Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30th May 2007, 13:36   #46
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,368
Thanked: 383 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntomer View Post
N_C faced some issue in synchronizing his mobile; I daily synchronize my E61 with Outlook, never faced any problems.
Did I ? I dont think I faced any problem with syncing my mobile to Outlook 2003 on Vista.

BTW - Are you sure you don't have to download codecs for playing videos of different formats ? I could not.
normally_crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2007, 14:44   #47
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 613
Thanked: 116 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by normally_crazy View Post
Did I ? I dont think I faced any problem with syncing my mobile to Outlook 2003 on Vista.

BTW - Are you sure you don't have to download codecs for playing videos of different formats ? I could not.
Oops; I think I read your message in haste and mis-contrued it.

My lappy was playing mpg, wmv, api and DVDs before installing anything; but could not play mp4 and 3gp. After I installed iTunes, which in-turn installed QuickPlayer, I have been able to play these formats as well.

Cheers

Nitin
ntomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2007, 19:22   #48
Senior - BHPian
 
merve_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,360
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by binz View Post
Ok the thing about Vista is,..its too damn futuristic.3 Laptops running XP were connected and running in no time;i think some 10 minutes.And vista!1 and a half hours!.First you hve to figure out how to configure the damn thing.Then configuring it is completely different from XP.

Its a great product,..no doubt.But the indian market isn't ready for it.
yes that u have to,because the networking stack is completly rewritten,its optimised for IPV6 native support thats why IPV4 is a little complicated.

ntormer,ur vista takes 1.5 mins to boot,thats too much,mine is max 25 secs.
overtime vista performance improves as superfetch cache starts implementing,if anyone has 512 mb ram or 1gb ram and u want to improve ur vista response use a 1 gb pendrive,this device will be used by readyboost feature to improve cache(pagefile) response time and hence will improve your responsiveness.

u need a good pendrive though with atleast 1.5mb/write and 5 mb/read non sequential.

from what i can see most people are having problems with Vista Home premium and vista basic,is this OS compromised compared to vista ultimate because on my PC atleast the Vista runs much faster though gaming is relatively poor.

Last edited by merve_extreme : 30th May 2007 at 19:31.
merve_extreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2007, 13:16   #49
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,043
Thanked: 13,496 Times
Default

Nine burning questions about how Vista is <i>really</i> doing

Quote:
Big organizations are generally slow to upgrade to new versions of Windows because of software compatibility problems, retraining and other management headaches. Of the six million PCs sold to large U.S. enterprises in the first quarter, only a million came with Vista, says IDCís Daoud. And a huge percentage of those million PCs were immediately wiped clean of Vista and re-installed with XP. The pricey contracts these customers hold with Microsoft allow them to re-install Vista later, when they are ready to upgrade.
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2007, 17:29   #50
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,713
Thanked: 1,084 Times
Default

I sit nearby our sysadmins offices. they're removing preinstalled vista from a bunch of newly acquired IBM lenovo systems as we speak!
greenhorn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2007, 01:33   #51
Senior - BHPian
 
satish_appasani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 1,029
Thanked: 42 Times
Default

If the system gets sluggish because of Vista, i agree there are some problems with O/S which could be fixed with future service packs.
But if your existing peripherals and softwares are incompatible with the new O/S, then i think you should blame the vendors of those products for not releasing service packs and updated drivers to work with new O/S. Who would you blame if the ICE from your old car doesn't work in your new car? If you have to stick with an old O/S because your existing softwares don't work with Vista, it's your decision. Why blame MS for that? Blame your application vendor for ripping customers to support new o/s.

Most of the enterprises can't risk switching to new O/S without proper testing. It's no big thing that they are replacing the O/S with XP. On my laptop i don't use even XP. I run Windows 2000 server on my laptop because i work for a large enterprise application development company and XP doesn't have all the feature required to run our application.

MS is selling Vista in good numbers be it either through OEM channels or as a boxed product.
ENT News Online | News: Gates: 40 Million Vista Licenses in First 100 Days

Last edited by satish_appasani : 2nd June 2007 at 01:38.
satish_appasani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2007, 10:01   #52
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,368
Thanked: 383 Times
Default

UPDATE

Well as per my last post - the service centre in Vashi was supposed to format the HD and let the HP guys and me know about the problem. Also after formatting he was supposed to give me the HD so that I could try and recover whatever I could.

FLASHBACK - But - the HD failed to format. He called me and let me know that the HD is simply not responding and he could not format it and so he has forwarded a request for a replacement.

Today morning a few minutes back, I got a call asking me to come and pick up the laptop. Its ready. I now am leaving for the service centre to pick up my lappy and more importantly to find out the problem.

Will keep you guys updated.
normally_crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2007, 10:53   #53
Senior - BHPian
 
satish_appasani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 1,029
Thanked: 42 Times
Default

Could be a defective HDD?

What O/S was installed after the format?
satish_appasani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2007, 10:25   #54
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North America
Posts: 960
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

I've had no problems with Vista so far. Runs like a charm. You can use XP drivers on 32-bit Vista and 95% of the time, it works.
I'm actually quite impressed with the driver support in vista. When I first installed it, it automatically scanned my hardware and installed the drivers for my ATI cards, Logitech webcam etc from the internet. I've never had to install anything later from the CD.

Although running games requires a decent amount of hardware upgrade, I'd say that the games look fantastic on Vista. Both Halo and Halo 2 are beautiful, Halo 2 on Vista looks better than the one on XBOX 360.

Also, Vista is hardware accelerated like Linus and Mac OS, so it utilizes your hardware better than XP. And it also utilizes dual core more efficiently.
I'd say, on a desktop, 1 GB of RAM is enough for the Aero interface to run smoothly alongwith everything else.
sujaylahiri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2007, 12:43   #55
Senior - BHPian
 
shuvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Calcutta
Posts: 1,081
Thanked: 4 Times
Question

This might be a bit Off Topic, but don't know where to put this query. Didn't want to start a new thread.
I need an OS for my desktop, fast. Had XP Pro SP2 (pirated) for some time as I lost my XP genuine media. Which OS should I go for? My rig's configuration:
AMD X2 4400
MSI K8N SLI
3gb DDR
Was offered Vista Home Premium for about 9k, but after reading so many bad reviews about Vista I'm confused. Please help!
shuvd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2007, 16:31   #56
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,660
Thanked: 6,085 Times
Default

get vista. i have a 2gb ram and 256mb display.. hasnt even hung once in 4 months.
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2007, 16:46   #57
Senior - BHPian
 
shuvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Calcutta
Posts: 1,081
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

@ akshay1234 - Vista Home Premium? Its safe right? I have HUGE amount of data and would be in a very bad situation if the data is damaged.
shuvd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2007, 19:36   #58
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kochi
Posts: 2,147
Thanked: 142 Times
Default Alternatives to Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by shuvd View Post
I need an OS for my desktop, fast. Had XP Pro SP2 (pirated) for some time as I lost my XP genuine media.
Shhh!!! you should not say that in public.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shuvd View Post

Which OS should I go for? My rig's configuration:
Try Ubuntu - Ubuntu Home Page | Ubuntu

Disclaimer - I am a great Ubuntu fan; none of the machines I own (two, to be precise) run anything except Linux. I dual boot Ubuntu and Debian they are similar and different at the same time.
BaCkSeAtDrIVeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2007, 20:42   #59
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,660
Thanked: 6,085 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shuvd View Post
@ akshay1234 - Vista Home Premium? Its safe right? I have HUGE amount of data and would be in a very bad situation if the data is damaged.
i think its safe. just enable windows defender and get an antivirus. it should be fine. even i would be in a bad situation if i lost all my data which is mainly media.
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2007, 01:33   #60
BHPian
 
sabret00the's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Halifax, Canada
Posts: 686
Thanked: 43 Times
Default

VISTA is an awesome OS...especially if ur using Vista Ultimate Edition with AERO enabled(loads of eye candy...just too good) on a compatible system when I built my latest system I was planning to make it Vista capable and it turned out to be Vista Super Capable (My system's Vista Experience Index rating is 4.5) and I have enjoyed Vista Beta 2 Ultimate to the fullest....trust me if u have a compatible system them u'll forget XP in no time...By now most companies have release drivers for Vista for their hardware and only thing needed is the SP1 (which will take a li'll time)...in other words Vista is probably the only complete OS that M$ has ever built.....its tooooooooo good and I'm loving it....

Moderate Note:
PLEASE AVOID EXCESSIVE DOTTY TYPING
sabret00the is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Copying large number of folders from windows XP to windows 7 laptop tsk1979 Gadgets, Computers & Software 28 18th June 2010 22:47
SOS Richard Burns Rally (RBR) fails to play on Windows Vista 1100D Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 5th December 2007 11:10
Windows Vista Installation Issue gopz Shifting gears 10 4th November 2007 22:25
2 Problems - is it Windows Vista ? normally_crazy Gadgets, Computers & Software 26 17th June 2007 09:59


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 15:14.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks