Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28th November 2009, 12:15   #46
Senior - BHPian
 
mercedised's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Indore
Posts: 1,061
Thanked: 155 Times
Default

As far as i Know, a PS3 is powered by an adapter and a PS3 has a inbuilt voltage converter too. So, have a look at the readings on Adapter rather than checking on PS3 because if your adapter supports a 220V then you just need to connect your PS3 and play games.
mercedised is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2009, 20:25   #47
BHPian
 
MC Mayank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 108
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vinayak007 View Post
Hi MC Mayank,

i'm afraid the back friday deals are but over by this time now (in fact if u hadn't hit the stores like at 5 AM yesterday, u can well forget the freebies :( )
Coming back to your question...
u'r probably require an HDMI cable as well as it doesn't come as a standard in PS3. (i'm guessing u'll buy a LCD time at some point of time) -> That costs about 30 $
i see that in Delhi u get a 1500W 240 -110V step down Xmer for 300 bucks. I think most of the electric shops would have sometime similar in stock
u can pick up some new games from the US itself for 60$$. The old ones will be available for 18-25 $ i guess.
Thanks Vinayak.. yes the deals are over :(

But still the 120 gb slim for $299 sounds like a decent buy don't you think?
MC Mayank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 12:30   #48
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,350
Thanked: 31 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mercedised View Post
As far as i Know, a PS3 is powered by an adapter and a PS3 has a inbuilt voltage converter too. So, have a look at the readings on Adapter rather than checking on PS3 because if your adapter supports a 220V then you just need to connect your PS3 and play games.

I got my PS3 from the US and it did not come with an adapter. It was a raw socket. Nowhere in the documentation does it say that it supports 220V. The documentation clearly mentioned 110V. So, if you are getting a PS3 from the US and if it comes with a raw socket only, please do not assume it will support 220V. Its better to be safe than sorry with something that costs quite a bit of money!
csentil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 12:38   #49
Senior - BHPian
 
mercedised's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Indore
Posts: 1,061
Thanked: 155 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by csentil View Post
I got my PS3 from the US and it did not come with an adapter. It was a raw socket. Nowhere in the documentation does it say that it supports 220V. The documentation clearly mentioned 110V. So, if you are getting a PS3 from the US and if it comes with a raw socket only, please do not assume it will support 220V. Its better to be safe than sorry with something that costs quite a bit of money!

PS3 has a inbuilt voltage regulator. so need not to worry if it doesnot has a adapter.
mercedised is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 16:22   #50
NIP
Senior - BHPian
 
NIP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,147
Thanked: 80 Times
Default

I think its wise to buy the ps3 in India itself. I managed to get the Uncharted + GT5 Prologue bundle for 19k (with B&W) + 800 bucks for HDMI cable (basic one). The games themselves are easily worth 4-5k. So essentially, its 15k for the console + 4-5k for the two games = same price as the US ($299). Plus my dealer offered to exchange the games as well.

I'm sure the $299 PS3 in the US does not come with any games, and of course, the sexy looks of the older gen PS3. Not to mention region locked DVDs and BDs here. And the voltage issue. And all the other headaches like transporting it here, NTSC, PAL...who knows what else !!

Last edited by NIP : 30th November 2009 at 16:24.
NIP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 16:43   #51
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,350
Thanked: 31 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mercedised View Post
PS3 has a inbuilt voltage regulator. so need not to worry if it doesnot has a adapter.
Have you checked it out or is it mentioned in their manuals? Just wanted to verify! :0)
csentil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 20:28   #52
Senior - BHPian
 
StarScream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Noida/Delhi
Posts: 1,243
Thanked: 627 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NIP View Post
I think its wise to buy the ps3 in India itself. I managed to get the Uncharted + GT5 Prologue bundle for 19k (with B&W) + 800 bucks for HDMI cable (basic one). The games themselves are easily worth 4-5k. So essentially, its 15k for the console + 4-5k for the two games = same price as the US ($299). Plus my dealer offered to exchange the games as well.
Not to take anything from your argument or joy but those games are not worth 4-5k. They are both under 1,600 rupees. So 3.2k at best.
StarScream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 20:44   #53
BHPian
 
MC Mayank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 108
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Another deal from Walmart today (Cyber Monday or Cyber Week or whatever)

"PlayStation 3 Value Bundle includes:

Console
Batman: Arkham Asylum for PS3
InFamous for PS3
Dark Knight, 2 Disc digital copy for Blu-Ray
Sony Blu-ray Remote
Extra Controller for PS3 (total of 2 controllers)"

Could I get some expert comments on this deal please? I don't necessarily care for the movie or the remote. But 2 games and an extra controller seems like a nice addition..

So the real question is: Could I get the console plus 2 games plus controller for less than $370 (Roughly 17,343) in India. If you add a power adapter cost to it it might be around a round figure Rs. 18,500.

Please advise guys!
MC Mayank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2009, 01:13   #54
BHPian
 
omar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 40
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Mayank View Post
Another deal from Walmart today (Cyber Monday or Cyber Week or whatever)

"PlayStation 3 Value Bundle includes:

Console
Batman: Arkham Asylum for PS3
InFamous for PS3
Dark Knight, 2 Disc digital copy for Blu-Ray
Sony Blu-ray Remote
Extra Controller for PS3 (total of 2 controllers)"

Could I get some expert comments on this deal please? I don't necessarily care for the movie or the remote. But 2 games and an extra controller seems like a nice addition..

So the real question is: Could I get the console plus 2 games plus controller for less than $370 (Roughly 17,343) in India. If you add a power adapter cost to it it might be around a round figure Rs. 18,500.

Please advise guys!
Ok first of all, is the console slim or phat? If its a phat it wont require a power adapter to be used here in India (not sure about the slim though)

If warranty isnt a major issue with you, get it from the US, because if you get it down here and if anything happens to it, Sony india wont accept the console for repairs etc.
This is because Sony dont provide worldwide warranty. So you'll have to send the console back to the US if it gets spoilt (or repair it through 3rd party/ yourself here).
If I were you I would buy one from here itself mainly due to the warranty offered here.
omar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2009, 14:43   #55
NIP
Senior - BHPian
 
NIP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,147
Thanked: 80 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StarScream View Post
Not to take anything from your argument or joy but those games are not worth 4-5k. They are both under 1,600 rupees. So 3.2k at best.
Ok fine 3.2k. So the console still cost me only 15.8k. Still a great deal IMO.
NIP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2009, 02:03   #56
Senior - BHPian
 
kaushik_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,061
Thanked: 147 Times
Default

Hey NIP, which HDMI cable have you bought? And from where? I'm not able to find a decent quality cable for anything less than 2k :-(
BTW, I got mine for 18.6k, phat one of-course, with GT5 Prologue and Unchartedrake's Fortune. Same package as yours. I feel it's a good deal. The difference between phat and slim are the weight, size, heat, power consumption and bit-streaming of HD audio. And I won't care much about any of these anyway.

@MC Mayank, that's a good deal. Here the extra controller will cost you Rs.2990. That Sony remote is Rs.1790. Yeah, both of these are almost half the price in US. Here we are taken for a ride atleast for the Accessories. Games are almost similarly priced though.
kaushik_s is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2009, 09:17   #57
Senior - BHPian
 
arjunrudra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: chennai
Posts: 1,515
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

I really dont think so. my cousin got his ps3 from the US and it works fine with just a normal pin convertor. No problems encountered at all.
arjunrudra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2009, 13:35   #58
BHPian
 
gsferrari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 842
Thanked: 131 Times
Default

Not required - mine is marked 110/50 but it works perfectly fine. I took a chance after researching several forums and the consensus is that the PSU is universal. Plugged in directly for over a year now
gsferrari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2009, 15:21   #59
BHPian
 
longford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 159
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Vow 4 pages and the same question!

Its really quite simple.

1. On the back of the appliance/aapter if it says INPUT: 110-240V (50/60Hz), it means you can even use it in Timbuktoo. If you got it from the US/EU/Oz, and it has those letters, just get an MX brand chapta pin plug and start using it.

2. If it just says 110V chances are it will go kaboom with a nice spark like explosion. I did it to my spike guard, what a sight it was! Big bright red boom followed by wire metal ka smell.

3. If as some folks have written, it is marked 110v/50Hz AND youtube videos are conclusive that there is a universal power transfromer inside, you can take your chances depending upon what you want to believe or not believe!
longford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2009, 19:52   #60
BHPian
 
jassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 980
Thanked: 11 Times
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by longford View Post

3. If as some folks have written, it is marked 110v/50Hz AND youtube videos are conclusive that there is a universal power transfromer inside, you can take your chances depending upon what you want to believe or not believe!
being the original thread starter - i can tell you its this from my personal experience.
The question is due to cost cutting in the new slim PS3, this might have changed.
jassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Capacitor? Need to stabilize voltage Ford Rocam Technical Stuff 38 7th May 2014 14:28
Transformer's Auto-X @ Bangalore : 16th & 17th March 2013 vishalraj Indian Motorsport 2 25th March 2013 18:08
PS3 in the house!!! rev_hard Gadgets, Computers & Software 49 24th April 2011 10:58
Transformer 3 stars two Chevy beats quadra The International Automotive Scene 6 25th June 2010 20:24
PS3 Announced khanak Gadgets, Computers & Software 18 24th November 2006 21:10


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:53.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks