Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


View Poll Results: Do you face any Problems with TATA Sky?
Yes 117 37.86%
No 192 62.14%
Voters: 309. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 9th June 2010, 22:36   #151
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 263
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raja View Post
I have also noticed excessive pixellation. signal quality has definitely dropped.
+1 Raccoon, constant reminder to watch 'My Name is Khan' is bugging me to death!
Yes I have also noticed. I recorded it on couple of channels. See the samples -
TATA Sky..Do you face any problems?-image312.jpg

TATA Sky..Do you face any problems?-image313.jpg

TATA Sky..Do you face any problems?-image314.jpg

TATA Sky..Do you face any problems?-image315.jpg

TATA Sky..Do you face any problems?-image316.jpg

TATA Sky..Do you face any problems?-image317.jpg

TATA Sky..Do you face any problems?-image318.jpg

Same thing I observed on Sony, before starting of yesterdays India Idol. I recorded that too. PLanning to make complaint on Weekend. Already called their CC, guy told to perform Mater reset. But that did not help.
omishra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2010, 00:39   #152
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 94
Thanked: 24 Times
Default

When I bought tata sky I didn't anticipate the reception during rains, it just goes offair! I never had this problem with cable which I am missing dearly.
fastraj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2010, 03:09   #153
Senior - BHPian
 
Raccoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Poona
Posts: 1,832
Thanked: 103 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by naveenroy View Post
For the past 2 days, I have noticed big time pixellation when the scene gradually changes from a very dark scene to a bright scene on TataSky. And it is so bad that for a second or so, I really cannot recognise what is going on at all! Anyone noticed this on TataSky?

@ Raccoon - that banner thingie is really bugging me! I have also sent off an email.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raja View Post
I have also noticed excessive pixellation. signal quality has definitely dropped.
+1 Raccoon, constant reminder to watch 'My Name is Khan' is bugging me to death!
Someone called me up after I raised a ticket thru their website. He started explaining that loads of their customers do know about their showcase service, so they need that banner to educate them about it. He made it sound as if its all about consumer education, lol. I told him that as an eg. that even mobile service providers can justify bombarding their customers with promo messages and call it customer awareness/education. What you call it does not change the fact that it is EXTREMELY annoying....

Haven't noticed any degradation in picture quality till now. Didn't have any noticeable issues last rainy season either. In fact it is more reliable than the Hathway cable we had earlier.

Last edited by Raccoon : 10th June 2010 at 03:10.
Raccoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2010, 08:44   #154
Senior - BHPian
 
ghodlur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Thane
Posts: 4,848
Thanked: 1,827 Times
Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastraj View Post
When I bought tata sky I didn't anticipate the reception during rains, it just goes offair! I never had this problem with cable which I am missing dearly.
+1 to that. had heavy rains in Thane yesterday and as usual Tata Sky reception was lost for upteem times. It was the same case last year too and the customer support had assured that they had upgraded their equipments and there would be no issues from this year. But then this is an Indian company which are know to deliver false promises and there are customers like me who believe them and continue the subscription.
ghodlur is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2010, 08:54   #155
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 951
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Rains will always interefere with satellite signals and this is common issue with all DTH providers.

For better signal strength, try adjusting the dish direction..I normally do the adjustment myself whenever I notice the signal strength fall below 60.
sanjayc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2010, 08:54   #156
BHPian
 
prateekm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mumbai & Pune
Posts: 748
Thanked: 304 Times
Default

My Tata Sky set-top box ceased to function yesterday night. The red light on the adapter can be seen but the set top box doesn't start up. They charge 350 bucks just to send a engineer :(

Quote:
Rains will always interefere with satellite signals and this is common issue with all DTH providers.

For better signal strength, try adjusting the dish direction..I normally do the adjustment myself whenever I notice the signal strength fall below 60.
Can't do that during rains because out apartments have a common dish on the terrace of each building and it can't be accessed.

Last edited by prateekm : 23rd June 2010 at 08:56.
prateekm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2010, 14:23   #157
Senior - BHPian
 
ghodlur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Thane
Posts: 4,848
Thanked: 1,827 Times
Angry

Whenever the reception becomes weak a message pops up at every channel asking subscribers to switch off the STB for 10 secs min and then switch on. I dont know the logic of Tata Sky for the same but it seems to work on only couple of occassions. What would happen in 10 secs, would the dish align itself in the direction of stronger reception/would the STB cool down if hot/buy time to figure out the actual problem/allow subscriber to pull out more hair in frustration. I guess not.
ghodlur is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2010, 17:14   #158
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 263
Thanked: 10 Times
Default Partial Solution

Quote:
Originally Posted by omishra View Post
Yes I have also noticed. I recorded it on couple of channels. See the samples -
Attachment 364325
..
Same thing I observed on Sony, before starting of yesterdays India Idol. I recorded that too. PLanning to make complaint on Weekend. Already called their CC, guy told to perform Mater reset. But that did not help.
My PVR (STB) is replaced under warranty. Now signal strength is looking good without adjusting dish. Picture quality improved, colour and sound levels increased. So one tuner in PVR went bad. Still sometime frame turning into squares.. But now I switched on digital noise reduction of TV to max.

But this seems to be issue with normal TATA Sky too & confirmed by another family friend. Something to do at Head End not as our site.
omishra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2010, 17:01   #159
Senior - BHPian
 
Raccoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Poona
Posts: 1,832
Thanked: 103 Times
Default

I'm yet to experience noticeable noise or outage due to rain. Been using for 2+ years. I wonder if you guys have your dishes fixed right.

And they still haven't removed those infernal promo messages from the banner. If they don't then I'd be inclined to add to the churn in the DTH industry, when the subscription expires.
Raccoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2010, 17:13   #160
BHPian
 
manavdotcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chennai
Posts: 132
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Anyone facing this issue of screen freezing for a second or so on Normal TaTaSky.This mostly happens on fast moving images like songs and dances.Helpline says everything is allright from their end and they want 350 Rs for sending the person. Can I do anything myself ?

What is the Normal Signal Strength/level etc. Last time it happened, they asked me to re-insert the cable in STB and reboot which helped. Nothing helps now.
manavdotcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2010, 18:07   #161
BHPian
 
Fillmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 253
Thanked: 76 Times
Default

Recently they have increased the size of their Banner which displays the Current Channel etc.. i.e. the rectangular box at the bottom part of the screen.
Very annoying .. is there any way to turn this off / reduce the size ?
Fillmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2010, 18:33   #162
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 203
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

So the general trend is, no one like the Showcase ad which has been added in the new banner. Individual attempt's to get this changed have been shoed off.

Can't we all start a petition against TataSky to take that off?
MrinalSinha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2010, 21:52   #163
BHPian
 
prateekm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mumbai & Pune
Posts: 748
Thanked: 304 Times
Default

Quote:
My Tata Sky set-top box ceased to function yesterday night. The red light on the adapter can be seen but the set top box doesn't start up. They charge 350 bucks just to send a engineer :(
Just the next day, the service engineers came. They checked the set-top box, replaced it and took the old one without any fuss. Just had to pay 350 as service charges, the box was replaced free of cost.
prateekm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2010, 08:54   #164
Senior - BHPian
 
ghodlur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Thane
Posts: 4,848
Thanked: 1,827 Times
Question

I had enquired with tata sky customer care and they said they would be charging me 350/- to visit to evaluate if additional cable is required since I am planning to shift the location of the STB in the same room. They would not charge me for the cable but I am sure the cable length would increase due to the new location, I doubt whether they would have to put a new cable from the dish to the new STB location or would they join to the existing cable. For these reasons, I wanted to get the engineer home but they would charge me 350 for the same.
Just wanted to know if they decide to join a small length of cable to existing cable, would it affect the quality of tranmission.
ghodlur is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2010, 00:54   #165
Senior - BHPian
 
Raccoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Poona
Posts: 1,832
Thanked: 103 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrinalSinha View Post
So the general trend is, no one like the Showcase ad which has been added in the new banner. Individual attempt's to get this changed have been shoed off.

Can't we all start a petition against TataSky to take that off?
Don't know about petition, but how about a mass ditching of Tata Sky? Really pissed with them...

They bombard your mobile with their rotten ads (I had to de-register my number), make you stare at them the moment you turn on their stupid box, keep sending promo mail on the tv which displays that irritating envelope until you see the message, and now they invade the banner! Whats next?
Raccoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open Face vs. Full Face Helmets : How Safe are they? Rehaan Motorbikes 73 28th May 2015 15:13
Face to face with an angry tiger drkakkilaya Travelogues 49 22nd June 2012 18:46
Tata SKY / Dish / CAS what is your choice .... all south delhi BHPians whatcanthisbe Gadgets, Computers & Software 1 29th December 2006 10:31
How many of you face problems with electronics in your car? frankmehta Technical Stuff 15 15th April 2006 10:15


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 10:29.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks