Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 29th May 2007, 15:09   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,330
Thanked: 258 Times
Default Windows Vista Discussion Thread

As you all know I got myself a HP Pavilion 1003TX loaded with Windows Vista Home Edition. And today just in a month the damn Vista crashed taking all my data along with it. Movies, Music, Mails - everything. All this happened while I worked on Excel.

I would advise anyone upgrading to Vista - BE CAREFUL , VERY CAREFUL

1) Its a resource hog. Even with 1 GB RAM it runs like a snail.

2) Nothing is compatible with it , not even a simple browser like Firefox.

$%@%^$Y$

I am too pooped to write more now.
normally_crazy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 29th May 2007, 15:17   #2
BHPian
 
navdeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 874
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Why did you upgraded ?
What new features of Vista you were looking to use ?

BTW, you should be able to recover your data.
navdeep is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2007, 15:20   #3
BHPian
 
Ketan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 795
Thanked: 152 Times
Default

Do you know the reason why it crashed?? Have you contacted support to find out the reason??
Ketan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2007, 15:22   #4
Distinguished - BHPian
 
akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 8,650
Thanked: 2,830 Times
Default

are you serious. ive used vista for 2 months. it hasnt even hung. im using home premium.
akshay1234 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2007, 15:23   #5
Team-BHP Support
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 10,432
Thanked: 3,884 Times
Default

Now that justifies my plans on buying an Apple
ajmat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2007, 15:31   #6
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 17,758
Thanked: 6,156 Times
Default

I just dispatched a PO for a DELL notebook with Vista Premium. I am going to rip it out and put XP Pro once I get it. The sales guy offered to put XP Pro for 1500 bucks more, but I declined since I have XP Pro licence.

But imagine, XP Pro is more expensive than Vista premium. That's like selling Baleno for higher price than SX4. Is there a message there? I am not switching to Vista before the first service pack.
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2007, 15:32   #7
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 20,052
Thanked: 9,058 Times
Default

Serves you right. You deserve this
Inspite of half the internet screaming about "Stay away from vista" you go ahead and get a vista machine.
I suggest you get a 4GB RAM machine with a top end graphics card a 10500rpm server spec hard drive and a 3GHz+ dual core processor.
Don't worry about the costs, all you need to do is sell the RS
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2007, 15:35   #8
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,972
Thanked: 1,161 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmat View Post
Now that justifies my plans on buying an Apple
Once you go Mac, there's no going back!!
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2007, 15:39   #9
BHPian
 
navdeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 874
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmat View Post
Now that justifies my plans on buying an Apple
I prefer melons or mangoes
navdeep is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2007, 15:53   #10
BHPian
 
greatDrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 541
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Nice to see a microsoft bashing thread, I thought we only had fiat bashers on this forum
greatDrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2007, 15:55   #11
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 36,365
Thanked: 28,324 Times
Default

I am a huge microsoft fan, but would touch Vista with a foot-long pole until SP1 was released.
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2007, 16:01   #12
BHPian
 
hemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mysore
Posts: 61
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

I had tried the beta version last week,no doubt it sucks.Used it for few hours before reverting back to XP.
1)Even with 1gb RAM,it was slow,even after removing default themes and unwanted services/TSR's
2)Opening more than 2apps,BSOD and reboots.
3)HECK,it wont even trust its own programs,open something like task manager or msconfig or any other app,it will ask weather to allow or not.
4)wont install on FAT partitions.

Last edited by hemi : 29th May 2007 at 16:12.
hemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2007, 16:04   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
merve_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,352
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by normally_crazy View Post
As you all know I got myself a HP Pavilion 1003TX loaded with Windows Vista Home Edition. And today just in a month the damn Vista crashed taking all my data along with it. Movies, Music, Mails - everything. All this happened while I worked on Excel.

I would advise anyone upgrading to Vista - BE CAREFUL , VERY CAREFUL

1) Its a resource hog. Even with 1 GB RAM it runs like a snail.

2) Nothing is compatible with it , not even a simple browser like Firefox.

$%@%^$Y$

I am too pooped to write more now.
how did an OS crash take ur data along with it??
i have firefox installed in Vista.works perfect.my vista system works must faster than XP ever did.it boots up(ready to open word) in 25 secs max.

also there setting called SuperFetch,if u turn this off then ur Ram is not used by this special cache.

Last edited by merve_extreme : 29th May 2007 at 16:23.
merve_extreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2007, 16:20   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
merve_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,352
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hemi View Post
3)HECK,it wont even trust its own programs,open something like task manager or msconfig or any other app,it will ask weather to allow or not.
that is UAC(user access control) and it can be turned off.that is just there to do nanny stuff.
merve_extreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2007, 16:30   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
devarshi84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ahmedabad - Tor
Posts: 3,866
Thanked: 30 Times
Default

I am a supporter of opensource. More so after windows vista came out. I may have a second look at apple but certainly not Microsoft.

I am ready to live with less applications but certainly not a resource hog, Expensive OS prone to crashes and virus and malware attacks.
devarshi84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
scheduling windows vista tasks vivekiny2k Gadgets, Computers & Software 16 21st September 2008 13:56
Windows Vista Installation Issue gopz Shifting gears 10 4th November 2007 22:25
2 Problems - is it Windows Vista ? normally_crazy Gadgets, Computers & Software 26 17th June 2007 09:59


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 16:48.

Copyright 2000 - 2014, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks