C 8C88).

Does anyone know more about this ? Please advise.
This is my 4 year old laptop, and am out of warranty.
JMaruru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2009, 21:17   #113
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

please list the crash error in details.

before above code any particular file name or quote mentioned.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2009, 21:40   #114
BHPian
 
JMaruru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 518
Thanked: 97 Times
Default BSOD & 0x000000F4

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
please list the crash error in details.

before above code any particular file name or quote mentioned.
It said something to the effect of a process or thread crucial to the system has been unexpectedly exited or terminated.
JMaruru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2009, 21:53   #115
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

its very unclear from above given codes.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2009, 13:34   #116
BHPian
 
JMaruru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 518
Thanked: 97 Times
Default 120 GB IDE Laptop HDD in b'lore ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by anupmathur View Post
To be safe, go for 120 GB.
Folks, i am finding it tough to procure a 120GB IDE 2.5" laptop HDD in bangalore. Please advise.
JMaruru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2009, 14:03   #117
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,079
Thanked: 251 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMaruru View Post
Folks, i am finding it tough to procure a 120GB IDE 2.5" laptop HDD in bangalore. Please advise.
But that's the IT capital of the country!

I bought a 160 GB IDE 2.5 inch drive just three months back in Delhi.
anupmathur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2009, 14:22   #118
BHPian
 
JMaruru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 518
Thanked: 97 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anupmathur View Post
But that's the IT capital of the country!

I bought a 160 GB IDE 2.5 inch drive just three months back in Delhi.
This is about 120GB IDE 2.5" laptop HDD.. 160GB IDE 2.5" is easily available in b'lore. This was about LBA issue and the advise to go for 120GB HDD.

How much did you pay for 160GB IDE 2.5" ?

Last edited by JMaruru : 11th April 2009 at 14:24.
JMaruru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2009, 15:45   #119
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMaruru View Post
This is about 120GB IDE 2.5" laptop HDD.. 160GB IDE 2.5" is easily available in b'lore. This was about LBA issue and the advise to go for 120GB HDD.

How much did you pay for 160GB IDE 2.5" ?
what laptop you are plonking this in. cpu/chipset please??

BTW the chipset that takes 120gb will definitely take 160 or even 250gb.

check this site from down south.

http://www.deltapage.com/
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2009, 15:58   #120
BHPian
 
JMaruru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 518
Thanked: 97 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
what laptop you are plonking this in. cpu/chipset please??

BTW the chipset that takes 120gb will definitely take 160 or even 250gb.

check this site from down south.

http://www.deltapage.com/
This is about 48-bit LBA issue and the limit of 137GB. I am on 2GHz Centrino and Intel 915GM chipset. How can i know whether this combination supports 160GB HDD ?

BTW, the deltapage doesn't have 120GB IDE HDD.

Last edited by JMaruru : 11th April 2009 at 16:00.
JMaruru is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB Hard Disk to Home Theater autoenthusiast Gadgets, Computers & Software 0 20th August 2008 21:36
Help to fix my hard disk in my car raajsree In-Car Entertainment 2 30th June 2008 00:37
Need Urgent "HELP" on Hard-Disk ramie2400 Gadgets, Computers & Software 21 31st May 2008 17:34
How to ADD a Hard Disk partition in Vista kb100 Gadgets, Computers & Software 21 14th May 2008 21:13
Help: DVD rip to hard disk v1p3r Shifting gears 25 11th January 2006 18:33


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 15:17.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks