Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28th July 2007, 11:31   #1
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 96
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Tata-Sky: How to sell/transfer?

Hi All,

I would like to know, if any of you have ever sold/transferred Tata-Sky connection to others? I want to sell my connection, but following is the problem:

Tata-sky will charge 1000 Rs for relocating the connection. Who will bear this cost? I had bought the connection 3 months back for 3000 Rs (+1000 Rs subsription, which has expired now). Say, I want to sell it for 1000 Rs. Another 1000 Rs need to be paid for relocation. So, buyer will have to shed 2000 Rs. Why would anyone buy a second hand for 2000 Rs ? Is it not? On the other hand, if I have to shell that 1000 Rs, my net gain would be "0". So, fair deal would be to sell Tata-sky for 500 Rs?? That's all it fetches ?? Just want to know your opinion on a proper way to sell/buy used Tata-sky connection
Indian is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 28th July 2007, 13:01   #2
Distinguished - BHPian
 
condor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Speed-brkr City
Posts: 8,279
Thanked: 1,600 Times
Default

Does Tata Sky allow a transfer to another person ? (Dish-TV does not, AFAIK.) Since it is only 3 months old, you will still have wty. If some one does pick it up, how will he avail of wty services if he needs to ?

These two points together form the problem in re-selling DTH sets. Re-selling is not so wide spread.

Why do you think you need to go through their relocation service ? Why cant you do it yourself ?
condor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2007, 13:19   #3
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 96
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Hi Condor,

I checked with Tata-Sky. They say that if I have to transfer it to other person, I need to give them a letter to transfer & pay 1000 Rs.

It is difficult to get the alignment correct & do proper installation ourselves, in case of relocation.

Main reason why I am opting out of Tata-Sky are:

1. Rainy season - we don't get signal. Even if it is moderate rain.
2. Have a better digital signal over cable service offered by our cabel-walla. Quality is better than T-Sky & comparitivel cheaper.

I have seen some people selling/buying. Just wanted to check what is the good rate for 3 month old T-Sky connection & how this relocation charges are handled by buyer/seller?
Indian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2007, 14:12   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,550
Thanked: 403 Times
Default

I don't think you can do that. These are like mobile SIMs. If at all you decide to sell it & there is a buyer willing to take it, you can give 200 bucks to the local dealer & get it fixed. TATA Sky need not know about that.

Else if you want to do it properly, give it back to TATA Sky, they might refund a part of the money you paid. Check with them.
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2007, 14:14   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
satish_appasani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 1,012
Thanked: 24 Times
Default

I think the 1000 RS you need to pay for relocating are installation charges. Tata Sky technician goes to the new location, installs the dish and connects to your box. I believe they cover the charge of the dish antenna in installation charges and still they own that.
satish_appasani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2007, 15:23   #6
Distinguished - BHPian
 
condor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Speed-brkr City
Posts: 8,279
Thanked: 1,600 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Indian
Main reason why I am opting out of Tata-Sky are:
1. Rainy season - we don't get signal. Even if it is moderate rain.
Bad. Shouldn't that qualify as a technical problem for Tata-Sky guys to fix ?

As discussed previously in the other thread, get a larger dish. This should solve your problem, and be a cheaper solution.

Reg relocation charges, try talk to any of the technicians, on the side, if they can help you.
condor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2007, 16:23   #7
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 96
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
I don't think you can do that. These are like mobile SIMs. If at all you decide to sell it & there is a buyer willing to take it, you can give 200 bucks to the local dealer & get it fixed. TATA Sky need not know about that.
Will have to check this. Our local cabelwalla tried his best to relocate & was unsuccesful. May be I will check with some local dealer if they can help in relocating. Yep, this is what I wanted to check, if some local guys can indeed get the alignment correct. Will check.

Quote:
Else if you want to do it properly, give it back to TATA Sky, they might refund a part of the money you paid. Check with them.
Guess this is ruled out. Don't think T-sky will return any amount. Will check anyway.

I feel this is the biggest drawback with T-Sky or dish. Relocation or if you are not happy with the service, there is little you can do
Indian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2007, 09:12   #8
LLL
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Delhi
Posts: 634
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Indian View Post
1. Rainy season - we don't get signal. Even if it is moderate rain.
Instead of relocation, can you ask them to fix the problem above and tell them that you will cancel the subscription asking for a full refund if they cant fix this problem?
LLL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2007, 11:16   #9
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 96
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LLL View Post
Instead of relocation, can you ask them to fix the problem above and tell them that you will cancel the subscription asking for a full refund if they cant fix this problem?
I tried this. They acknowledge that the problem exist in rainy seasons. Even if it is a moderate rain, the transmission stops. Secondly, we also don't get all the required regional channels, which Hathway gives. I feel T-sky is not worth it & want to get-away.
Indian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2007, 13:11   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
iraghava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bhaiyyaland
Posts: 8,018
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Indian View Post
I feel this is the biggest drawback with T-Sky or dish. Relocation or if you are not happy with the service, there is little you can do
I had a Dish TV connection which I needed to shift from my factory to my home & all I did was call the local dealer of Dish TV & have his man come & install the same at my home. Cost: Rs. 100 only! Dish/TATA doesn't need to know where the connection is.
iraghava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2007, 14:13   #11
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 96
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
I had a Dish TV connection which I needed to shift from my factory to my home & all I did was call the local dealer of Dish TV & have his man come & install the same at my home. Cost: Rs. 100 only! Dish/TATA doesn't need to know where the connection is.
Oh good. I have to find such a dealer to relocate. But its a big headache to do away with this T-sky/dish TV. Isn't it? It is not as simple as taking a connection
Indian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TATA Sky..Do you face any problems? SRK Gadgets, Computers & Software 521 2nd September 2014 20:39
TATA sky on LCD monitor neoonwheels Gadgets, Computers & Software 39 17th October 2011 13:27
Is TATA SKY Down Fillmore Gadgets, Computers & Software 16 8th December 2009 15:33
Connecting Tata Sky wirelessly sixthsense Gadgets, Computers & Software 21 18th July 2009 21:54


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 01:28.

Copyright 2000 - 2014, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks