Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10th August 2007, 09:57   #16
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,635
Thanked: 1,343 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rishibravo View Post
opppsie... My bad... just confirmed with my office sys ad. we are 50 people in office each having a workstation and 2Mbps sometimes falls short so for 100-150 people he should be going for atleast 5Mbps if I am not wrong this time..
wrong again Do you know how much 5Mbps line would cost and that too if its 1:1 line!

Would love to meet the guy who told you this or your MD/CEO. Think I can get a job in your company:P
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2007, 10:23   #17
Distinguished - BHPian
 
phamilyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 5,580
Thanked: 3,241 Times
Default

I can give you an estimate for my old organization back in Guj land: 512 kbps leased line for 66lakhs annually(heavily negotiated rates at that). That also included a VPN to our main gateway located some 250km away, whose internet costs were separate.

That being said, please do plan for redundant connections. I would anyday recommend even three peer connections with a big fat linux quad core server acting as the gateway and managing bandwidth. Our leased line used to be down more than once a month (You Telecom) and without redundancy, life was a pain. I personally believe (i'm no network specialist here) that with three redundant ADSL connections (say Airtel 512, Tata 512 etc), you'd be paying some 30-40k a month for way better speeds than a 512 leased line.

VSNL rules in general, but in DSL, they are complete idiots - they give true speeds (true 128 not a fraction like airtel guys sometimes find), but if the link goes down, then its usual inefficiencies come to fore. I had a unltd connection for 6 months, not one hour of downtime - a friend bought it on my recommendation - was down more than 50% of the time - but that's residential. I'd hope they would give better service for commercial buyers.
phamilyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2007, 10:28   #18
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
No, just data transfers.
Whats the size of data transfers will be there..the File size ?
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2007, 10:41   #19
BHPian
 
rishibravo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 579
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

This is the convo between me and my sys ad here. and you are most welcome to apply in the company but do that through my reference.. Lemme have some referal bonus..lol
Quote:
(10:30:35 AM) me: sir ji
(10:30:45 AM) me: what is the capacity of the leased line we have
(10:30:52 AM) sja: 2 M
(10:31:04 AM) me: so its 2Mbps
(10:31:13 AM) sja: yes
(10:31:25 AM) sja: and it is 1:1
(10:31:35 AM) me: how many people do we have
(10:31:36 AM) me: ??
(10:31:48 AM) me: why ? what happened ?
(10:32:02 AM) me: just have to suggest something to a friend
(10:32:09 AM) sja: ok
(10:32:22 AM) me: how much is it for
(10:32:23 AM) me: ??
(10:32:30 AM) sja: nearly we have a 50+
(10:32:59 AM) me: paisa kitna lagta hai annually and who is the leased line from
(10:33:00 AM) me: ??
(10:33:04 AM) sja: 3 l ke aas paas. Its from Bharti
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
wrong again Do you know how much 5Mbps line would cost and that too if its 1:1 line!

Would love to meet the guy who told you this or your MD/CEO. Think I can get a job in your company:P

Last edited by rishibravo : 10th August 2007 at 10:44.
rishibravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2007, 11:11   #20
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 85
Thanked: Once
Default

A 3MBps 1:1 line should be fine for around 150 with 20K per person as the base for calculation. It will cost you ~18L per annum

Hope this helps

best ergards
Deepu
deepug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2007, 12:37   #21
BHPian
 
rishibravo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 579
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

I might seem a lil offtopic here: Are you sure you are saying 3MBps. There is a huge difference in 3 MBps and 3 Mbps. And I think in Networks Mbps is the standard and in Storage MB is
Quote:
Originally Posted by deepug View Post
A 3MBps 1:1 line should be fine for around 150 with 20K per person as the base for calculation. It will cost you ~18L per annum

Hope this helps

best ergards
Deepu
rishibravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2007, 12:49   #22
Senior - BHPian
 
nitrous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UAE/Lon/Madras
Posts: 6,964
Thanked: 261 Times
Default

Mb is megabits. MB is megabytes.
8Mb=1MB.
nitrous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2007, 13:18   #23
Distinguished - BHPian
 
phamilyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 5,580
Thanked: 3,241 Times
Default

Broadband from YOU Telecom: Leading Hi Speed Broadband Internet Service provider in India.Super Fast Connection.
TataIndicom Business - Data - Domestic Leased Circuit Tariff

Something I recall from a friend is that high bandwidth usage is on torrent, video sharing, mail sites - block them and your bill comes down signficantly
phamilyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2007, 00:05   #24
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 433 Times
Default

Thanks all you guys for the fantastic response. I think a regular plan should more than suffice for this requirement. There is not going to be any major data transfers continually. I got what i want & i want to thank you all for that.
cheers
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2007, 01:34   #25
BHPian
 
xinome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: I am lost....
Posts: 339
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

this thread is very helpful now i know who to go to download all sorts of GB stuff!

i was thinking of 2mnps and 5 mbps lines my friend from Saudi calls me up and he says its 10 mbps direct satellite what does this mean? i am confused!

he say there is a huge Hub and dish! ANY IDEAS
xinome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2007, 01:48   #26
Senior - BHPian
 
nitrous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UAE/Lon/Madras
Posts: 6,964
Thanked: 261 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xinome
he say there is a huge Hub and dish!
He sounds like a Saudi for sure.
nitrous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2007, 22:56   #27
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 85
Thanked: Once
Default

rishi/nitrous

It was a typo. i meant 8mbps . Sorry for the confusion

Regards
Deepu
deepug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2007, 19:44   #28
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,635
Thanked: 1,343 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xinome View Post
this thread is very helpful now i know who to go to download all sorts of GB stuff!

i was thinking of 2mnps and 5 mbps lines my friend from Saudi calls me up and he says its 10 mbps direct satellite what does this mean? i am confused!

he say there is a huge Hub and dish! ANY IDEAS
where the provider dont have fiber or co-ax they opt for radio and hence.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2007, 20:48   #29
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kochi
Posts: 2,147
Thanked: 142 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xinome View Post
i was thinking of 2mnps and 5 mbps lines my friend from Saudi calls me up and he says its 10 mbps direct satellite what does this mean? i am confused!
When a wire from the ISP's network is not anywhere nearby, (within say, 500 Meter or so), they (VSNL, afaict) give you a dish, which communicates with their own satellite stations. They are pretty small - about size or dth. You will fine them atop most (not all) buildings which house an ATM / bank branch. These things are called VSAT (very small aperture satellite terminals).
For those wanting fat pipes and in fairly large cities, and in fairly large buildings, you should try fiber optic connections from Reliance.
BaCkSeAtDrIVeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2007, 22:47   #30
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,635
Thanked: 1,343 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BaCkSeAtDrIVeR View Post
When a wire from the ISP's network is not anywhere nearby, (within say, 500 Meter or so), they (VSNL, afaict) give you a dish, which communicates with their own satellite stations. They are pretty small - about size or dth. You will fine them atop most (not all) buildings which house an ATM / bank branch. These things are called VSAT (very small aperture satellite terminals).
For those wanting fat pipes and in fairly large cities, and in fairly large buildings, you should try fiber optic connections from Reliance.
OT!

Reliance Industries now gets leased line from VSNL ! rather than from Reliance Tel.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP - Office LAN / Internet / E-mail Solution needed normally_crazy Gadgets, Computers & Software 13 25th July 2006 19:46
Do you think large hatches will go crazy with 1.2s? Mpower The Indian Car Scene 12 28th March 2006 13:31


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 21:21.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks