Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24th October 2007, 09:19   #91
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,660
Thanked: 6,084 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by diabloo View Post
Hey buddy, I was happy with XP and the graphics was good. Now I upgraded to Vista and it tells me I score a pathetic 1.0 off 5.0 . Could you post your Windows Experience Index base score?
my experience index base score is 4.2.
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2007, 19:04   #92
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Madras
Posts: 558
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

4.2 In Vista Home Basic with 512 MB of ram, I had a score of 2.9, and after I upgraded the RAM to 1.5 GB, the new score was 3.3, but after upgrading to Windows Vista Business, the new score was 2.1

Don't know a reason why the decrease in the score.

cya
A
Absar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2007, 19:13   #93
BHPian
 
vabs78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Pune, India
Posts: 551
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

I have a HP Laptop (1.6Ghz x2, 1Gb) with Vista Home Premium and a MacBook with OsX (2.16Ghz x2, 1Gb).

If I start both machines at the same time, I can start the Mac, open web browser open google.com and shutdown the Mac, before Vista starts and comes in a usable state.
vabs78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2007, 19:17   #94
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,660
Thanked: 6,084 Times
Default

absar - because business strains your comp more. im using home premium and i have a core 2 duo 2x1.86ghz, 256mb graphics, 2gb ram and 250gb hdd.

vabs78 - even my vista does take about 30seconds to boot.
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2007, 19:31   #95
BHPian
 
vabs78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Pune, India
Posts: 551
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
vabs78 - even my vista does take about 30seconds to boot.
Vista in 30sec?? no way man... mine takes much more than that
I will measure the time today and will update..
vabs78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2007, 20:09   #96
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Madras
Posts: 558
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
absar - because business strains your comp more. im using home premium and i have a core 2 duo 2x1.86ghz, 256mb graphics, 2gb ram and 250gb hdd.
Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
vabs78 - even my vista does take about 30seconds to boot.
Vista Business strains more? I see.. But I'm comfortable with it! Its features r useful for me.

In 1.5 GB of ram boot up takes about less than 30 secs.. In 512 MB of ram used to like a minute or above.. even close to 5 minutes.

cya
A
Absar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2007, 23:23   #97
BHPian
 
sidharth_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 129
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

I recently purchased a toshiba laptop with Windows Vista Business installed. Haven't really measured how long it takes to boot up, but its not an awful lot of time that i sit twiddling my thumbs :-)

Anyways, the Vista experience has been very very good so far. Am blown away by the graphics, and of course, it helps that the notebook came with 2GB of RAM.

Oh, and I did try the windows experience test, and scored 3.5 ..according to Microsoft, thats the minimum score to run Vista with ALL the bells and whistles!
sidharth_j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2007, 03:46   #98
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,606
Thanked: 6,692 Times
Default

I have no idea what this test is!

I don't know that I want to try a higher Vista version (yes, it is home basic) on a high spec machine, unless it is going to give me a lot more than looking pretty!

If I ever got into something very intensive like video editing (takes an age to load and process stuff on my 2.8Ghz machine with XP) I wouldn't want the damned OS eating vast amounts of resource to begin with.

A pretty wallpaper is nice: I don't feel I need more 'pretty' than that! I'd rather have slim and fast!
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2007, 15:02   #99
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bengalooru
Posts: 1,471
Thanked: 7 Times
Unhappy

Hey, goto Control Panel, Classic view, Performance Information and Tools and click on 'Update my score'.
BTW, my score was on Vista Ultimate. I lost big time in graphics performance
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
I have no idea what this test is!

Last edited by diabloo : 25th October 2007 at 15:04.
diabloo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2007, 15:42   #100
BANNED
 
viper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,769
Thanked: 8 Times
Default Vista Ultimate Help

Hi Guys,

Have been used Vista Ultimate in my house from almost 2 months now without any issues till a week ago when the comp engineer came to solve some antivirus issue.

I was not present when he was there and what I found was that he has changed some settings which I cant seem to undo or solve. In my pictures folder I used to be able to see previews of all snaps in the folder by choosing thumbnails or film strip earlier in the View options.

Now I dont get the filmstrip option and in the thumbnail option get some desktop background pic in all photos. I can see the pic only after I double click and open the file. Can someone please help me.

Viper
viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2007, 18:05   #101
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gujarat 03
Posts: 1,302
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

My score in Vista Ultimate was 4.3.
Mugen_Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2007, 19:31   #102
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

Ok i'm facing another prob with Vista. I downloaded Microsoft Power Point Viewer 2007 but for some reason, when i try to open a .ppt file, i get a message saying that the file cannot be opened since it's not a ppt format.

Xp on the other hand has no issues opening the same file using the same software.

Is there any other software out there that can open .ppt files on Vista?

Shan2nu
Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2007, 20:30   #103
Senior - BHPian
 
merve_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,360
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by viper View Post
Hi Guys,

Have been used Vista Ultimate in my house from almost 2 months now without any issues till a week ago when the comp engineer came to solve some antivirus issue.

I was not present when he was there and what I found was that he has changed some settings which I cant seem to undo or solve. In my pictures folder I used to be able to see previews of all snaps in the folder by choosing thumbnails or film strip earlier in the View options.

Now I dont get the filmstrip option and in the thumbnail option get some desktop background pic in all photos. I can see the pic only after I double click and open the file. Can someone please help me.

Viper
  1. right click on the pictures folder
  2. goto customize tab
  3. select folder template type as Pictures and Videos
  4. select apply to Subfolders
  5. ok
i don't think there is FlimStrip view in Vista.

Last edited by merve_extreme : 16th November 2007 at 20:33.
merve_extreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2007, 20:43   #104
Senior - BHPian
 
merve_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,360
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan2nu View Post
Ok i'm facing another prob with Vista. I downloaded Microsoft Power Point Viewer 2007 but for some reason, when i try to open a .ppt file, i get a message saying that the file cannot be opened since it's not a ppt format.

Xp on the other hand has no issues opening the same file using the same software.

Is there any other software out there that can open .ppt files on Vista?

Shan2nu
what do you use to edit PowerPoint presentations?

Try OpenOffice 2..2.1
merve_extreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2007, 16:55   #105
BANNED
 
viper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,769
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by merve_extreme View Post
  1. right click on the pictures folder
  2. goto customize tab
  3. select folder template type as Pictures and Videos
  4. select apply to Subfolders
  5. ok
i don't think there is FlimStrip view in Vista.
Hi Merve,

Thanks for your suggestion but unfortunately it did not work. Had already carried out the above procedure myself.

Does anybody else have any more ideas or solutions.

Viper
viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Copying large number of folders from windows XP to windows 7 laptop tsk1979 Gadgets, Computers & Software 28 18th June 2010 22:47
SOS Richard Burns Rally (RBR) fails to play on Windows Vista 1100D Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 5th December 2007 11:10
Windows Vista Installation Issue gopz Shifting gears 10 4th November 2007 22:25
2 Problems - is it Windows Vista ? normally_crazy Gadgets, Computers & Software 26 17th June 2007 09:59


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 08:07.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks