Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


View Poll Results: Do you face any Problems with TATA Sky?
Yes 117 37.50%
No 195 62.50%
Voters: 312. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7th January 2017, 23:07   #661
BHPian
 
Durango Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 656
Thanked: 503 Times
Default Re: TATA Sky..Do you face any problems?

I have two connections, one is used more frequently than the other in the same premises. If one remains inactive for some time, that get's inactivated from Tata Sky side and I've to write or mail them to get it reactivated even if the dues have been paid regularly. This has been happening for some time and is very annoying.
Durango Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2017, 09:13   #662
BHPian
 
Makin Rulesz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Chennai
Posts: 160
Thanked: 144 Times
Default Re: TATA Sky..Do you face any problems?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Durango Dude View Post
I have two connections, one is used more frequently than the other in the same premises. If one remains inactive for some time, that get's inactivated from Tata Sky side and I've to write or mail them to get it reactivated even if the dues have been paid regularly. This has been happening for some time and is very annoying.
I had this problem with my Dish connection earlier. Solution is to keep the STB in standby mode instead of powering it off completely, in case you are not using it for long.
Makin Rulesz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2017, 16:11   #663
BHPian
 
rohitoasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Chennai
Posts: 215
Thanked: 383 Times
Default Re: TATA Sky..Do you face any problems?

Ever since cyclone Vardha, there has been a unique problem in my Tatasky Philips CRT TV combo.

When i switch on, the blue screen would persist and only the sounds of the channels would run in the background. After around half an hour (This period kept on increasing over the time to over 2 hours), the images would follow. With a lot of travelling last month, i could not spend time to analyse and troubleshoot it. Tatasky customer care and even my roommates deduced that the TV was well past its prime and needed replacement. With a sentimentality for CRT monitors in the age of LCD/LEDs i was adamant that was not the case.Over few days i noticed that once the images appeared, they would fail to reappear on accidental switching on and off of the Tatasky device. This reinforced my belief.

Finally last week got Tatasky technician to come over and indeed the fault was in the Tatasky device. He only had a HD box available in hand. I did not want him to come back a later date with another box and charge me additional visit fees. So got the box upgraded to Tatasky HD. So finally after a months time got to see the images in TV.

PS : I know i have advertised how lazy i am by taking action on a broken TV a month after problem.
rohitoasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2017, 11:25   #664
BHPian
 
sumathindra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 601
Thanked: 190 Times
Default Re: TATA Sky..Do you face any problems?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Durango Dude View Post
I have two connections, one is used more frequently than the other in the same premises. If one remains inactive for some time, that get's inactivated from Tata Sky side and I've to write or mail them to get it reactivated even if the dues have been paid regularly. This has been happening for some time and is very annoying.
I have been observing this issue since years now. The solution for this is to send a SMS as follows - HR to 56633. This will activate the subscription. The logic for this behavior is people who are on a daily or weekly charge plan, it safeguards them from loosing their money and when deactivated their balance does not go down...
sumathindra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2017, 10:53   #665
BHPian
 
civic-sense's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 662
Thanked: 666 Times
Default Re: TATA Sky..Do you face any problems?

I got a Tata Sky HD connection a week ago, and am facing laggy performance with the remote. When I change channels there is an unpredictable lag. Some times the channel changes in a split of a second while sometimes it takes over two seconds. The lag makes me doubt that the button press was not registered which makes me press again and suddenly it skips twice. Is there a setting or a tweak that I can do to improve things? It is extremely annoying.
civic-sense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2017, 10:35   #666
BHPian
 
Majumdarda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Pune
Posts: 640
Thanked: 349 Times
Default Re: TATA Sky..Do you face any problems?

Does anybody have the latest list of channels and their numbers so that I can take a print out of the same and have it pasted besides the TV. Navigating via the guide option is not that enriching after all.
Majumdarda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2017, 11:10   #667
JLS
BHPian
 
JLS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 125
Thanked: 101 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by civic-sense View Post
I got a Tata Sky HD connection a week ago, and am facing laggy performance with the remote. When I change channels there is an unpredictable lag. Some times the channel changes in a split of a second while sometimes it takes over two seconds. The lag makes me doubt that the button press was not registered which makes me press again and suddenly it skips twice. Is there a setting or a tweak that I can do to improve things? It is extremely annoying.
Reset your set top box to factory settings, and this problem should go away.
There is an option in setting menu for factory reset, will need password.
JLS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2017, 21:10   #668
BHPian
 
Makin Rulesz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Chennai
Posts: 160
Thanked: 144 Times
Default Re: TATA Sky..Do you face any problems?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Majumdarda View Post
Does anybody have the latest list of channels and their numbers so that I can take a print out of the same and have it pasted besides the TV. Navigating via the guide option is not that enriching after all.
http://www.tatasky.com/wps/portal/Ta...indyourchannel

By the way the new tree structure of channel list is more user friendly and easy to navigate between different genres.
Makin Rulesz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2017, 16:08   #669
Team-BHP Support
 
moralfibre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MH-12
Posts: 6,571
Thanked: 6,033 Times
Default Re: TATA Sky..Do you face any problems?

I have a dual tv Tata sky setup. I have had no issues with TATA sky for a long time but since the last one month both the tv experience blackouts for couple of seconds on almost all channels. During certain times, they work flawlessly but once it starts experiencing blackouts it stays forever until we shut both the tv sets down out of frustration.

Tata sky engineers have visited and stated that it is an earthing problem at home. I have tested this and it seems to a false theory.
moralfibre is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open Face vs. Full Face Helmets : How Safe are they? Rehaan Motorbikes 73 28th May 2015 15:13
Face to face with an angry tiger drkakkilaya Travelogues 49 22nd June 2012 18:46
Tata SKY / Dish / CAS what is your choice .... all south delhi BHPians whatcanthisbe Gadgets, Computers & Software 1 29th December 2006 10:31
How many of you face problems with electronics in your car? frankmehta Technical Stuff 15 15th April 2006 10:15


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 14:14.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks