Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 19th August 2008, 14:32   #196
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 172
Thanked: 67 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by revvedup View Post
finally got everything home

AMD Athlon X2 5000
Gigabyte 780 G chipset mobo
OCZ 800 MHZ 1 GB* 2 DDR 2 RAM
Cooler Master E- LITE Cabinet with Cooler Master 390 W Power Supply
Cooler Master - Ultimate provider of Computer Chassis | Cooler | Power Supply
WD Caviar Blue 160 GB SATA Hard Drives ( WD1600AABS )
(I am a little unhappy about this as it only has 2MB Cache)
But overall a VFM setup @ 15.5 K
Thanks to LBM for helping me and answering all my queries on the phone(as well as talking to the vendor himself to clear things out) and Greenhorn for providing online support.
Thats a good deal man!
I spent the same amt on a X2 4000+,2GB 667, Asus 690G HDMI, 250GB HDD,Liton dvd-r, iball micro-atx last december.
780G drooool.cheers:
Blue_V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2008, 15:57   #197
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue_V View Post
Asus 690G HDMI
I am looking at the same motherboard.

Have a query. Did it come with a raiser card for TV Out?

Like this one:
Name:  asus_m2avm_hdmi_tv_out_card.jpg
Views: 736
Size:  40.7 KB

Last edited by NetfreakBombay : 19th August 2008 at 15:58.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2008, 16:53   #198
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,230
Thanked: 3,642 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
thats a minimum system requirement
But those requirements are (again).

this thread was interesting
you mean to say I should get Nero 8 Ultra over Pinaccle Studio Plus 12?
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2008, 17:04   #199
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,710
Thanked: 1,080 Times
Default

I would not say get, but just to say there was another alternative.
I'm not sure if the trial versions of either allow this functionality, If it were me , I would just try the full versions out both before buying either
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2008, 12:06   #200
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,230
Thanked: 3,642 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
I would just try the full versions out both before buying either
why the link? any comparision of Nero 8 vs Pinaccle Plus 12?
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2008, 13:33   #201
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,710
Thanked: 1,080 Times
Default

Well, if the wink wasn't hint enough, Some things you don't say outright in a public forum
The trial versions of the mentioned programs arent fully functional, and the only way for most people to try out the full full functionality before purchasing one would be .......

I googled a bit , and came up with this post Panasonic 3CCD User - View Single Post - Editing AVCHD footage in NLE

this is a comparison with studio 11 though

Last edited by greenhorn : 20th August 2008 at 13:38.
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2008, 14:25   #202
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 172
Thanked: 67 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
I am looking at the same motherboard.

Have a query. Did it come with a raiser card for TV Out?

Like this one:
Attachment 40074
yes, it has.
But i suggest you skip the board if you plan to use HDMI. Switching to HDMI to be done in BIOS

I think the 780G runs directly HDMI from Windows. Find out.
Blue_V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2008, 16:17   #203
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

^^^ Thanks for the info. TV that I have in 12 years old 29 inch CRT. It does not have any digital port so non-HDMI is fine.

Ont more question, does TV Out work in parallel with VGA / DVI? I.e. in Like dual monitor setup?
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2008, 20:39   #204
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,230
Thanked: 3,642 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
Well, if the wink wasn't hint enough, Some things you don't say outright in a public forum
Ok this is what has happened so far.

1. I got hold of a Trial version of Nero 8 (my computer hardware supplier tells me that some DVD writers come with Nero 8 so he has given me a CD)
2. MY PC supplier quoted me 69K for the hardware.
3. Pinacle 12 is not available (officially in Mumbai) so I emailed Pinacle saying that I want to use ver 12 but only ver 11 is available locally and if they dont reply or tell me where to get a official copy of ver 12 I will be forced to use a bootleg version as ver 11 (to the best of my knowledge) is not AVCHD compatible. I hope that gets their attention.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2008, 20:52   #205
BHPian
 
Rotorhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 925
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

anyone have any info on computer service guys who could come home for servicing my comp which suddenly refused to boot up, the monitor just keeps blinking even after the cpu is switched on. Think somethings wrong with the motherboard. I stay close to NGN at koramangla. Any help is highly appreciated. If you can let me know of a good servicing place close to NGN even that should suffice.
Rotorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2008, 22:28   #206
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,710
Thanked: 1,080 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
Ok this is what has happened so far.

1. I got hold of a Trial version of Nero 8 (my computer hardware supplier tells me that some DVD writers come with Nero 8 so he has given me a CD)
What is usually given out as OEM is Nero 8 essentials. What you need is Nero 8 ultra. I think it has a 15 day trial
Quote:
2. MY PC supplier quoted me 69K for the hardware.
can we have a split of the quote , I'm interested in how much he's asking for the 8800.
the current bang for buck champion is the Ati Radeon 4850, @ 10~11k

Last edited by greenhorn : 20th August 2008 at 22:30.
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2008, 22:52   #207
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
MY PC supplier quoted me 69K for the hardware.
That seems to be on higher side (Unless price includes OS as well). Breakup of costs:

Name:  High End PC Price.PNG
Views: 1160
Size:  14.8 KB
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2008, 09:18   #208
BHPian
 
Amey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 679
Thanked: 189 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
That seems to be on higher side (Unless price includes OS as well). Breakup of costs:

Attachment 40632
Not a very well configured setup i must say :(

1) Q9550 paired with G33 based mobo ???
2) Q9550 is supposed to run off a unbranded 400W PSU that comes with the cabinet and is capable of delivering max 200W in reality ?

My personal observations,
Its stupidity to buy the Q9550 as of now, the price is not justified.Also it will drop later on drastically.
It makes much more sense to go with Q9450 which is cheaper by almost 12k and the only difference between the 2 is clock speed,everything else is the same.
If one is buying a Quad Core CPU and a dedicated graphics card, i would say going for a X38/X48 chipset based motherboard makes more sense as the quote mentions that there will be 8GB of RAM in the system.

If X38/X48 is out of budget, P35/P45 is also worth considering.

Last edited by Amey : 21st August 2008 at 09:23.
Amey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2008, 09:42   #209
BHPian
 
Saiyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 43
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

^Lord, The Q9550 is now around 14.9k only. Lord Nemesis getting one at this price.
Saiyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2008, 10:13   #210
BHPian
 
Saiyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 43
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Sorry, not able to edit the above post.

These Computer System builders are really disgusting. A cheapo 400w smps as Amey said to power a ssytem Q9550 and 8800GT :S. Do they have any brain for god sake :@. Minimum i would spend for a power supply will be 6k for a Corsair HX620/TX650 or Tagan BZ600. Also a decent cabinet to cool all these components. When will they know the importance of these, suggesting a lame components for people with a sound budget.
Saiyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me config a new system for Music sequencing and Mixing bheem Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 20th October 2008 13:35
ICE config for Palio amitverma In-Car Entertainment 6 10th May 2006 12:42
Audio Config For My Bro's New Swift.... freakrz In-Car Entertainment 36 10th March 2006 22:25
Needed: Best Audio config for a tata Indica msk_kapoor In-Car Entertainment 52 24th February 2006 09:44
Proposed Audio Config.. allajunaki In-Car Entertainment 38 31st August 2005 23:44


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 06:27.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks