Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17th May 2007, 22:55   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,368
Thanked: 383 Times
Default

Update - Itunes still not working. Uninstalled and reinstalled 2 times. same problem.

Its Vista Home Premium. And I had downloaded the itunes installer and saved it to the HD. Installed it from there.

As for the bluetooth problem, tried whatever you guys said. uninstalled and reinstalled Bluetooth , still it kept finding peripheral bluetooth devices, about 6-7 such devices. righ clicked each and disabled them all. After that there has been no problem YET.

What about iTunes ?
normally_crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2007, 23:06   #17
Senior - BHPian
 
merve_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,360
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

try disabling UAC from the control panel security center.

Last edited by merve_extreme : 17th May 2007 at 23:07.
merve_extreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2007, 23:08   #18
BHPian
 
raajks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: BLR
Posts: 578
Thanked: 117 Times
Default

Bluetooth need the widcomm stack re-installed. Reinstall the bluetooth piece from the HP cd. If you have a good broadband connection, goto to the HP site and install the bluetooth drivers.

Itunes - choose the repair option from Add/Remove program - Change-repair... It should reinstall the DLLs and you should be ok.
Run the iTunes from the Program files folder or from the location where you installed it. Dont run it from the start menu

If it prompts for repairing, accept it and proceed.

I have a HP Laptop with Vista, Bluetooth and iTunes run fine for me.
I use iTunes to transfer songs to my Moto Razr v3i
raajks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2007, 00:14   #19
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,368
Thanked: 383 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raajks View Post
Itunes - choose the repair option from Add/Remove program - Change-repair... It should reinstall the DLLs and you should be ok.
Run the iTunes from the Program files folder or from the location where you installed it. Dont run it from the start menu

If it prompts for repairing, accept it and proceed.
Tried the repair option too. Nothing - still the message "iTunes has stopped working"

Just explored a bit and found THIS WINAMP IPOD PLUGIN will try it tomorrow.

Also found Floola - an alternative to iTunes. Will check this out tomorrow too.

Last edited by normally_crazy : 18th May 2007 at 00:15.
normally_crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2007, 01:04   #20
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,368
Thanked: 383 Times
Default

UPDATE - Floola works beautifully.
normally_crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2007, 11:10   #21
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

So still on vista....

anyways what is your computer config on which you are running vista...
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2007, 13:46   #22
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,368
Thanked: 383 Times
Default

UPDATE

The latest release of iTunes - version 7.2 - apparently solves the problem of iTunes and Vista.

have downloaded it , installed and kept it running for the last 4 hours , no problems yet. Seems to run flawlessly on Vista now.

Will update in a couple of days.
normally_crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2007, 00:59   #23
BHPian
 
nitroxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: DXB
Posts: 817
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

N_c VISTA has been facing various issues with the nokia suite and the bluetooth infact the HP pavilions have webcam issues too.Google for it or better yet, switch back like I did and..man am I happy!
nitroxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2007, 01:17   #24
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Ya vista is even boring at games. A friend of mine has vista and vista cant run a game perfectly which requires 900 MHZ processor and 32 MB ram and 16 MB video card lol..

I am still sticking to XP for long long time
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2007, 02:21   #25
BHPian
 
xinome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: I am lost....
Posts: 339
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

well i got the vista ultimate dvd and i am quite happy with it and everything was working fine no problems with anything

i have a athlon 3500+ 939 pin processor
and msi K8NGM2 2gb of corsair rams
and only a 8600+gt.

in the next month i got rid of it because it took longer to copy files or even move them, some games where not working, i cant install my old printers if i wanted too.

i couldnt take it and shifted back to media center!
i suggest sticking to media center until microsoft gets their heads together.
xinome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2007, 12:10   #26
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,368
Thanked: 383 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitroxx View Post
N_c VISTA has been facing various issues with the nokia suite and the bluetooth infact the HP pavilions have webcam issues too.Google for it or better yet, switch back like I did and..man am I happy!
Spot on with the Bluetooth and webcam comments my friend.
normally_crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2007, 09:59   #27
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North America
Posts: 960
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

I've had no problems with itunes so far.
I'm actually quite impressed with the driver support in vista. When I first installed it, it automatically scanned my hardware and installed the drivers for my ATI cards, Logitech webcam etc from the internet. I've never had to install anything later from the CD.
Although running games requires a decent amount of hardware upgrade, I'd say that the games look fantastic on Vista. Both Halo and Halo 2 are beautiful, Halo 2 on Vista looks better than the one on XBOX 360.

Also, if you have the 32-bit version and can't find a driver for your hardware, try installing your 32-bit XP drivers. 90% of the time, they work.
sujaylahiri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vista Discussion Thread normally_crazy Gadgets, Computers & Software 663 2nd December 2014 02:18
Copying large number of folders from windows XP to windows 7 laptop tsk1979 Gadgets, Computers & Software 28 18th June 2010 22:47
Windows reinstalled and few problems ScarySkulls Gadgets, Computers & Software 8 22nd March 2008 06:22
Windows Vista Installation Issue gopz Shifting gears 10 4th November 2007 22:25


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 11:46.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks