Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28th June 2007, 16:38   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
madan80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,356
Thanked: 73 Times
Default

This is what I used

In particular :

Access Point : airtelgprs.com
User name: leave Blank
Password: leave Blank
Primary DNS: leave blank
Secondary DNS: leave blank
IP Address: leave blank
madan80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2007, 16:40   #17
Senior - BHPian
 
madan80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,356
Thanked: 73 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigman View Post
Thanks.

Will MO then allow me to use the full capabilities of a smart phone ? IE, Messenger, Outlook etc.

Could I use MO to surf the internet on my PC using a bluetooth connection between the pc and mobile ?

Also I only need access for 3 weeks maximum. So if I top my credit up and send the text to 646 is there any way I can deactivate it via text when I leave india ?
I dont know if the GPRS service is available for prepaid cards. Please call 121 and check. Also, to de-activate you need to send an email to their customer care.
madan80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2007, 16:51   #18
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,491
Thanked: 6,768 Times
Default

IMHO MO gprs is good for urgent access to internet and email, but very honestly might not be really fast for the usage as an internet modem for PC/Laptop.

Steeroid was using Airtel GPRS and steer if you are reading do reply.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2007, 17:52   #19
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Madras
Posts: 558
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Jaggu, I second you. Mobile Office is too slow to be used as primary access. Urgent need is more suitable.

A
Absar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2007, 18:17   #20
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 1,217
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
IMHO MO gprs is good for urgent access to internet and email, but very honestly might not be really fast for the usage as an internet modem for PC/Laptop.

Steeroid was using Airtel GPRS and steer if you are reading do reply.
Thanks.

Yes I have seen how slow it is but I have no other option. The nearest town is 20KM away and all the internet cafes there are also using Airtel GPRS. I though rather than wasting fuel driving into town, I could save a bit of money and do my thing for cutting carbon emissions by staying at home and using gprs on the smart phone or linking it to the PC to check a few emails etc.
bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2007, 18:19   #21
BANNED
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: India
Posts: 4,346
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

Airtel GPRS is only a mobile solution and cannot be depended upon or be considered as a primary solution.

I have been using it from the time it was launched. Yes, that's from 2004. More than 3 years, 143gb of data transferred, Countless amount of frustrated calls to customer care, 4 mobile phones, mostly poor and sometimes blazing data speeds and a bonus 6 months free connectivity! Afterall, I am still using it and now these words I type are seen here thanks to the same.

To get the GPRS settings properly delivered, I would recommend you to please explain what model phone is yours.

Nokia has this great service of delivering GPRS settings to any of their GPRS capable phone regardless of the operator. CLICK!
speedzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2007, 18:38   #22
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 1,217
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by speedzak View Post
Airtel GPRS is only a mobile solution and cannot be depended upon or be considered as a primary solution.

I have been using it from the time it was launched. Yes, that's from 2004. More than 3 years, 143gb of data transferred, Countless amount of frustrated calls to customer care, 4 mobile phones, mostly poor and sometimes blazing data speeds and a bonus 6 months free connectivity! Afterall, I am still using it and now these words I type are seen here thanks to the same.

To get the GPRS settings properly delivered, I would recommend you to please explain what model phone is yours.

Nokia has this great service of delivering GPRS settings to any of their GPRS capable phone regardless of the operator. CLICK!
Its a cheap and chearful HTC Monet.
bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2007, 23:28   #23
BHPian
 
xinome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: I am lost....
Posts: 339
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

zak that link helped me a lot mmsing you rite now thanx!
xinome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2007, 05:04   #24
BHPian
 
rohitbagai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 401
Thanked: 226 Times
Default

Airtel Mobile Office GPRS in Haryana is 299 per month unlimited. In Punjab you will get EDGE and its faster than in haryana. You will have to change settings once you enter Punjab. EDGE is costlier I guess 400-450. I have been using Airtel GPRS since March 2003 in Haryana. And By far its the most reliable internet conection in haryana. Better than Data One Reliance Tata Indicom etc.If you need EDGE in Haryana you will have to opt for Idea Connection. If you stay close to the NH1 in Haryana you will get better connectivity and speed
rohitbagai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2007, 13:11   #25
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 1,217
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rohitbagai View Post
Airtel Mobile Office GPRS in Haryana is 299 per month unlimited. In Punjab you will get EDGE and its faster than in haryana. You will have to change settings once you enter Punjab. EDGE is costlier I guess 400-450. I have been using Airtel GPRS since March 2003 in Haryana. And By far its the most reliable internet conection in haryana. Better than Data One Reliance Tata Indicom etc.If you need EDGE in Haryana you will have to opt for Idea Connection. If you stay close to the NH1 in Haryana you will get better connectivity and speed
Thanks. I think 299 is reasonable for a month.

Please can you confirm whether your GPRS settings are like Madan posted below. That is :

Access Point : airtelgprs.com
User name: leave Blank
Password: leave Blank
Primary DNS: leave blank
Secondary DNS: leave blank
IP Address: leave blank
bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2007, 15:16   #26
BHPian
 
kvish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 577
Thanked: 110 Times
Default

If you use a nokia handset you can go to the nokia (support) site and enter your mobile number, they will sms the settings.
I dont have the URL handy with me now
kvish is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2007, 16:21   #27
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 1,217
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kvish View Post
If you use a nokia handset you can go to the nokia (support) site and enter your mobile number, they will sms the settings.
I dont have the URL handy with me now
Its a HTC Monet handset, so Nokia site is off limits.
bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2007, 18:02   #28
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,491
Thanked: 6,768 Times
Default

its very easy to set up in windows mobile and you can call airtel helpline and they will guide you over phone
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2007, 04:38   #29
BHPian
 
rohitbagai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 401
Thanked: 226 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigman View Post
Thanks. I think 299 is reasonable for a month.

Please can you confirm whether your GPRS settings are like Madan posted below. That is :

Access Point : airtelgprs.com
User name: leave Blank
Password: leave Blank
Primary DNS: leave blank
Secondary DNS: leave blank
IP Address: leave blank
Yep Settings are correct. You can send an SMS by typing MO to airtel at 2567 and they will send settings automatically.
Alternatively you can call at 121 press 1-- then 3 and then 3. The customer care executive will be specifically handling GPRS related queries. Inquire with them I am not sure but in haryana they use to not charge for the first month of GPRS activation . Call and confirm them if its still applicable

Rohit
rohitbagai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2007, 18:25   #30
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 137
Thanked: 54 Times
Default

As far as i know, OTA settings will work in SE and Nokia models, For all other its better to talk with CC people in airtel. For major handsets its enough to give accesspoint name. In case of airtel MO, its airtelgprs.com

The difference between AO and MO is,

AO - its basic wap service, but still we can access majority normal http sites. But using this, we cant access https::, that is secured sites like banking sites. Also we cant use email clients using this service.

MO - Full fledged internet service, we can configure email client and can access any sites including secured one. Relatively bit faster than AO.

In banglore for Activating MO, send SMS to 6123 by typing MO.
It will get activated with in 10- 15 mins and the charge is 140 / week.
smnrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mobile Browsing: GPRS v WiFi diabloo Gadgets, Computers & Software 62 28th October 2010 16:17
AirTel withdraws AIRTEL ONLINE gprs service star_aqua Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 6th May 2009 23:59
GPRS Providers in US Ketan Gadgets, Computers & Software 2 1st August 2006 18:47
any free gprs sites?? lambodude Shifting gears 4 21st September 2005 00:01


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 23:11.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks