Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11th June 2007, 15:03   #1
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default Mirroring partition while HDD upgradation

Hi,
My Laptop(Dell inspiron 1500) HDD is almost full. After all its only 80GB.
I have lots of stuff installed and lots of photos too + music and videos.
Currently its 50GB+30GB partitions.
I am thinking of getting a 2.5" 250GB HDD now, but the problem is I do not want to reinstall everything.
From the 30GB music folder I am okay with copying stuff, but imaging reinstalling all the software etc.,
So is there a way that I get a 250GB harddisk, and mirror the 50GB partition + the boot sector on that? That way I can plug in the 250GB HDD and boot up. Then all new stuff can come up on the rest of the partitions.
Is there a painless way of doing this?
I understand windows XP will crib about new hardware and reactivation, but I have the original install CD(luckily I chose that option) and can use that to reactivate.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2007, 15:43   #2
Team-BHP Support
 
theMAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6,993
Thanked: 1,420 Times
Default

For mirroring, the following has to be done:

1. The partitions - Actual and Mirrored have to have the same configurations, partition size and file systems.

2. The Actual partition(s) has to be upgraded to Dynamic Volumes- via Windows Disk Management

3. Apply the mirrors via Windows Disk Management

4. Even tho mirroring replicates the data of the actual partition, the end-user will see only 1 entry of this entire mirror setup which will be similar to a standard partition. You wont see any multiple copies of your partitions/files/folders etc

5. The Mirror will only be usable in case of the main HDD crash via boot-up options, during which case your complete live working environment is immediately available

So bottomline, the practical way you'll get to use the mirror is if your main Active Volume fails, in which case you wouldnt have to worry abt data loss.

I feel File Replication is what you actually need, which is accomplished thru 3rd party apps.

Last edited by theMAG : 11th June 2007 at 15:44.
theMAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2007, 15:49   #3
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

I just want to change my hard disk without having to reinstall everything.
Thats why I wanted to create a parition and boot sector on the new HDD which is an exact replica of the old HDD, so I can just swap the HDD and work without any issues.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2007, 15:51   #4
Team-BHP Support
 
theMAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6,993
Thanked: 1,420 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
I just want to change my hard disk without having to reinstall everything.
Then mirroring is perfect
theMAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2007, 16:04   #5
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theMAG View Post
Then mirroring is perfect
So what do I do? Some steps please?
I presume :
1. I buy a 2.5" HDD and a casing
2. Plug it into USB
3. Do the mirroring (Any tips on doing this?)
4. Put the hdd in laptop
5. Boot?
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2007, 16:18   #6
BHPian
 
rishibravo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 579
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

tanveer do you have Linux on it or windows or is it dualBoot. If its linux (with grub or lilo) mirror the data using dd. otherwise there is a software called acronis . Use this to make an image of the existing setup and then install this image on the new hard disk
rishibravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2007, 16:20   #7
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

The windows partition is NTFS. Thats why I do not want to play around with DD. I have been bitten many times, and have lost hard disks trying NTFS circus. The Linux partition mirroring and boot up is cakewalk, but in windows land I am lost.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2007, 16:28   #8
Team-BHP Support
 
theMAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6,993
Thanked: 1,420 Times
Default

tsk,

Prereq: Upgrading to Dynamic Volume, under Disk Management, for both the HDDs

1. Right-click the grey desc panel and click Upgrade To Dynamic Disk




Assuming Disk 1 is the disk on which the image of Disk 0 will be mirrored, go to Disk Management:

1. Right-click Disk 0 and click Add Mirror

2. In the dialog box that opens, select your new HDD- Disk 1 (should be pre-partitioned to match the Disk 0 partition), and click Add Mirror

3. Both disks 0 and 1 will now have the same color code, the same drive letter and the volumes will the status "Regenerating" while the info is being copied from the 1st to the 2nd disk.


But tsk, I have my doubts on the success of this method on your setup. We've done mirroring on servers only to date. Windows 2003 Server R2 is typically required.

The easiest will be to make your new HDD as Secondary, in lieu of the above method.


NOTE:

1. I've excerpted the above from Microsoft KB Article # 323432

2. The above process is to mirror the system and boot partition (RAID 1)

Last edited by theMAG : 11th June 2007 at 16:33.
theMAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2007, 16:32   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

mirroring is the best option but it has to be done from the setup level when you install the OS so I think it is better to install all the stuff from scratch or you can keep all the backup on the external and leave the whole thing like this only.....
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2007, 16:43   #10
BHPian
 
Xsailor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Noida
Posts: 128
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Hi Tanveer.
My experience with mirroring is minimal [1 attempt and it worked out fine]. I used Norton Ghost to do the deed - Pleanty free/trial apps available on the net, though.

Important: Use the DOS route to mirror (ghost does that) otherwise you may get your partition paths wrong [C:, D:] and that will cause lots of software to malfx since registry entries will remain the 'original'.

All the best

Cheers
Xsailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2007, 16:45   #11
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

Ok found the solution.
There is a readymade solution too
Key Features | Casper hard disk drive copy software provides complete PC backup protection | Future Systems Solutions
The trial edition does what I need.
But checked out some sites
The steps are simple.
1. Create a mirror(either by software if I have a Maxtor drive) or manually.
2. Boot up new HDD and use windows CD in fix installation mode.

Last edited by tsk1979 : 11th June 2007 at 16:46.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2007, 16:52   #12
BHPian
 
rishibravo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 579
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

this looks good... I think all you need to do is fix the MBR after that or would that also be needed??
rishibravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2007, 16:58   #13
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

They say its not needed, its a complete drive2drive solution
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2007, 11:37   #14
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 46
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Hey Tsk, why dont you try norton ghost ?? I have it if you want or you can download it.
speedonline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2007, 13:09   #15
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by speedonline View Post
Hey Tsk, why dont you try norton ghost ?? I have it if you want or you can download it.
I also had a licensed copy of norton ghost which I uninstalled. I am scared of norton products and would use them as the last resort!
Too many bad experiences.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Smartphone Mirroring on Head-Unit Epic In-Car Entertainment 19 1st November 2014 20:55
Car Partition like New York Taxis - Installation advice please Murugan Modifications & Accessories 28 11th May 2011 16:05
How to ADD a Hard Disk partition in Vista kb100 Gadgets, Computers & Software 21 14th May 2008 21:13
Headlight bulb upgradation help required. Dragonov Modifications & Accessories 9 22nd September 2006 13:57
My SUMO 'ICE' Upgradation........please read:) stevie In-Car Entertainment 8 7th June 2006 10:59


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 11:56.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks