Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17th August 2007, 19:00   #31
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kochi
Posts: 2,147
Thanked: 142 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
Reliance Industries now gets leased line from VSNL ! rather than from Reliance Tel.
OTOH, that makes sense. RIL getting communications from RTel would be like Pakistan depending on India for defense supplies. Just look at the trouble the brothers are creating for each other - the building lease issue in ADAG's SEZ, the gas pricing problem created for ADAG by RIL, etc. etc. I even suspect that the "expensive house on land got through the back door from the wakf board" was kicked up / fanned by the rivalry.
BaCkSeAtDrIVeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2008, 14:31   #32
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,042
Thanked: 13,484 Times
Default

My home and office was off the grid for 18 hours since yesterday evening. That's how long Airtel took to fix the break in the phone wire of my ADSL connection.

Therefore, it has become very necessary for me to have an alternate provider (other than Airtel ADSL) so that I have redundancy in future.

So, here is my query. What are my choices if I want a more reliable connection. Since I am not near any metro, it might reduce my options.

The Airtel Leased line is supposedly 16L/year for 2Mbps connection, that is way too much. I am looking at options costing 10 times less than that.

How do I get a reliable 2Mbps connection with very good support, what are my choices?
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2008, 14:39   #33
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,850
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

Samurai, unfortunately you have two vendors only BSNL and Airtel.
Airtel is more reliable.
I suggest you get a BSNL business line 2Mbps for around 15000/month.
This will be your backup line
Its highly unlikely that both Airtel and BSNL will go down together.

If you are planning to use BSNL on and off, for the same amount you can take the 125GB limit 8Mbps plan which you can use when you need very high data transfer speeds.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2008, 15:00   #34
BHPian
 
menonrajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 210
Thanked: Once
Default

:: VSNL Internet Services Limited
Please check this out.
Direct Internet is a part of VSNL currently.

I have been using this in our office with 20 odd users for last 4 years and would rate it very good. 7 Static IP's are allocated and they have provided the SLA with 99.9% of uptime and this has been kept till date. It is a RF connection and currently they are in the process of upgrading it to a Wi-Max structure. We are paying close to 3 lkhs per annum for 512 kbps 1:1 connection for which the bill would be generated quarterly. There was an initial set-up fee close to 2 lkhs or so, which I don’t remember clearly.

Last edited by menonrajesh : 18th April 2008 at 15:11.
menonrajesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2008, 15:02   #35
Senior - BHPian
 
sandeepmdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Varkala
Posts: 1,091
Thanked: 501 Times
Default

My office (50+users) is using two connections from 2 seperate ISP. The main connection is a 2Mbps ADSL from BSNL with static IP and the backup plan is another 2Mbps connection from Asianet Dataline, again with a static IP. We've been using these since 2006, in a true 24x7 basis, and connectivity is crucial for us. The BSNL connection costs us Rs.5000 / month and the ADL Broadband, Rs.3000. Both ISPs have seperate gateways, ADL is via Bharti and BSNL, via VSNL.

Based on our experience so far, we have more downtime with BSNL; our backup plan is actually more solid. Together, these 2 ISPs have provided us an uptime of 99.999%

Last edited by sandeepmdas : 18th April 2008 at 15:05.
sandeepmdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2008, 15:53   #36
BHPian
 
redfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago, The Windy City
Posts: 444
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

My co has two offices in city and we use seperate 2mbps 1:2 ILL (Internet leased line) in each building. We have facility to route it through a single ISP in case of failure too(two offices connected with dedicated fiber lines). Each office has a streangth of 80-90 people all connected to Internet. The connectivity is fine with lot of activities, uploads/downloads, VOIP, vonage phones, some VPN tunneled to our US office etc. We have some servers including mail server opened to outside and get considerable amount of hits too. The rate is aprox 8 lacs per year. For your purpose a 1:2 leased line from a good ISP will be sufficient. Try to get a set of 8-16 (according to your need) IPs too if you are planning to put some servers to be accessed from outside. I think all major ISPs will give atleast 8-16 IPs with broadband/leased line connectivities.
redfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP - Office LAN / Internet / E-mail Solution needed normally_crazy Gadgets, Computers & Software 13 25th July 2006 19:46
Do you think large hatches will go crazy with 1.2s? Mpower The Indian Car Scene 12 28th March 2006 13:31


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:28.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks