Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th May 2007, 11:17   #1
Team-BHP Support
 
benbsb29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 7,971
Thanked: 3,388 Times
Default Help !! DVD player plays the frames slow

I have a LG CD writer, cum DVD player on my PC. While just about a year old, it started behaving strangely. When playing a VCD or a DVD in it, the frames move really slowly on the screen. However, if i copy the video from the VCD onto the hard disk and play it, there is no issue at all. Its impossible to play songs too from CDs.

While initially i thought it was a hardware problem with the player, I plugged it to my friends PC and it played perfectly there for the same CD/DVD i had problems at my end.

I dunno if it has anything to do with the available RAM space, which is a 256MB.

Could anyone help me troubleshoot as to what seems to be the problem.
Thanks a lot in advance.

Cheers,
Benny.
benbsb29 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2007, 11:26   #2
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 529
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

i also had this problem few months back.

reinstall your Video Drivers and DUDE upgrade ur RAM...
Min 512MB anything below this is like having a Pulser Fuel Injuction(i wish) on an F1 Car(lol).

Jokes Apart Upgrade ur RAM ASAP...
zulfikar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2007, 11:30   #3
BHPian
 
navdeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 885
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Just to add.. 256MB is sufficient RAM to play your DVDs. Try cleaning your lens.
navdeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2007, 11:32   #4
Team-BHP Support
 
benbsb29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 7,971
Thanked: 3,388 Times
Default

@Zulfikar : Since the PC is only for home usage (no net connection even), i felt a 256MB would suffice. However, this problem never existed during the first 6 months of usage on the same configuration !!

@navdeep : I connected the same player to my friends PC which showed no problems at all. If there was an issue with the lens (hardware) wouldnt that show up there too?

Last edited by benbsb29 : 4th May 2007 at 11:33.
benbsb29 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2007, 11:40   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

check the DMA setting for your dvd drive.....
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2007, 11:42   #6
BHPian
 
navdeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 885
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by benbsb29 View Post
wouldnt that show up there too?
Yes you are correct.
  1. May be you installed some software which may have corrupted drivers/registry. Try uninstalling that.
  2. Try some alternate player ( software ) eg: PowerDVD.
  3. Install your graphic card again ( if you can do that ).
navdeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2007, 11:42   #7
Team-BHP Support
 
benbsb29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 7,971
Thanked: 3,388 Times
Default

@LBM : how do i go about that? Detailed instructions awaited.


Quote:
- May be you installed some software which may have corrupted drivers/registry. Try uninstalling that.
- Try some alternate player ( software ) eg: PowerDVD.
@Navdeep : I have installed innumerous softwares since. I dont think i even remember. Any other way out? As regarding PowerDVD, that may work for the DVDs. However, i also mentioned the same problem exists when i try playing a normal VCD in Media Player.

Last edited by benbsb29 : 4th May 2007 at 11:47.
benbsb29 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2007, 11:53   #8
BHPian
 
navdeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 885
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by benbsb29 View Post
@LBM : how do i go about that? Detailed instructions awaited.
DMA setting are not much of use these days ( I guess ).

Quote:
I have installed innumerous softwares since. I dont think i even remember. Any other way out?
Any software related graphics like games.

Quote:
As regarding PowerDVD, that may work for the DVDs. However, i also mentioned the same problem exists when i try playing a normal VCD in Media Player.
Its just a normal player. You can play DVDs,VCDs etc.


Did you installed any new video codecs - Google Search ?
navdeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2007, 11:55   #9
BHPian
 
navdeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 885
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Only install softwares ( including games ) only if you are really going to use them else they make your system slower and you end up re-installing OS - Just a suggestion/tip
navdeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2007, 12:00   #10
Team-BHP Support
 
benbsb29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 7,971
Thanked: 3,388 Times
Default

I did install Sudoku, but the problem existed much earlier. Dont actually remember.

Would it be fine if i just install Service Pack 2 for XP? Wouldnt that take care of all the drivers?
benbsb29 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2007, 12:11   #11
BHPian
 
navdeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 885
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by benbsb29 View Post
Would it be fine if i just install Service Pack 2 for XP? Wouldnt that take care of all the drivers?
SP2 for XP is quite reco . No harm in trying that.

Sudoku is not expected to be much graphics oriented so that may be ruled out.

Check add/remove prog if any codecs have been installed.
navdeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2007, 12:59   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
rjstyles69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bengalooru..
Posts: 4,343
Thanked: 784 Times
Default

benbsb, looks more like a codec problem. Why dont you download and install the complete k-lite codec package.
Do upgrade the RAM if you still running it on 256 MB.
rjstyles69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2007, 13:31   #13
Team-BHP Support
 
benbsb29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 7,971
Thanked: 3,388 Times
Default

@navdeep, risty : Thanks guys, shall download the codecs, and check if the problem gets resolved.
benbsb29 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2007, 16:21   #14
BHPian
 
cheap_deal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: unknown
Posts: 463
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

hey ben, instead of downloading different codecs, just install vlc media player. it plays everything!!
also dvds which are choppy for me on win media player is better on VLC
cheap_deal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2007, 16:30   #15
Team-BHP Support
 
benbsb29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 7,971
Thanked: 3,388 Times
Default

@cheap_deal : Do you think its actually a problem with the media player?
I haev heard good about VLC, but the problem here seems different. The phenomenon is not only restricted to playing DVDs, but also VCDs and songs. In short, all output from the hardware.

Just a shot.. but does anyone feel this could be a problem with the data cables involved? Why i feel so is because when sending inputs to the player, such as for burning a CD, there seems to be no effect at all, and all is well. When output is awaited, thats where the problem starts.
benbsb29 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY: Multimedia player for a car's DVD player narendra.vw In-Car Entertainment 12 6th November 2015 19:49
Is it 2 Player(MP3 Player & DVD player) Possible in my i10? camon In-Car Entertainment 4 17th October 2010 11:35
Low cost HU that plays DVD Audio headers In-Car Entertainment 22 17th April 2009 12:56
Alpine CD Player or Digital Media Receiver or a Clarion 2 DIN DVD Player ? esteem_lover In-Car Entertainment 36 13th February 2009 12:05
Service centre required for LG CD-player/writer cum DVD player benbsb29 Gadgets, Computers & Software 0 18th January 2007 11:58


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 12:52.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks