Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 23rd July 2007, 10:43   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 433 Times
Default Technics Dolby Pro Logic Amp Problem

I have a Technics HT amplifier that is 8 years old now. off late when i play it in stereo, I am getting the output from only one channel. If i turn the vol control the 2nd channel starts working & it is fine for some time until it goes off again. After a while, the right channel just refuses to come on now. Can someone help me with this ? what could be the problem ? i gave it to a local service chap who played the amp for 1 whole day & returned it saying this problem never occurred during this time. But it keeps happening for me & i have no idea who can repair this in chennai.
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2007, 10:51   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

My guess is that there could be few of these problem

1) dry solder at any point of the amp
2) loose wires
3) dirty or rusty connector
4) since it is a old one the volume control pot might have got some problem due to usage. If it is a digital volume then forget this one.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2007, 13:02   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 433 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
My guess is that there could be few of these problem

1) dry solder at any point of the amp
2) loose wires
3) dirty or rusty connector
4) since it is a old one the volume control pot might have got some problem due to usage. If it is a digital volume then forget this one.
Thanks LBM.

1.
2. Checked the wires, nothing loose.
3. Connector in the amp ?
4. This could be it. How do i clean this thing ? I am not even able to pull off the cover on this.
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2007, 14:06   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,462
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
I have a Technics HT amplifier that is 8 years old now. off late when i play it in stereo, I am getting the output from only one channel. If i turn the vol control the 2nd channel starts working & it is fine for some time until it goes off again. After a while, the right channel just refuses to come on now. Can someone help me with this ? what could be the problem ? i gave it to a local service chap who played the amp for 1 whole day & returned it saying this problem never occurred during this time. But it keeps happening for me & i have no idea who can repair this in chennai.

Seems to be the volume pot... its got dust or moisture in it. get it cleaned.

And... try doing this. See if it works. With the amp off, try rotating the knob all the way up and down again, repeat 10-15 times. Now switch on the amp and try again. Dont ask me why, it works sometimes.

Last edited by gunbir : 24th July 2007 at 14:08.
gunbir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2007, 14:23   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 433 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunbir View Post
Seems to be the volume pot... its got dust or moisture in it. get it cleaned.

And... try doing this. See if it works. With the amp off, try rotating the knob all the way up and down again, repeat 10-15 times. Now switch on the amp and try again. Dont ask me why, it works sometimes.

I was doing just this to make it work, worked for a couple of years, now it has stopped responding to this. Guess, i will have to remove the knob, clean the pot & refix. any ideas how to go about this.
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2007, 14:26   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
I was doing just this to make it work, worked for a couple of years, now it has stopped responding to this. Guess, i will have to remove the knob, clean the pot & refix. any ideas how to go about this.
Sir I asked in the earlier post is it a digital one or a normal pot with only 3/4 of the turning.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2007, 14:37   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 433 Times
Default

It has that volume control knob which can also be operated through the remote. So i guess it is not digital, right ?
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2007, 14:52   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
It has that volume control knob which can also be operated through the remote. So i guess it is not digital, right ?
It is not necessary there are motorized volume control knobs that can be controlled by the remote....I am asking that it goes only 3/4 time and not round and round.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2007, 14:55   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 433 Times
Default

Yeah, it does not go round & round like a merry-go-round. goes only 3/4th. damn,
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2007, 14:59   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
Yeah, it does not go round & round like a merry-go-round. goes only 3/4th. damn,
Then do what gunbir suggested it help...

It is the dust which is accumulated on the carbon track which is causing the problem. If it does not help get it service at any good repair shop in front of your eyes.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2007, 17:35   #11
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: goa
Posts: 979
Thanked: 43 Times
Default

It's definitely the volume control pot. If you can reach to the back of it, spray with a switch cleaner, that should clean it up for another couple of years.
filcord is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eicher introduces 3 reefer trucks - Pro 1059XP, Pro 1100XP and Pro 6025 Aditya Commercial Vehicles 0 22nd December 2015 18:01
Eicher launches Pro 8031XM, displays Pro 6025T trucks at EXCON 2015 Aditya Commercial Vehicles 0 26th November 2015 14:40
Toyota logic I fail to understand. Rtech The Indian Car Scene 30 25th April 2010 01:36
Pioneer with Technics speakers - need advice mathew In-Car Entertainment 1 9th August 2009 23:11
INFO: Traffic Logic Technocrat The Indian Car Scene 0 31st January 2005 20:34


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 10:19.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks