Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th July 2008, 04:19   #331
Senior - BHPian
 
ph03n!x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madras
Posts: 1,703
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLK View Post
Yup.... me running Win 2008 server as a server with all themes and visual effects..... works good for me....
3Ghz Core2Duo and 2gb RAM.

just shifted from Server 2003 to Server 2008.... I find 2008 much better.
Quote:
Originally Posted by given2fly View Post
Windows 2008 with desktop experience option installed is YUMMY! I have one of my workstations running it that way and i love the effects.
I was using it for a month or two, but then switched back to Vista SP1 - did not want to keep rearming it! But it is pretty amazing fast!!
ph03n!x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2008, 08:19   #332
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,565
Thanked: 360 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
Plus, no irritating security alerts & stupid menus!
This is called UAC (User account control) and you can very well turn it off if you don't want to see those annoying messageboxes.

I keep it enabled still, because it is a good security feature. You never know when a trojan or an application is trying to screw up the machine by accessing some critical system files.

I like Vista way more than I liked XP. Its one step ahead in usability. For me, Vista is not slow at all. (2.1 Ghz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB Dual channel, 160 GB HDD @ 7200 rpm)
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2008, 10:21   #333
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dubai
Posts: 3,854
Thanked: 123 Times
Default

Has anyone tried to procure a laptop from Dell without the OS?

I already have an unused Vista copy at home and would be using it for the laptop I am purchasing. So would I have been able to get the laptop with no OS (atleast I would have saved the cost of the OS from the total cost).

Anyone tried this?
HappyWheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2008, 10:54   #334
BHPian
 
mshooli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 138
Thanked: 6 Times
Post

I have not heard of Dell coming with laptops without OS. However I have noticed Lenovo doing this where your notebooks will come loaded with just DOS.
mshooli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2008, 11:16   #335
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default

Most laptop makers force you to pay for the OS even if you don't want it. Its a common business practice
All Laptop makers force you to pay for the OS on high end models.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2008, 11:55   #336
BHPian
 
vinayvtec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 390
Thanked: 8 Times
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by mshooli View Post
I have not heard of Dell coming with laptops without OS. However I have noticed Lenovo doing this where your notebooks will come loaded with just DOS.
Dell had launched the non OS systems long back, its called nSeries. While placing the order you can speak to sales representative and place the order for nSeries computer, but I think in India it’s only sold for corporate and business segment and not the home and home office segment.

Last edited by vinayvtec : 4th July 2008 at 11:56.
vinayvtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2008, 12:08   #337
BHPian
 
vinayvtec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 390
Thanked: 8 Times
Cool

Windows Vista is setup by default to restart immediately after a Blue Screen of Death (BSOD) or other major system problem. This reboot usually happens too fast to see the error message on screen.

Follow these easy steps to disable the automatic restart feature for system failures in Windows Vista.

Difficulty: Easy

Time Required: Disabling the Automatic Restart option in Windows Vista usually takes less than 10 minutes

Here's How:

1. Click on Start and then Control Panel.

Tip: In a hurry? Type system in the search box after clicking Start. Choose System from the list of results and then skip to Step 4.

2. Click on the System and Maintenance link.

Note: If you're viewing the Classic View of Control Panel, you won't see this link. Simply double-click on the System icon and proceed to Step 4.

3. Click on the System link.

4. In the task pane on the left, click the Advanced system settings link.

5. Locate the Startup and Recovery area and click on the Settings button.

6. In the Startup and Recovery window, locate and uncheck the check box next to Automatically restart.

7. Click OK in the Startup and Recovery window.

8. Click OK in the System Properties window.

9. You can now close the System window.

10. From now on, when a problem causes a BSOD or another major error that halts the system, the PC will not automatically reboot. Rebooting manually will be necessary.

Source a KB from net...
vinayvtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2008, 12:28   #338
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dubai
Posts: 3,854
Thanked: 123 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
...All Laptop makers force you to pay for the OS on high end models.
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinayvtec View Post
...but I think in India itís only sold for corporate and business segment and not the home and home office segment.
Just now called up the sales rep and he said the same thing - not available for home users.
HappyWheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2008, 12:31   #339
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,652
Thanked: 242 Times
Default

Buy Acer laptop, VFM.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyWheels View Post
Just now called up the sales rep and he said the same thing - not available for home users.
dadu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2008, 12:44   #340
Senior - BHPian
 
iraghava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bhaiyyaland
Posts: 8,028
Thanked: 150 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
I like Vista way more than I liked XP. Its one step ahead in usability. For me, Vista is not slow at all. (2.1 Ghz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB Dual channel, 160 GB HDD @ 7200 rpm)
I'm running a similar setup, T8100 Penryn 2.1, 3GB, 250GB SATA but the performance difference between Vista & XP is too vast to ignore. And I know these things can be turned off but the other problem is that everything has been relabelled & moved out of the place which we have been used to from W95 days. I do not like the attempt that they've made to re-invent the wheel when the original one wasn't broken in the first place. It just makes things more irritating for me.

Last edited by iraghava : 4th July 2008 at 12:45.
iraghava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2008, 13:38   #341
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dubai
Posts: 3,854
Thanked: 123 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dadu View Post
Buy Acer laptop, VFM.
Dadu, already taken the plunge! Order for a XPS M1530 yesterday.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
I'm running a similar setup, T8100 Penryn 2.1, 3GB, 250GB SATA but the performance difference between Vista & XP is too vast to ignore...
Regardless of the fact that I went for a 4GB RAM machine for Vista, maybe I will check our XP also in the machine. Better performance is never a bad thing.
HappyWheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2008, 13:46   #342
Senior - BHPian
 
ph03n!x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madras
Posts: 1,703
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

All those who say that XP is fast - try installing Server 2003 (any version / revision) - it flies on the same hardware! That is because XP is NT 5.1 while Server 2003 has a whole new core - version 5.2

Vista and 2008 are built on the same core as Server 2003, but Vista has a lot of baggage. Server 2008 is stripped down of all that and is more focused on the server role, and hence is a lot faster - almost as fast on XP. Try it, you wont regret it!! But then, I would advice 1 GB of RAM, even for XP!!!
ph03n!x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2008, 16:29   #343
SLK
Senior - BHPian
 
SLK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: DL XX XX XXXX
Posts: 1,288
Thanked: 184 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ph03n!x View Post
All those who say that XP is fast - try installing Server 2003 (any version / revision) - it flies on the same hardware! That is because XP is NT 5.1 while Server 2003 has a whole new core - version 5.2

Vista and 2008 are built on the same core as Server 2003, but Vista has a lot of baggage. Server 2008 is stripped down of all that and is more focused on the server role, and hence is a lot faster - almost as fast on XP. Try it, you wont regret it!! But then, I would advice 1 GB of RAM, even for XP!!!
mmm... I doubt Vista SP1/2008 run on the same kernel/core as Win 2003.

Win2003 was way too stable to be compared to XP... but then it had basic feature like uPnP missing which even phones have now-a-days.
SLK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2008, 17:13   #344
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bengalooru
Posts: 1,471
Thanked: 7 Times
Talking

If you want more mess, try Office 2007 !!! That has even more numbers of things relabeled or moved some where else
Small test: Just try to locate 'About' box in Office 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
And I know these things can be turned off but the other problem is that everything has been relabelled & moved out of the place which we have been used to from W95 days. I do not like the attempt that they've made to re-invent the wheel when the original one wasn't broken in the first place. It just makes things more irritating for me.
diabloo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2008, 19:33   #345
SLK
Senior - BHPian
 
SLK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: DL XX XX XXXX
Posts: 1,288
Thanked: 184 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by diabloo View Post
If you want more mess, try Office 2007 !!! That has even more numbers of things relabeled or moved some where else
Small test: Just try to locate 'About' box in Office 2007
The about box surely has been moved a long distance. . . but its all 'about' getting used to.

If you have the right hardware, the newer microsoft products tend to get more stable.... and less buggy.... so its not so bad. Just a resistance to change.

The first time i installed W95... i got rid of it very soon as I didn't find it friendly.

The first time I used XP.. i ran a parallel Win Me for almost a year

The first time I installed.. Longhorn server... I got rid of it in a weeks time .

And now I'm vouching for the Win 2008/ Vista Sp1.
SLK is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Copying large number of folders from windows XP to windows 7 laptop tsk1979 Gadgets, Computers & Software 28 18th June 2010 22:47
SOS Richard Burns Rally (RBR) fails to play on Windows Vista 1100D Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 5th December 2007 11:10
Windows Vista Installation Issue gopz Shifting gears 10 4th November 2007 22:25
2 Problems - is it Windows Vista ? normally_crazy Gadgets, Computers & Software 26 17th June 2007 09:59


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 21:40.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks