Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30th January 2010, 03:16   #616
BHPian
 
tacho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Herndon, VA
Posts: 125
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vivekiny2k View Post
oh, I thought u had 2GB.
He probably meant he couldn't afford the upgrade to Windows 7
tacho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2010, 22:13   #617
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BLR
Posts: 2,222
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tacho View Post
He probably meant he couldn't afford the upgrade to Windows 7
Yeah thats it!!

I added Transcend 1gb ddr2 @ Rs 1320/-
s0uljah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2010, 22:35   #618
BHPian
 
anku94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 225
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s0uljah View Post
Yeah thats it!!

I added Transcend 1gb ddr2 @ Rs 1320/-
1.3k bucks for a GB of DDR2 is pretty high. Was that a performance chip ?? AFAIK, an average DDR2 1GB chip is about 0.8k....
anku94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2010, 23:31   #619
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,513 Times
Default

if folks are tired of Vista and want to upgrade/downgrade, here's a comparison (from the moment you press the power button till the "Press Ctrl+Alt+Del" thingy) :

boot time: Windows Vista Ultimate x86 - 6:45secs
boot time Windows 7 Ultimate x86 - 48secs (this may vary a bit depending on the things you have installed an how fragmented your drive is and of course the speed of your HDD)

this is not run on some high end desktop. the config is Intel T7200 2Ghz with 2GB RAM (Compaq nc6400 business laptop). although, i've copy of Windows 7 Ultimate x64 running on my home computer, which has higher specs.

another crappy feature of Vista is that every driver it installed, it keeps a copy of it. if the driver is uninstalled, Vista doesn't clean up, it keeps it. hence, if you take notice, you'll slowly run of disc space (lets say on a 60Gb HDD).

also, the standard installation of Vista takes about 25GB of your HDD (which is pretty huge if you're short on real estate). Win7 takes only 16GB.

as vivekiny2k mentioned, it may not be wise to go back to WinXP as there is no more developments being made there and if installed, it could be a security risk.

bottom line: Windows 7 is the best Windows ever made after.. umm.. lets see.. [/b]Windows 3.11 for Workgroups[/b]!
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2010, 10:01   #620
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
if folks are tired of Vista and want to upgrade/downgrade, here's a comparison (from the moment you press the power button till the "Press Ctrl+Alt+Del" thingy) :

boot time: Windows Vista Ultimate x86 - 6:45secs
boot time Windows 7 Ultimate x86 - 48secs (this may vary a bit depending on the things you have installed an how fragmented your drive is and of course the speed of your HDD)

this is not run on some high end desktop. the config is Intel T7200 2Ghz with 2GB RAM (Compaq nc6400 business laptop). although, i've copy of Windows 7 Ultimate x64 running on my home computer, which has higher specs.

another crappy feature of Vista is that every driver it installed, it keeps a copy of it. if the driver is uninstalled, Vista doesn't clean up, it keeps it. hence, if you take notice, you'll slowly run of disc space (lets say on a 60Gb HDD).

also, the standard installation of Vista takes about 25GB of your HDD (which is pretty huge if you're short on real estate). Win7 takes only 16GB.

as vivekiny2k mentioned, it may not be wise to go back to WinXP as there is no more developments being made there and if installed, it could be a security risk.

bottom line: Windows 7 is the best Windows ever made after.. umm.. lets see.. [/b]Windows 3.11 for Workgroups[/b]!
I find it a little exaggerated. vista took less than 2 mins, probably less than 1, I never timed it. But that was removing all the bloatware and some services. running services and startup apps took another 30 secs.

a fresh install took around 17 GB, again, minimal with all drivers, no system restore and my necessary programs including MS office etc. system restore automatically adds around 20%to usage whether it's vista or windows 7.
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2010, 13:16   #621
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,513 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vivekiny2k View Post
I find it a little exaggerated. vista took less than 2 mins, probably less than 1, I never timed it. But that was removing all the bloatware and some services. running services and startup apps took another 30 secs.
i've no need to exaggerate here, don't have anything to gain by it. try it for yourself, if you will.

the boot times i've given are timed. the timing for Vista i've given are from a system that's been running it for more than a year and lots of stuff installed.

Vista, on a clean install will boot within in 5mins (it varies until all the patches are installed - trust me on this, i did this on a HP Elitebook 6930 last week). once all the patches and stuff are done, then and only then you get the "under 2mins" boot time. but remember, this is bare-bone installation.

in a perfect world, Vista or any other Windows OS, will boot very fast (i remember when Win2k used to be fast!), but then we don't live in a perfect world, do we. we all have our little programs, utilities and games we install. in the long run, the OS clogs up and that's when you get horrendous boot times. and i'm not talking about systems that are low spec.

once you start installing programs and devices and their drivers, the registry starts to become bigger and bigger and the system will slowly become sluggish. add to this people carelessness in putting data in the System Area (drive's root) , rather than User Area (creating folders and then putting stuff in them) of the HDD.

not many people know that putting files directly under the root of the drive (for e.g., "c:\hello_there.mpg" or "c:\blah_blah.ppt") can cause their system to run slower. i've seen people even unzipping program installations directly in the root! frequently adding/deleting stuff from the HDD can cause problems too. keep your wi-fi/bluetooth on while booting and that will add to the boot time.

anyways, i just thought i'll share some info, that's about it.

btw, that 48sec Win7 of mine is kinda getting slower since i installed McAffee Encryption.
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2010, 00:04   #622
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
i've no need to exaggerate here, don't have anything to gain by it. try it for yourself, if you will.
wrong choice of words from me

I didn't mean to say you exaggerated it, What I meant to say is if you want, you can tune it to a fast startup, and I am talking about a real world, although I keep refreshing my system every few days.
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2010, 01:07   #623
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,513 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vivekiny2k View Post
wrong choice of words from me

I didn't mean to say you exaggerated it, What I meant to say is if you want, you can tune it to a fast startup, and I am talking about a real world, although I keep refreshing my system every few days.
no sweat mate. no offense taken. what you said is true, you can tweak it a bit, but then again, the performance gain is not much

one can get information on how to tweak one's system here.
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2010, 17:39   #624
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,042
Thanked: 13,487 Times
Default

Today my almost 3 year old Vista PC asked me to activate the OS. I was puzzled why... until I remembered that my defective motherboard was replaced under warranty early this week.

That means the MAC address and processor id, and whatever else Vista uses to identify the PC has changed. So it needs to authenticate again.
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2010, 11:11   #625
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,513 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
Today my almost 3 year old Vista PC asked me to activate the OS. I was puzzled why... until I remembered that my defective motherboard was replaced under warranty early this week.

That means the MAC address and processor id, and whatever else Vista uses to identify the PC has changed. So it needs to authenticate again.
did the authentication go through without any hitches or did you have to call MS support? i had that problem once with XP Pro
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2010, 17:32   #626
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 2,175
Thanked: 128 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
did the authentication go through without any hitches or did you have to call MS support? i had that problem once with XP Pro
I have had to call up MS phone 1-2 times and regardless of whatever is said about them, it went off without a problem. The only problem is giving the custom installation id (huge number set) and getting their confirmatory installation id.
vasudeva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2010, 12:18   #627
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,563
Thanked: 358 Times
Default IE8 upgrade woes

Today I decided to do the long pending IE8 upgrade on my laptop running Vista Home Premium, legit.

1) I run windows update, it shoes IE8 as important update, and I click install.

2) After downloading about 25MB of stuff, it says "Preparing to install"
I wait wait and wait - the screen doesn't change. So I restart the PC.

3) After restarting, ran the update again, it started installing IE8.

4) Installation complete, prompted to restart - I click ok

5) While shutting down, it shows "Configuring updates - stage 1 - 100%"

6) System starts up and I get to see this
Name:  DSC08608.JPG
Views: 192
Size:  148.1 KB

after sometime, this
Windows Vista Discussion Thread-dsc08609.jpg

after that
Windows Vista Discussion Thread-dsc08613.jpg

Name:  DSC08610.JPG
Views: 189
Size:  105.4 KB

Again restarts, and I see a series of registry keys displayed like this for few seconds
Windows Vista Discussion Thread-dsc08611.jpg

after that
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC08609.JPG
Views:	130
Size:	107.2 KB
ID:	348545

and this again
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC08613.JPG
Views:	167
Size:	76.7 KB
ID:	348548

and finally I see the login screen after more than 15 minutes!
Windows Vista Discussion Thread-dsc08614.jpg

7) I run internet explorer to check the version -
Windows Vista Discussion Thread-iever.png

I wonder why the whole update thing is so so complex and unreliable, Microsoft, are you listening?

Last edited by clevermax : 15th May 2010 at 12:20.
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2010, 14:39   #628
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,599
Thanked: 6,684 Times
Default

A typical microsoft experience! At least it used to be very common, they have improved a lot.

I dread any kind of update or installation that has anything to do with MS .Net. I just know that it means a huge download that will take ages, followed by an installation that will, for some reason only MS could make, take even longer. And, all for something that, as a mere user, I have no idea why I should need!

Last few days, I've been working with Ubuntu. The last time I looked at Linux was Red Hat in about 2003 and, despite being a Unix man at that time, I really didn't like it much. Ubuntu is aeons ahead. Usability by the non-geek is in sight, but it isn't there yet.
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2010, 21:52   #629
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

people are still using buggy Vista.??

i am surprised.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2010, 14:38   #630
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,513 Times
Default

if you can afford it, please move on to Windows 7! not marketing for MS, but TBH, Windows 7 is the best OS since Windows 3.11 for Workgroups!
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Copying large number of folders from windows XP to windows 7 laptop tsk1979 Gadgets, Computers & Software 28 18th June 2010 22:47
SOS Richard Burns Rally (RBR) fails to play on Windows Vista 1100D Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 5th December 2007 11:10
Windows Vista Installation Issue gopz Shifting gears 10 4th November 2007 22:25
2 Problems - is it Windows Vista ? normally_crazy Gadgets, Computers & Software 26 17th June 2007 09:59


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 13:45.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks