Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 3rd December 2007, 22:52   #76
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,383 Times
Default

The minute i connect the iPod to my computer, the iPod just freezes completely. Screen and everything. And my computer cannot see it.
So any uninstall/roll back/ format is impossible.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2007, 22:56   #77
BHPian
 
Wimwian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 191
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
The minute i connect the iPod to my computer, the iPod just freezes completely. Screen and everything. And my computer cannot see it.
So any uninstall/roll back/ format is impossible.
By Ipod software, I mean the ipod driver that's installed on your comp... have you tried uninstalling that (as well as itunes) and then reinstalling it from the original CD?
Wimwian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2007, 22:58   #78
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,230
Thanked: 3,642 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
The minute i connect the iPod to my computer, the iPod just freezes completely. Screen and everything. And my computer cannot see it.
So any uninstall/roll back/ format is impossible.
can you put your ipod in disk mode?

i get that you have a 160GB 5.5G ipod.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2007, 23:22   #79
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,383 Times
Default

My iPod is in disk mode. What is unfortunate is that there is 30gb of data on this.

Wim, the iPod does not show up as a drive on any computer. Connect it to the USB of any computer and it is frozen solid. Time and light and everything.

Reset it and it functions normally, only to the point of selecting a song. Press play and it's stuck at 0:00. THis is a serious problem.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2007, 23:25   #80
Team-BHP Support
 
theMAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6,992
Thanked: 1,420 Times
Default

Sam,

Try to get a firmware upgrade on that Ipod. But, during such an upgrade, typically all the exisiting data is lost - best back it up before you get this done: but here is the Catch-22.

Last edited by theMAG : 3rd December 2007 at 23:27.
theMAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2007, 09:40   #81
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,230
Thanked: 3,642 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
My iPod is in disk mode. What is unfortunate is that there is 30gb of data on this..
see if ipod agent can backup the data in disk mode. I have used ipoda agent in regular mode but not in disk mode.

iPodSoft - Making the best, better | IGadget / HomePage

Download iPod Agent 1.0.1 Free Trial - iPod Agent is your one stop utility for copying songs off your iPod and back to your PC.

once that is done you will have to reformat the ipod to recover it.

is it a mac ipod or windows?

if you need an ipod to use till you get your fixed let me know I have loan you mine.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2007, 11:11   #82
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 46,536
Thanked: 80,252 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hydrashok View Post
Uh oh! Sorry to hear that, Sam! These FW updates are getting to be a hit-or-miss business nowadays. Hope you get it fixed and running soon.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
My 160GB classic was working perfectly till this evening. I connected it to my Mac and it asked me if I wanted to download a software update.

It was a 50MB download, completed it, it installed and that was the last time my iPod played :(
50 MB download isnt a firmware update; its the new itunes software. Sam, try re-installing the older version of the itunes since you didnt have a problem running the iPod off that version.
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2007, 11:37   #83
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,383 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO View Post
50 MB download isnt a firmware update; its the new itunes software. Sam, try re-installing the older version of the itunes since you didnt have a problem running the iPod off that version.
Nope GTO that is incorrect. 50mb is the new iPod software update. I did not download an iTunes update. I upgraded the iPod from version 1.0.2 to 1.0.3.
I am 100% sure of this.

Besides my ipod is not recognising on ANY computer. Connect it to a USB and its frozen solid, till you hard redet it by holding down the meny and enter key for 3seconds. The problem has nothing to do with itunes.

I uploaded the new software, it installed it on my iPod, it asked me to wait while my ipod updated itself and then it would shut down and restart. Automatically.
It did all of that and then it has stopped playing altogether.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2007, 12:09   #84
BHPian
 
greatDrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 546
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Anyone faced the same problem with itouch 16mb? I was planning to buy one this month end.
should I wait ?
greatDrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2007, 12:58   #85
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,230
Thanked: 3,642 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
It was a 50MB download
When I connect it to my computer it just hangs completely. So now I cannot format or reset it..
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wimwian View Post
This happened to me last year when they released an update for my 4G Ipod... I was able to restore (i.e. re-format) the ipod and reload my library. Have you tried this Sam?
not all FW updates (read as itunes updaes) work on all ipods. for example the latest FW update messes up many older ipods (4G and older).

since sam's ipod is a 5.5G I wonder why apple did nto test atleast their lastest ipods before releasing the FW.

this is why i always have a spare ipod.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2007, 13:00   #86
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,230
Thanked: 3,642 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO View Post
50 MB download isnt a firmware update; its the new itunes software..
for a while now, all FW updates are only supplied as part of iTunes downloads.

Moral of the story, if your ipod is working fine do NOT (I repeast do NOT) update your itunes.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2007, 13:05   #87
BANNED
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: India
Posts: 4,346
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post

this is why i always have a spare ipod.
^^^^^^^^^^^^
Oh MY God!
speedzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2007, 13:06   #88
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,230
Thanked: 3,642 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
Nope GTO that is incorrect. 50mb is the new iPod software update. I did not download an iTunes update. I upgraded the iPod from version 1.0.2 to 1.0.3. .
did you not use itunes to update the FW?
I am using windows for my ipods itunes 7.5.0.20 and FW version 1.1.2.23.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2007, 13:25   #89
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,383 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
did you not use itunes to update the FW?
I am using windows for my ipods itunes 7.5.0.20 and FW version 1.1.2.23.
Yes I did use iTunes to update the iPod. It was an automatic process. I'm a mac user.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2007, 13:47   #90
Team-BHP Support
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 11,725
Thanked: 9,036 Times
Default

I had the same problem with my ipod - it got replaced
ajmat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows XP SP3 Rc version released. EDIT : Full Version now released. JPL Gadgets, Computers & Software 40 27th January 2012 17:02
New Tata Safari Dicor 2.2L released! Samurai The Indian Car Scene 155 7th October 2007 00:56
New cars to be released in 2007 --->> darshan_ms The Indian Car Scene 18 9th January 2007 17:43
New BMW 1 series pics released ajmat The International Automotive Scene 1 23rd March 2004 20:05


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 15:36.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks