Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14th June 2009, 16:35   #76
Senior - BHPian
 
deepclutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Muvattupuzha
Posts: 1,119
Thanked: 108 Times
Default

in a terminal ,"sensors" command can give the info.
deepclutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2009, 21:52   #77
BHPian
 
kunaldhami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Surat
Posts: 144
Thanked: 62 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deepclutch View Post
@kunaldhami: I too am using dataone on bridge mode on GNU/Linux for many years.never faced such an issue.which distro are you using?

Configure the bridge mode connection as:
open a terminal and run "sudo pppoeconf" .I hope you have configured similarly?
Thanks for the reply.
I am using ubuntu and used this sudo pppoeconf method only.
can u post me exect method including adding DNS addresses so I can redo whole thing.
kunaldhami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2009, 22:14   #78
BHPian
 
hyper123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 321
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deepclutch View Post
in a terminal ,"sensors" command can give the info.
Thank you very much! Just what I wanted.
hyper123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2009, 07:20   #79
Senior - BHPian
 
deepclutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Muvattupuzha
Posts: 1,119
Thanked: 108 Times
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by kunaldhami View Post
Thanks for the reply.
I am using ubuntu and used this sudo pppoeconf method only.
can u post me exect method including adding DNS addresses so I can redo whole thing.
1)make sure your lan card is up(see the output of "ifconfig" to see eth0/1 is up).
2)configure using pppoeconf .
3)Dataone DNS servers are added if you chose the default.
4)for using opendns/dnsadvantage/verizon etc ,you need to edit /etc/ppp/peers/dsl-provider file.

You can do as below:
press ALT+F2 and inside the box ,enter "gksudo gedit /etc/ppp/peers/dsl-provider" (Without quotes!)

give your password when prompted.now you can edit the file.
Find the line containing usepeerdns .add a "#" preceeding usepeerdns to comment it out.

save and exit.

5)Edit /etc/resolv.conf and add the name servers you want to.

same as above "gksudo gedit /etc/resolv.conf" remove all previous entries.
add below lines for opendns :

nameserver 208.67.222.222
nameserver 208.67.220.220


save and exit.now start the broadband connection(pon dsl-provider) and go to http://welcome.opendns.com if it works ,will show a tick mark.
--

All Above Procedures can be done via network-admin gui as well.I am used to manually editing the conf files.so ..

I have made a shortcut to "pon dsl-provider" and "poff" in Gnome Top Panel ,so as it is easy to start and stop net.
You can use Custom Shortcuts made to achieve this as below screen shot(look at the red and green apples?)
Attached Images
 
deepclutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2009, 22:10   #80
BHPian
 
kunaldhami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Surat
Posts: 144
Thanked: 62 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deepclutch View Post
1)make sure your lan card is up(see the output of "ifconfig" to see eth0/1 is up).
2)configure using pppoeconf .
3)Dataone DNS servers are added if you chose the default.
4)for using opendns/dnsadvantage/verizon etc ,you need to edit /etc/ppp/peers/dsl-provider file.

You can do as below:
press ALT+F2 and inside the box ,enter "gksudo gedit /etc/ppp/peers/dsl-provider" (Without quotes!)

give your password when prompted.now you can edit the file.
Find the line containing usepeerdns .add a "#" preceeding usepeerdns to comment it out.

save and exit.

5)Edit /etc/resolv.conf and add the name servers you want to.

same as above "gksudo gedit /etc/resolv.conf" remove all previous entries.
add below lines for opendns :

nameserver 208.67.222.222
nameserver 208.67.220.220


save and exit.now start the broadband connection(pon dsl-provider) and go to http://welcome.opendns.com if it works ,will show a tick mark.
--

All Above Procedures can be done via network-admin gui as well.I am used to manually editing the conf files.so ..

I have made a shortcut to "pon dsl-provider" and "poff" in Gnome Top Panel ,so as it is easy to start and stop net.
You can use Custom Shortcuts made to achieve this as below screen shot(look at the red and green apples?)
Thanks a lot for the help. Its working.
kunaldhami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2009, 01:24   #81
BHPian
 
raghu.t.k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 446
Thanked: 161 Times
Default Feodra 11 Livecd and Reliance Netconnect

I have created a LiveCD, infact a liveusb on a 8GB pendrive. I need some help to configure the Reliance Netconnect ZTE AC8710 device on this. Any suggestion, also would I be able to expand a liveusb to a full fledged system without changing anything on the boot or impacting anything else.

What I am looking at is, when I boot from usb, it should function as a linux laptop, and when removed, a normal windows xp laptop.

Thanks
-Raghu
raghu.t.k is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2009, 01:45   #82
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,913
Thanked: 15,582 Times
Default

Make sure you do not have a swap partition on the USB drive, and if you do not have enough ram, use swap on HDD.
Flash memory has limited number of writes, and if you have low amount of ram and the swap is sitting on USB, your drive will fry soon
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2009, 11:18   #83
BHPian
 
gkrishn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 584
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

Got latest ubuntu installed on my system. Long term plan is to move to linux in every aspect of my desktop usage. The installation went smooth and OS was up running in no time.

One niggling issue. I still depend on vista to convert cr2 to tiff format.

Is there any converter for linux? Canon dosnt support linux.
gkrishn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2009, 11:38   #84
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,913
Thanked: 15,582 Times
Default

install rawtherapee software, it can handle CR2 from canon. Ditto for ufraw/Gimp
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2009, 12:01   #85
BHPian
 
gkrishn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 584
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

Tsk, thanks for that fast reply.

Few more noob question.

From my login(the one i created during install, i guess this has the root privilege), i update the firefox to 3.5. But other users still have the default 3.08 firefox.

There is this device manager in Win. Is there such similar thing here? How to see all the devices detected by the linux? And also the driver version that are installed for these devices?

I like the shell pretty much. So any commands do get the above detail is more welcome!
gkrishn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2009, 12:04   #86
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,913
Thanked: 15,582 Times
Default

What is the firefox location.
I suspect you installed firefox3.5 in another directory, while the others are seeing /usr/bin/firefox.
So install firefox from package manager rather than manually.
So go to your root login and do which firefox
Do the same in other logins and see.
As for device manager, in Linux a device support is compiled in kernel.
Various Window managers like KDE etc., give their own hardware managers.
For example Kde HAL
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2009, 12:15   #87
Senior - BHPian
 
deepclutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Muvattupuzha
Posts: 1,119
Thanked: 108 Times
Default

always use the package manager to install applications in GNU/Linux.Unlike Windows ,You need not go for every software to their respective download centres,unless the package is not available in the repositories.moreover,3rd party repositories are also available for distributions like Debian,Ubuntu etc.
read:
Ubuntu:Jaunty -

While ,there is "device manager" for Gnome Desktop Environment Especially:
lshw/lshw-gtk(GUI),hardinfo et al.you can use synaptic package manager to install.
but I will say ,don't expect Linux as very similar to windows or as a windows clone.
read:
Linux is NOT Windows
deepclutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2009, 23:14   #88
BHPian
 
raghu.t.k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 446
Thanked: 161 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
Make sure you do not have a swap partition on the USB drive, and if you do not have enough ram, use swap on HDD.
Flash memory has limited number of writes, and if you have low amount of ram and the swap is sitting on USB, your drive will fry soon
Thanks, let me see if I can move it.

Any idea how I could connect to the net connect device from Linux?

Thanks and regards
Raghu
raghu.t.k is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2009, 14:09   #89
BHPian
 
jassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 980
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

i am on ubuntu 9.04 (jaunty) on an ibm thinkpad x61s. Was content with fireefox 3.0, and did try moving to 3.5 (for the weave tab sync plugin), but 3.5 has a few issues, so back to 3.0. Anyone tried the chromium (google chrome) release yet - it seems pretty fast.
jassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2009, 14:20   #90
Senior - BHPian
 
deepclutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Muvattupuzha
Posts: 1,119
Thanked: 108 Times
Default

I tried Chrome browser on very alpha stage in Ubuntu via ppa repository.daily updates hits around 20MB.But ,I am using Midori browser(still beta) which got webkit backend.it is kind of OK.repository is:


Midori - Twotoasts.de
deepclutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB/iPod support for a OEM HU w/o USB Support MadRash In-Car Entertainment 26 2nd August 2014 00:40
The Ubuntu Linux Thread deepclutch Gadgets, Computers & Software 121 25th July 2013 14:55
Open BHP - BHPians on GNU/Linux e1t1bet Gadgets, Computers & Software 1 16th November 2009 21:18


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 08:36.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks