Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11th September 2007, 09:16   #1
BHPian
 
bill1182's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 85
Thanked: 3 Times
Default Problem with wide screen LCD monitor resolution

Hi,

I bought a new Viewsonic 17" wide screen monitor. The ideal resolution for this monitor is 1440 X 900. My Pc has onboard intel graphic card. I can nowhere find this resolution. Has anyone faced such a problem. Any idea how I can get 1440 X 900 resolution. Cutrrently I am using XP Professional.

One thing to note is, when I loaded the OS it was showing 1440 X 900 resolution but after I restarted I cannot find 1440 X 900 resolution.

PC Config

Intel 82954 G Chipset
Core 2 Duo 2 Ghz CPU
1 Gb Ram
17" Wide screen LCD monitor

Help
bill1182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2007, 11:18   #2
k36
BHPian
 
k36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 133
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

You probably need the proper driver for the graphic card. It should be available from the website of the graphic card manufacturer or the motherboard CD.

I have a 19" viewsonic which takes the same native resolution (1440x900). MY XP had no issues, but when I installed Ubuntu, it didn't give me the option of this resolution. I had to download the Linux driver from nVidia website, and its now working.

Hope this helps.
k36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2007, 11:43   #3
BHPian
 
bill1182's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 85
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k36 View Post
You probably need the proper driver for the graphic card. It should be available from the website of the graphic card manufacturer or the motherboard CD.

I have a 19" viewsonic which takes the same native resolution (1440x900). MY XP had no issues, but when I installed Ubuntu, it didn't give me the option of this resolution. I had to download the Linux driver from nVidia website, and its now working.

Hope this helps.

Which graphic card you are using? Mine is Intel GMA 950 on board.
bill1182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2007, 13:31   #4
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,136
Thanked: 1,895 Times
Default

Bill- My computer has the exact same specs as yours but i have a 19inch viewsonic and have my current resolution set to 1440x900 without a problem.
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2007, 13:40   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
DCEite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NCR
Posts: 3,015
Thanked: 441 Times
Default

A related query
I am thinking of buying a 19inch LCD. However i am confused between wide and non-wide.
Is the wide screen supported by all the applications , and more importanty, games?
DCEite is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2007, 13:47   #6
BHPian
 
bill1182's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 85
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

It is better to go for wide screen monitors if you have a graphic card installed. It seems there is some problem in resolution when using on board graphic card. Atleast I am facing some problem. It is good for gaming as it gives you larger aspect ratio. You always have an option to move to traditional aspect ratio if needed.

Sahil,

Are you using windows XP?

Can you tell me which version of device driver you are using for your graphic card?

Last edited by bill1182 : 11th September 2007 at 13:49.
bill1182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2007, 13:59   #7
BANNED
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: India
Posts: 4,346
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

I use a ViewSonic 1912WB and AOC 19" displays for my 2 computers. Both are 19" wide with 1440X900 resolution and 5ms response time. Both systems run XP professional and Vista ultimate. No problems till date regarding resolution.

How do you set your resolution? Have you tried using your graphic driver utility to check the resolutions supported? Have you installed any drivers for the new LCD display? Did you uninstall the older drivers before installing the newer one?
If you can go thru this checklist, I hope you may solve your problem.
speedzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2007, 15:08   #8
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,136
Thanked: 1,895 Times
Default

I'm not sure about the driver. I have the same screen as speedzak and running on XP
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2007, 09:08   #9
BHPian
 
bill1182's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 85
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Thanks guys. Got this solved by a ultimate solution. Removed XP by formatting HDD and installed Win 2K Professional. Then installed chipset drivers and got the native resolution of 1440 X 900 automatically. So the culprit was XP and not the display card.

With me it seems XP is jinxed . Win 2K and Kubuntu rocks
bill1182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2007, 09:54   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
vikram_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,380
Thanked: 936 Times
Default

The chipset drivers that work with Win2000 will also work with Win XP. Why dont you try installing them on Win XP.
vikram_d is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2007, 10:12   #11
BHPian
 
bill1182's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 85
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Same chipset driver was installed in XP. Initially it worked but after windows downloaded secutrity patches and installed them, the resolution went for a toss. I could not find 1440 X 900 option then. I also tried removing the chipset driver and re-installing, but it did not work. I some how now feel that 2K with SP4 is better than XP with SP2
bill1182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2007, 11:09   #12
BANNED
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: India
Posts: 4,346
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

Something is missing somewhere! For sure!
There should've been some problem/goof up when you installed the security patches in XP. Many people around the world uses this combination (XP + 19" LCD) at the moment due to the attractive pricing these days. It's a delight for many gamers/wannabe gamers. So, it cannot be a problem with XP or the monitor itself.

Anyway, You're happy now. Enjoy!
speedzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2007, 14:39   #13
BHPian
 
BijuPaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cochin
Posts: 40
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

This issue is common with wide screen LCD monitors when you use it on standard analog VGA port. If you use it on DVI-I or DVI-D ports it will get detected on proper resolution automatically.
Workaround is, there is a CD comes in the box of Viewsonic monitor with .inf or .exe file which is the driver for the Monitor, you need to install it on XP for your monitor get detected on XP instead of Standard PlugíníPlay monitor( Iíve seen this is also not working some occasions)
I do have a recommendation; whenever you buy a LCD monitor make sure it has a DVI port. Especially if it is a wide screen one. Or you may be fooled by exactly similar looking model stripped off DVI for making it cheep (Earlier models all had DVI port but now models specially made for India is available so beware.)
BijuPaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2007, 16:03   #14
BANNED
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: India
Posts: 4,346
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

With the right drivers, LCD displays with normal VGA connectors should work fine. But the convenience, quality and performance of DVI will be lacking.

The problem described in this thread was quiet simple and changing of OS wasn't necessary in my opinion.
speedzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2007, 16:40   #15
BHPian
 
bill1182's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 85
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Well before changing the OS I tried all that was possible. Right from removing the drivers and reinstalling, getting latest updates from net, also tried rolling back option in XP but id did not help. The only solution left was to reinstall the system. Win 2K was the best option i found after a hard luck with XP
bill1182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TATA sky on LCD monitor neoonwheels Gadgets, Computers & Software 39 17th October 2011 13:27
DIY : Making your monitor touch screen for Car PC HarneetBarmy In-Car Entertainment 16 15th January 2011 13:07
Touch Screen Rearview Mirror LCD Monitor With Parking Sensor System Neonfish In-Car Entertainment 4 9th October 2010 07:33
From where to buy DELL LCD monitor in NCR? DCEite Gadgets, Computers & Software 6 26th January 2008 12:09
Screen Resolution Gordon Shifting gears 13 24th January 2005 11:25


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 16:44.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks