Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10th August 2007, 09:04   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 433 Times
Default Internet Options for a large modern office

Guys, help me out here.

For a modern office with 120 computers which mostly relies on the internet, what sort of a broadband line/leased line is preferred. I heard leased lines were 'old' technology, is that true ? what should be the ideal sort of connection that i should be looking for ?
Thanks
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2007, 09:15   #2
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,635
Thanked: 1,343 Times
Default

Leased line still rules with big companies who need net 24x with CIR. The type of connection depends on what your needs are.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2007, 09:18   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 433 Times
Default

Basically, it needs to be pretty fast & trouble free. Like how it should be for a BPO (but this is not for a BPO).
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2007, 09:18   #4
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,042
Thanked: 13,487 Times
Default

You will need a plan with unlimited volume. Airtel has some great unlimited business plans.

Check the attachment.
Attached Files
File Type: xls business_hig_plans.xls (19.0 KB, 333 views)
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2007, 09:24   #5
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,042
Thanked: 13,487 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
Leased line still rules with big companies who need net 24x with CIR. The type of connection depends on what your needs are.
This is for continuous availability without downtime. This is very expensive and should be used only in production environments. If the business can withstand occasional blips (a few hours of interruptions once in a month or two), then ADSL is the way to go. It is much cheaper.

Last edited by Samurai : 10th August 2007 at 09:32.
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2007, 09:25   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 433 Times
Default

Thanks samurai. But would these kind of plans be sufficient for that many computers ? max speed is given as 512 kbps, would that be good enough ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
This is for continous availbility without downtime.
This is what we are looking for.

Last edited by esteem_lover : 10th August 2007 at 09:26.
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2007, 09:28   #7
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,635
Thanked: 1,343 Times
Default

would you be dealing with voice?
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2007, 09:30   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 433 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
would you be dealing with voice?
No, just data transfers.
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2007, 09:34   #9
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,635
Thanked: 1,343 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
No, just data transfers.
there are two types of leased lines, one is premium ( 1:1) and other is 1:4. 1:1 is when you need CIR for 24x but 1:4 only for short bursts,like uploading now and then etc.

Check around for price range from various provides like Airtel, reliance , VSNL etc. Reliance rate starts at 2.8lac or so for 1Mbps 1:4.

And then pacific side or? Choosing the right ISP also depends on to which country/ area you need to connect to as there can be different latency rate for different ISP/country.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2007, 09:37   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 433 Times
Default

Thanks jk. Doesn't BSNL have leased lines ?
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2007, 09:37   #11
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,042
Thanked: 13,487 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
This is what we are looking for.
Are you sure? Because you will be paying many times more for the same bandwidth. While ADSL will give you 98% uptime, the dedicated leased line will give you 99.9% uptime. If this makes a real difference to you, then leased line is the way to go. I use ADSL because I can manage with anything above 95% uptime.
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2007, 09:39   #12
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,635
Thanked: 1,343 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
Thanks jk. Doesn't BSNL have leased lines ?
yes they do

the point is some lease leased lines from big isp and some have good redundancy .

pssst..Bharat Sanchar Nigam Ltd. .. check the last line
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2007, 09:40   #13
BHPian
 
rishibravo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 579
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Dont know about BSNL but VSNL used to provide excellend 2Mbps leased line 3-4 years back. I think you should go for 2Mbps leased line if you will have 100-150 active workstations.

Quote:
Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
Thanks jk. Doesn't BSNL have leased lines ?
rishibravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2007, 09:43   #14
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,635
Thanked: 1,343 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rishibravo View Post
Dont know about BSNL but VSNL used to provide excellend 2Mbps leased line 3-4 years back. I think you should go for 2Mbps leased line if you will have 100-150 active workstations.
VSNL still rules Do you know that they have their network designed, implemented and maintained by Cisco ( Cisco's biggest project, just 20,000 Crores).

About 2Mb for 100-150 is a wrong calculation.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2007, 09:51   #15
BHPian
 
rishibravo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 579
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

opppsie... My bad... just confirmed with my office sys ad. we are 50 people in office each having a workstation and 2Mbps sometimes falls short so for 100-150 people he should be going for atleast 5Mbps if I am not wrong this time..
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
About 2Mb for 100-150 is a wrong calculation.
rishibravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP - Office LAN / Internet / E-mail Solution needed normally_crazy Gadgets, Computers & Software 13 25th July 2006 19:46
Do you think large hatches will go crazy with 1.2s? Mpower The Indian Car Scene 12 28th March 2006 13:31


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 13:50.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks