Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 27th December 2007, 10:08   #151
BHPian
 
gopz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 452
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO View Post
Try a software like partition magic or similar.
You can create new partitions within Vista, no need to buy partition magic.

Go to disk management, right click on your hard drive and choose "shrink volume" and reduce the size of the current partition. Then with the available free space, you can create new partitions. It will not take more than a minute and there is no need to reboot the computer!

You can also try freeware such as Parted Magic or Gparted etc.
gopz is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 27th December 2007, 11:05   #152
Distinguished - BHPian
 
amitoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 2,619
Thanked: 940 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adya33 View Post
And I have question to all people saying Vista sucks because it can not run XYZ software.
Well, on my laptop, if i play more than 4 video clips in WINDOWS Media Player, and go back and forth between them two or three times, it crashes the entire system, forcing a hard reboot.
amitoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2007, 12:50   #153
Senior - BHPian
 
adya33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,843
Thanked: 47 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amitoj View Post
Well, on my laptop, if i play more than 4 video clips in WINDOWS Media Player, and go back and forth between them two or three times, it crashes the entire system, forcing a hard reboot.
There are wayy to many parameters included in this.
Starting from drivers to video codecs to video encoding errors.

So yes, Vista may have quirks but it definitely doesn't suck.
adya33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2007, 13:00   #154
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,327
Thanked: 197 Times
Default

Adya,

Even though I upgraded to 2GB RAM - Vista still is slower than XP. And there is a particular problem - suddenly the laptop starts making funny sounds even though there is no song/video playing and after a few minutes it starts dumping memory and shuts down.

When I start it up again - it is fine.

For me - Vista does suck - BIG TIME.
normally_crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2007, 13:05   #155
Team-BHP Support
 
moralfibre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MH-12
Posts: 5,577
Thanked: 2,596 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by normally_crazy View Post
For me - Vista does suck - BIG TIME.
x2 .
moralfibre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2007, 13:28   #156
Team-BHP Support
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Carteret, NJ
Posts: 13,669
Thanked: 1,401 Times
Default

Well I have ben forced to Use Vista Home Premium.. Its definetly way way slower than XP & if it wasnt for home use it surely would have sucked..
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2007, 13:52   #157
Distinguished - BHPian
 
amitoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 2,619
Thanked: 940 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adya33 View Post
There are wayy to many parameters included in this.
Starting from drivers to video codecs to video encoding errors.

So yes, Vista may have quirks but it definitely doesn't suck.
Oh the same thing works just fine on VLC Media player, btw. Which, i installed after getting fed up with the windows media player, which i got with the OS.

And its not just a fixed set of clips i was talking about. Random clips!
amitoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2007, 14:22   #158
BHPian
 
dockap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mangalore
Posts: 774
Thanked: 162 Times
Default

all os will have problems in the forst year of their release xp was like that to initially
if u want to enjoy vista you need a dualcore cpu 2.2 ghz and upwards,minimun 2 gb ram upto 4 gb if u game on it also u need dx10 video card with min 256mb video mem also vista drivers are being updated everyday so u need to keep up with the latest drivers all this may be 2much for a laptop in the budget range
if u are pc gamer then desktop is the one to install vista 64 bit
dockap is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2007, 14:32   #159
Team-BHP Support
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Carteret, NJ
Posts: 13,669
Thanked: 1,401 Times
Default

I have Windows Vista Premium with a 64 bit Proc AMD X2 with Nvidia 7150 card with 1 gb ram & no it doesnt run great but it does just fine for home purpose. Dont know how it will behave with more ram
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2007, 14:36   #160
Distinguished - BHPian
 
akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 8,564
Thanked: 2,649 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
I have Windows Vista Premium with a 64 bit Proc AMD X2 with Nvidia 7150 card with 1 gb ram & no it doesnt run great but it does just fine for home purpose. Dont know how it will behave with more ram
well its perfectly fine with 2gb ram.
akshay1234 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2007, 14:50   #161
Team-BHP Support
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Carteret, NJ
Posts: 13,669
Thanked: 1,401 Times
Default

hmm need to try that, thanks
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2007, 14:51   #162
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 5,241
Thanked: 1,645 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dockap View Post
all os will have problems in the forst year of their release
And the first year of release for Windows was what? Nineteen-eighty-something?

Seems like a pretty long year to me, in which MS have been expecting us to pay, over and over, for every 'upgrade' :(
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2007, 18:26   #163
Ram
Senior - BHPian
 
Ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Singapore, Mumbai, Nagpur
Posts: 2,146
Thanked: 88 Times
Default Dewy Window panes in the misty past

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
And the first year of release for Windows was what? Nineteen-eighty-something?

Seems like a pretty long year to me, in which MS have been expecting us to pay, over and over, for every 'upgrade' :(
Indulge me going OT here.

Microsoft Windows was covered by a magazine called Creative Computing in December 1985. I remember browsing that magazine in TCS's tiny library on the 10th floor of Air-India building, Nariman Pt., 22 years ago.

As a TCS software project lead, I got to design and build a cargo container transhipment planning system around the Microsoft Windows ver. 1.03 API in the summer of 1986 in Rotterdam, the Netherlands. Like to think I was India's first Windows programmer. If anybody has data to the contrary, I will happily stand corrected.
The Windows graphical environment was a layer that ran on top of MS-DOS. We chose Microsoft's Windows over two other contenders, IBM's TopView and Digital Research's GEM (Graphical Environment Manager).

There was no Microsoft Europe back then and we clarified our doubts over the phone with engineers at Boeing in Seattle, Washington. Other interesting gadgets for which we wrote Windows device drivers in the summer of 1986 were Hewlett-Packard's Laser Printer, Novell's first LAN card and IBM's Enhanced Graphics Adapter which provided a graphics resolution of 640x350 and a 16-color palette. This was the world's first graphics adapter to let Windows work in color.

Sorry, got carried away.

Ram

Last edited by Ram : 27th December 2007 at 18:35.
Ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2007, 19:06   #164
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 19,065
Thanked: 1,800 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ram View Post
Microsoft Windows ver. 1.03 API in the summer of 1986 in Rotterdam
The Windows graphical environment was a layer that ran on top of MS-DOS. We chose Microsoft's Windows over two other contenders, IBM's TopView and Digital Research's GEM (Graphical Environment Manager).
Ram you are as old as me (now that is not good). I worked on IBM's EZ View at both Poughkipsee, NY and later Cary, NC. Lets see. the half life of Carbon is about 5000 years...so we are about ...fuggetaboutit years old.
navin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2008, 16:41   #165
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,760
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by normally_crazy View Post
Vista does suck - BIG TIME.
X 10000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 0000

I am stuck with vista because of driver issues
abhibh is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
scheduling windows vista tasks vivekiny2k Gadgets, Computers & Software 16 21st September 2008 13:56
Windows Vista Installation Issue gopz Shifting gears 10 4th November 2007 22:25
2 Problems - is it Windows Vista ? normally_crazy Gadgets, Computers & Software 26 17th June 2007 09:59


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 12:53.

Copyright 2000 - 2014, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks