Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11th April 2009, 08:26   #601
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,079
Thanked: 251 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpbhatt View Post
got the problem resolved -- the apps given by office folks were specifically for XP -- would not work on Vista --
But the message displayed does not tie in with this.
The set-up files ought to have been visible in the folder. On double clicking a file the message should have come saying not suitable for this OS or whatever.
anupmathur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2009, 13:51   #602
BHPian
 
ankitahuja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Gurgaon & Delhi
Posts: 886
Thanked: 46 Times
Angry The Administrator has set policies to prevent this installation

When I try to install programs, Windows Vista Home Basic gives an error message as "The Administrator has set policies to prevent this installation". Can someone please help me out how to bypass this irritating message and install some software.

I am logged in as the administrator and have even tried with the 'User Account Control' disabled. Help!
ankitahuja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2009, 13:54   #603
Senior - BHPian
 
cooldude1988765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,004
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

right click and run as admin. If this doesnt work, there is something wrong with your registry that is preventing you from installing apps.
also try safe mode.
cooldude1988765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2009, 14:03   #604
BHPian
 
ankitahuja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Gurgaon & Delhi
Posts: 886
Thanked: 46 Times
Default

I don't have that option since I am running as admin.

What else can I try? I read a posts on a different forum to change some registry keys and jazz, but I'm not too sure (since there was a different outcome for everyone).

Help me out here. And I must voice my opinion that WINDOWS VISTA Sucks!
ankitahuja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2009, 13:59   #605
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dubai
Posts: 3,854
Thanked: 123 Times
Default

Has anyone faced the issue with the Security Center, in Vista Home Edition Premium, giving an error message that it is not running?

I get the shield with the red cross, but when I open the security center, all modules are up and running. All green!

Fearing the worst, I did a quick run of few anti-malwares and anti-everything. System is clean. Just need to get to fix this false warning.

Google game some info about the Security Center service not starting up and might be an issue with the user profile used to start it, but none of those issues for me. Service is indeed up and running happily!

HappyWheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2009, 14:05   #606
Distinguished - BHPian
 
amitoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 2,947
Thanked: 1,584 Times
Default

Well, so Windoze released SP2 for Vista. Which i could not install on my home laptop because it required 2GB space on C drive, which i have not had since ages. roughly 16GB of my C drive is taken up by C:\Windows itself!

I hate the C:\Windows\winsxs folder. If ever there was a bad design, it is this.
amitoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2010, 16:41   #607
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BLR
Posts: 2,222
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Guys Windows Vista startup time is just insanse looking at downgrading(upgrade?) to Win XP on the laptop (2gb ram)

Will have to surrender this Vista key and go through the transition.

Everyone is saying if you start working in a big firm or university they would be using Vista and it would cause compatibility issues? I think if anything people would be switching to Windows 7 now?

Im going to start reading the older posts in the thread now but your ideas will help...

Machine is an HP 6730s
s0uljah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2010, 21:10   #608
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

keep in mind that MS has stopped more work on XP. so it may be open to attacks and security holes in future.

upgrade to windows-7?

in my older laptop I disabled most of the services, and had a batch file to start them when needed. that was because sometimes I needed to attend to a production problem and the wait was too long. disable all startup programs, services and move them to batch file. It worked pretty well for me.

see this example

start /d "O:\backup\data\dloads" corete~1.exe
start /d "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\2007\Office12" OUTLOOK.EXE /recycle
start /d "C:\Users\Vivek\AppData\Roaming\Google\Google Talk\" googletalk.exe /startmenu
cd "C:\Program Files\Windows Sidebar"
start sidebar.exe
cd\
cd "C:\Program Files\TextPad 5"
start textpad.exe "O:\backup\data\work.txt"
start /d "C:\Program Files\Windows Live\Messenger" msnmsgr.exe
start /d "C:\Program Files\Google\Google Calendar Sync" GoogleCalendarSync.exe
start /d "C:\Program Files\Nokia\Nokia PC Suite 7" PCsuite.exe -onlytray
start /d "O:\backup\data\Dloads" procexp.exe /t
net start "windows update"
net start "Bluetooth Support Service"
net start "security center"
net start "themes"
pause
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2010, 21:42   #609
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,861
Thanked: 2,398 Times
Default

Another option is to use hibernate mode instead of shutting down, thats what I do
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2010, 22:08   #610
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

Hibernate is what killed my system (I think). It never came back from the coma.

standby is what I usually use.
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2010, 22:27   #611
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,861
Thanked: 2,398 Times
Default

Really?

But wouldnt Standby need the power to be always on?
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2010, 22:27   #612
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BLR
Posts: 2,222
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vivekiny2k View Post
keep in mind that MS has stopped more work on XP. so it may be open to attacks and security holes in future.

upgrade to windows-7?
Hmmm... point.

Off topic but is upgrading to 3/4gb ddr2 ram worth it? Prices have gone up buy 2-300 it seems like.
s0uljah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2010, 22:51   #613
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

2 GB is good enough for windows 7.
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2010, 23:02   #614
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BLR
Posts: 2,222
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vivekiny2k View Post
2 GB is good enough for windows 7.
I cant afford that upgrade for now!
s0uljah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2010, 23:52   #615
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

oh, I thought u had 2GB.

@Technocrat, yes, a minute quantity of current keeps flowing through the ram. but everything else is off. startup is faster after that.
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Copying large number of folders from windows XP to windows 7 laptop tsk1979 Gadgets, Computers & Software 28 18th June 2010 22:47
SOS Richard Burns Rally (RBR) fails to play on Windows Vista 1100D Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 5th December 2007 11:10
Windows Vista Installation Issue gopz Shifting gears 10 4th November 2007 22:25
2 Problems - is it Windows Vista ? normally_crazy Gadgets, Computers & Software 26 17th June 2007 09:59


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 22:54.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks