Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21st June 2010, 07:20   #3991
BHPian
 
para_7k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: chennai
Posts: 462
Thanked: 62 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vaisakhr View Post
I think the only difference between s1800 and s2500hd is the video. s1800 records at 720p and 2500hd records at 1080p. Everything else including the sensor is same for both. So am finalizing s1800. (oh, the price diff is 2k) Did u do any PP in the image?
I only did some sharpening. Any update on your camera purchase ?
para_7k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2010, 06:00   #3992
BHPian
 
vaisakhr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: KL-32
Posts: 356
Thanked: 135 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by para_7k View Post
I only did some sharpening. Any update on your camera purchase ?
Will buy soon. I'll do a detailed review after I got it.
vaisakhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2010, 09:58   #3993
Senior - BHPian
 
goandude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 1,323
Thanked: 428 Times
Default

for all owners of Panny FZ35/38 I have few questions.
1. How does one fit a UV or polarizing filter on? A pic will explain a lot.
2. How much does it cost?
3. While shooting video, what is the main diff between AVCHD and MPEG 4?
goandude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2010, 10:49   #3994
Senior - BHPian
 
TaureanBull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Indore
Posts: 1,066
Thanked: 309 Times
Default Video File Extension

Can anyone tell me whats .THM extension for? When I record a video in my Sony Cybershot I get two files- One a video file and another one as .THM file. Whats the usage of this file? Should I keep it when I store my videos or delete it to save space. Actually the file size is pretty less-in KBs but its irritating. Anyone on this?
TaureanBull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2010, 11:00   #3995
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,850
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TaureanBull View Post
Can anyone tell me whats .THM extension for? When I record a video in my Sony Cybershot I get two files- One a video file and another one as .THM file. Whats the usage of this file? Should I keep it when I store my videos or delete it to save space. Actually the file size is pretty less-in KBs but its irritating. Anyone on this?
This file is used by your camera, and bundled software to create an index. If you will watch your videos with VLC or other third part software, you do not need these extra files
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2010, 18:21   #3996
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

I am disappointed that I can not use macro mode for videos in HS10. Any other digicams allow that?
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2010, 18:26   #3997
BHPian
 
rajismine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 515
Thanked: 252 Times
Default

never tried macro in video in my SX10 but is there really anything like that!!! need to try today :-)
rajismine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2010, 18:28   #3998
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

I was hoping in HS10 because the lens zoom and focus (optional) is manual, unfortunately autofocus takes over as soon as you change it to video mode.
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2010, 18:34   #3999
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,850
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

Panasonic FZ-35 allows videos in any mode. Infact I even shot a video with manual focus and shutter speed of 1/8 second!
you have full manual control in video, including MF/AF/AF-MACRO etc.,
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2010, 21:17   #4000
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

actually youtube has a macro movie from hs10, i guess i need to explore the options further.
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2010, 07:41   #4001
Senior - BHPian
 
Rahulk76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: PNQ
Posts: 1,132
Thanked: 204 Times
Thumbs up Polarizer and FZ35 shots

I had to downsize the pix size. Few shots with polarizer. (Thanks Tanveer) please comment if the pics are shot correctly. Just trying to get a grip of fz35 as well
Attached Images
        
Rahulk76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2010, 00:40   #4002
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,850
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

Good to see you are enjoying the polarizer!
Try to use lower ISO. In some shots I feel the cam has selected ISO 400 or more.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2010, 20:18   #4003
Senior - BHPian
 
Rahulk76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: PNQ
Posts: 1,132
Thanked: 204 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
Good to see you are enjoying the polarizer!
Try to use lower ISO. In some shots I feel the cam has selected ISO 400 or more.
Well i double checked all the images posted. They are either ISO 80 in mannual or ISO 200 in P mode. Which image in particular?

Hmm.,.. maybe i need to invest in tripod now

This image is at 19.00 EET, kept standstill on the ironbar and then taken @ ISO125 what say about this ? I think something wrong somewhere but then not very sure
The Digital Camera Thread: Questions, discussions, etc.-p1000283.jpg

Last edited by Rahulk76 : 28th June 2010 at 20:25.
Rahulk76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2010, 09:59   #4004
Senior - BHPian
 
typeOnegative's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Vikhroli, Mumbai, India
Posts: 1,502
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rahulk76 View Post
This image is at 19.00 EET, kept standstill on the ironbar and then taken @ ISO125 what say about this ? I think something wrong somewhere but then not very sure
It is a nice picture capturing the sunset (or is it sunrise?) mood very well through the shadows. However, the vegetation and the signboard to the right are indistinct. That seems to be what has gone wrong, though I would leave it to the masters to offer a solution. In fact, whatever is in the shade has a blurry feel.
typeOnegative is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2010, 10:46   #4005
Senior - BHPian
 
sammyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Gurgaon/Doon
Posts: 1,710
Thanked: 290 Times
Default

Nice pic, though the lamppost on the left side of the pic is the what I think should not have been there.
sammyboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Digital camera v1p3r Gadgets, Computers & Software 117 3rd September 2006 13:22
Digital Camera Reviews (around Rs. 20,000/-) naveendhyani Gadgets, Computers & Software 107 10th July 2006 12:32


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 12:55.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks