Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11th April 2009, 18:54   #121
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,079
Thanked: 251 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
BTW the chipset that takes 120gb will definitely take 160 or even 250gb.
SirAlec, that is not correct. The 48-bit LBA problem kicks in.
anupmathur is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2009, 19:30   #122
Senior - BHPian
 
ImmortalZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 2,133
Thanked: 137 Times
Default

Your chipset supports LBA 48 bit. However, your motherboard needs a BIOS that supports the feature. This however, does not exist.

There is a way out for you though.

The IDE driver in Windows 2000 SP3 and Windows XP SP1 (and later) natively supports 48-bit LBA so it doesn't matter if your BIOS doesn't support it.

If you boot using a Windows XP RTM CD or a Windows 2000 SP2 CD with a 160GB HDD, when choosing the drive or partition to install Windows to, the drive is displayed as something like 131072 MB (128GB or 137 decimal gigabytes). But if you use an XP SP2 disc or 2000 SP4 CD it shows 152625MB - the correct size. You can then proceed to install and use the full capacity of the HDD.

If you wish to make a XP SP2 WinXP CD from your disc, follow The Elder Geek guide here.

EDIT : Looks like you are already running SP3. You should be all clear.
EDIT 2 : Make sure no single partition exceeds 137GB.

Last edited by ImmortalZ : 11th April 2009 at 19:39.
ImmortalZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2009, 20:00   #123
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,079
Thanked: 251 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmortalZ View Post
The IDE driver in Windows 2000 SP3 and Windows XP SP1 (and later) natively supports 48-bit LBA so it doesn't matter if your BIOS doesn't support it.
I'm still not sure about this. All went as expected with my Sony VAIO FRP825 Laptop and XPproSP2 got installed. New 160 GB HDD recognized and utilized.

Then, an unexpected problem! Everything was working in slow motion!
Tried everything I could find through Google. No go.
Plonked in an old 80 GB HDD into the laptop and reinstalled XPproSP2.
Everything A-OK!
anupmathur is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2009, 20:34   #124
Senior - BHPian
 
ImmortalZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 2,133
Thanked: 137 Times
Default

*shrug*

Plonked a 250GB HDD into a five year old Acer Aspire and it worked beautifully as long as I kept partitions below 128GB size.

P.S : You need the latest chipset drivers.

Last edited by ImmortalZ : 11th April 2009 at 20:35.
ImmortalZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2009, 20:55   #125
BHPian
 
JMaruru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 518
Thanked: 97 Times
Default 48 LBA issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmortalZ View Post
EDIT : Looks like you are already running SP3. You should be all clear.
EDIT 2 : Make sure no single partition exceeds 137GB.
Yes, I would be running XP SP3 and i can ensure no single partition exceeds 137GB. Does this ensure there would be no issues henceforth ? If so, i can go in for 160GB IDE HDD.
JMaruru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2009, 20:57   #126
Senior - BHPian
 
ImmortalZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 2,133
Thanked: 137 Times
Default

128GB. Was a typing mistake of mine in the earlier post.

And yes, you should be just fine. Make sure you have the latest Intel chipset drivers.
ImmortalZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2009, 22:18   #127
BHPian
 
JMaruru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 518
Thanked: 97 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmortalZ View Post
128GB. Was a typing mistake of mine in the earlier post.

And yes, you should be just fine. Make sure you have the latest Intel chipset drivers.
Ok. I shall keep the partitions under 128GB.

I am on intel 915GM chipset and i have the dell drivers CD which came along with the laptop and i shall be using the same, when i load the new 160GB HDD.

Hope this should be fine.

Last edited by JMaruru : 11th April 2009 at 22:20.
JMaruru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2009, 22:23   #128
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

there is a simple but a risky solution to this.

just upgrade the bios. can you name the model (be specific please)
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2009, 22:34   #129
BHPian
 
JMaruru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 518
Thanked: 97 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
there is a simple but a risky solution to this.

just upgrade the bios. can you name the model (be specific please)
I have upgraded the bios recently from version A07 to A09(couple of months back), when i faced some issues on the heat sink.

The laptop model is dell inspiron 6000 bought in states in september 2005.
JMaruru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2009, 14:38   #130
Senior - BHPian
 
ImmortalZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 2,133
Thanked: 137 Times
Default

The Inspiron 6000 doesn't have a LBA48 compatible BIOS to update to.

Get the latest chipset drivers from Intel's website.
ImmortalZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2009, 15:18   #131
BHPian
 
JMaruru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 518
Thanked: 97 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmortalZ View Post
The Inspiron 6000 doesn't have a LBA48 compatible BIOS to update to.

Get the latest chipset drivers from Intel's website.
Does this mean, 160GB HDD is not compatible with my laptop ?
JMaruru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2009, 16:14   #132
Senior - BHPian
 
ImmortalZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 2,133
Thanked: 137 Times
Default

I was replying to SirAlec. If you had a BIOS to update to, you wouldn't have the partition size limitation or the requirement for WinXP SP2 or better. You can plonk the 160GB in and use it without any problems as long as your OS is the above and you adhere to the partition size limitations.
ImmortalZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2009, 01:50   #133
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMaruru View Post
Does this mean, 160GB HDD is not compatible with my laptop ?
exactly! just went through various forums that i contribute to. Sorry! you have to stick to 120 or lesser hdd.

as this model will not have any updates.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2009, 07:14   #134
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,079
Thanked: 251 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
exactly! just went through various forums that i contribute to. Sorry! you have to stick to 120 or lesser hdd.

as this model will not have any updates.
Exactly what I encountered with my old Sony!
This is what I had posted earlier:
Quote:
Originally Posted by anupmathur View Post
All went as expected with my Sony VAIO FRP825 Laptop and XPproSP2 got installed. New 160 GB HDD recognized and fully utilized.

Then, an unexpected problem! Everything was working in slow motion!
anupmathur is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2009, 08:54   #135
Senior - BHPian
 
ImmortalZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 2,133
Thanked: 137 Times
Default

Well fine. I guess my laptop has a magic elf in it just making the 250GB HDD work fine without a LBA48 bit addressing compatible BIOS.

I'll say this for the last time. You can use whatever size HDD in your laptop without the BIOS support as long as you have a WinXP SP2 or later OS and partition sizes less than 128GB.
ImmortalZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB Hard Disk to Home Theater autoenthusiast Gadgets, Computers & Software 0 20th August 2008 21:36
Help to fix my hard disk in my car raajsree In-Car Entertainment 2 30th June 2008 00:37
Need Urgent "HELP" on Hard-Disk ramie2400 Gadgets, Computers & Software 21 31st May 2008 17:34
How to ADD a Hard Disk partition in Vista kb100 Gadgets, Computers & Software 21 14th May 2008 21:13
Help: DVD rip to hard disk v1p3r Shifting gears 25 11th January 2006 18:33


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:37.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks