Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


View Poll Results: Which Linux distro you use, and why?
Ubuntu/Kubuntu 109 62.64%
Mandriva 2 1.15%
Debian 14 8.05%
Gentoo 4 2.30%
Red Hat 37 21.26%
Slackware 6 3.45%
SuSE 16 9.20%
TurboLinux 0 0%
BSD 6 3.45%
Any other 21 12.07%
Fedora 26 14.94%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 174. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17th June 2010, 11:09   #76
Senior - BHPian
 
typeOnegative's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Vikhroli, Mumbai, India
Posts: 1,502
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Linux Mint 32 bit version 8 - Helena. I have a Lenovo G430 laptop for personal use, with 4GB RAM and have installed the server package to address all the memory. Works well. Was using the 64 bit version earlier, but getting all the plug ins was a pain.

For office use, have to go with Windows XP on the office laptop of course.
typeOnegative is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2010, 12:29   #77
BHPian
 
Newpunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 640
Thanked: 40 Times
Default

I use OpenSuse 11.2 and Vista on my laptop. I also check out Fedora from time to time and think it's great. Never been a big fan of Ubuntu coz I'm a KDE guy and don't like GNOME too much.
Newpunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2010, 14:25   #78
BHPian
 
Gandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 980
Thanked: 199 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Newpunter View Post
Never been a big fan of Ubuntu coz I'm a KDE guy and don't like GNOME too much.
Try Kubuntu. One can load any desktop environment on almost any flavor of Linux.
Gandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2010, 14:37   #79
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 104
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

I use a FreeBSD based FREENAS for networked storage solution and eBox appliance server which is based on Ubuntu for mail server/firewall.

If you need network attached storage... FreeNAS is the way to go. It comes with BitTorrent client too, allowing you to remotely schedule torrent downloads on your system.

eBox is a very neat appliance server giving you a neat web based administration console for almost every service that you would like to host/offer on the network.
tajender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2010, 14:45   #80
BHPian
 
Newpunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 640
Thanked: 40 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gandhi View Post
Try Kubuntu. One can load any desktop environment on almost any flavor of Linux.
I know, but I think OpenSuSE's implementation of KDE is the best . Ofcourse this is subjective but I like OpenSuse better than the other KDE distros out there.
Newpunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2010, 15:55   #81
Senior - BHPian
 
alpha1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: P00NA
Posts: 1,613
Thanked: 949 Times
Default

For KDE: look at PC Linuc OS - its built upon Mandriva - very polished, very fast and detects hardware.

For Gnome: Linux Mint. I use it and its great!
alpha1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2010, 15:57   #82
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,043
Thanked: 13,495 Times
Default

We have standardized on Arch-Linux in my company. It is supposedly very clean with least overhead.
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2010, 15:57   #83
Senior - BHPian
 
alpha1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: P00NA
Posts: 1,613
Thanked: 949 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iTwenty View Post
Having moved on from newbie-friendly distros to the more unforgiving ones, my personal favorite distro is Arch Linux.It's a rolling release.Install it once and then never again.A single command at the terminal will update your entire system, 3rd party apps included to the latest version.
Be warned though that it requires quite a bit of Linux knowledge to get it up and working.Don't expect friendly 7-step installers like Ubuntu and SUSe in this one.
What about Wi-fi, 3G broadband and stuff?
Are you able to configure them?
alpha1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2010, 04:25   #84
Senior - BHPian
 
deepclutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Muvattupuzha
Posts: 1,119
Thanked: 108 Times
Post

Reverted to Debian Squeeze(apt pinning with Sid) GNU/Linux 2 weeks back.Got Gnome-2.30 Which is a Surprise ,Since My Last Debian Install even has delay in Getting latest Gnome in their repository.
deepclutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2010, 05:20   #85
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

I use BT3 and BT4, but mostly for security testing.
rajb3125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2010, 00:45   #86
BHPian
 
pramod's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 449
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

I work on "WindRiver" linux and "CentOS 5.1".

CentOS is used for a Reporting Server application with a very big DB to query with for a 3G equipment.

We use a customized version (proprietery) of WindRiver 2.0 Linux to run applications for a SMS/MMS/VoiceMail router product.

Reasons specific to this usage :
1. Requirement of 64 bit OS
2. The dependency of the Blades (processors) we use with the linux
3. Some of the specific "cramjobs" needed in Live Mobile network sites works well on these linux distros.

Regards
Pramod
pramod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2010, 11:56   #87
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 218
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Ubuntu with add-ons like mediubuntu makes it perfect.
For people who want a direct windows to linux switch ,I thik Linux mint is the easiest one. They have customized Ubuntu ,so much that,we don't have to install any add-ons later.
mykal shoemaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2010, 18:00   #88
Senior - BHPian
 
alpha1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: P00NA
Posts: 1,613
Thanked: 949 Times
Default

Anyone facing problems with TATA photon + connectivity on linux (any distro)?
On mine the Huawei modem is detected (ofcourse after installing usb-modeswitch) only after reboot.

It stops after few hours. And if you disconnect, and reconnect - it doesn't.

Surprising, I don't see any problems in my Airtel connection.
alpha1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2010, 19:58   #89
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kochi
Posts: 2,147
Thanked: 142 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
We have standardized on Arch-Linux in my company. It is supposedly very clean with least overhead.
Welcome to the club!!!

I remember your comment about integrated experience for developers somewhere on this forum, and am looking forward to experience. I suppose you are more a developer than a sysadmin, and hence my curiosity.
BaCkSeAtDrIVeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2010, 20:00   #90
Newbie
 
sandy261's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 14
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alpha1 View Post
Anyone facing problems with TATA photon + connectivity on linux (any distro)?
On mine the Huawei modem is detected (ofcourse after installing usb-modeswitch) only after reboot.

It stops after few hours. And if you disconnect, and reconnect - it doesn't.

Surprising, I don't see any problems in my Airtel connection.
I am using Tata Photon+ on Ubuntu (Lucid) without any issues. Had disconnections with Airtel datacards. But I am happy with Ubuntu + Photon+ combo
sandy261 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows ----> Linux pratheesh Shifting gears 60 19th August 2014 19:17
Which email provider do you use and why? shuvc Shifting gears 29 23rd June 2014 12:01
How much of A/C do you use in your cars and why! muni The Indian Car Scene 40 27th August 2006 21:53
Which linux distribution for me? Harrie Shifting gears 3 5th October 2005 16:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 22:16.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks