Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 1st September 2008, 11:47   #256
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 172
Thanked: 67 Times
Default

I dont know why you shouldnt consider a AMD system if you are spending 20k.
You can get a Athlon 64 X2 5200+ 2.7GHz 1MB L2 cache instead of the Intel 4500. And its a lot cheaper TheITWares - Processors (CPU Intel , AMD)

Or a AMD X2 6000+ (3.0 Ghz, 2MB L2), which competes very well with the Intel 4500 or 4600.

Get a AMD 780G mobo for your 5200+ processor. Aroung 5.5k
I dont know if 780G supports 6000+, u have to check it out. Its due to the TDP of the processor.

Try running your game on the 780G. Its a great IGP mobo.
Blue_V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2008, 13:29   #257
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,248
Thanked: 3,647 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
That was a typo, should have been 1850 .
can somone confirm these prices.
Intel Quad Core 2.83 (Q9550) CPU Rs.19,900.00
Asus P5Q-Deluxe Rs.14,000.00
8GB DDR II RAM 1066 Mhz (2 GB x 4) Transcend Rs. 21,900.00
500 GB SATA HDD Rs. 3,500.00
ATI 4850 Graphic Card Rs.11,900.00
VIP Cabinet with 750W SMPS Rs. 9,800.00
SATA DVD Writer – Moser bear / LG Rs. 1,200.00

Last edited by navin : 5th September 2008 at 13:31.
navin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2008, 13:34   #258
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,179
Thanked: 1,112 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
can somone confirm these prices.
Intel Quad Core 2.83 (Q9550) CPU Rs.19,900.00
Asus P5Q-Deluxe Rs.14,000.00
8GB DDR II RAM 1066 Mhz (2 GB x 4) Transcend Rs. 21,900.00
500 GB SATA HDD Rs. 3,500.00
ATI 4850 Graphic Card Rs.11,900.00
VIP Cabinet with 750W SMPS Rs. 9,800.00
SATA DVD Writer – Moser bear / LG Rs. 1,200.00
All horrendously overpriced. The Q9550 is around 16 odd grand. P5Q Deluxe is ~11 grand, 1066MHz Transcend I'm not sure but is definitely cheaper. A 500GB SATA drive is around 3200. ATI 4850 graphics card is ~11000, no clue about that cabinet and power supply. The DVD burner's price is about right.
reignofchaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2008, 13:57   #259
BHPian
 
Saiyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 43
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

I'd suggest to u go to primeabgb or theitwares and get your stuff and am sure it can be assembled there itself.

Corsair 2*2Gb kit should cost you 5.7k for the DDR2 1066. You can get 2 kits for 11k max. God knows whoever quoted you that price, 21k for transcend, that too DDR2 , mad person he is :S.

ATI HD4850 from Palit will cost you 9.2~9.5k (theitwares). 11.9k is a rip off again.

Get the CM 690 for 4k and Corsair HX620 smps for 6k. Don't think of anything else and confuse yourself.

Seriously, whoever quoted the prices you mentioned is ripping your hard earned money with his eyes closed. Considering him to be a system builder, i can expect 500~1000 more on each products accordingly, but 10k more on a Ram itself speaks a lot about him.

As i said get your items from Theitwares (Owner name is Rahul Varma, he is a reputed dealer as well a registered Dealer in techenclave.com) , else you can check out primeabgb (again one of the most reputed dealer in Mumbai, give him the reference of techenclave.com, am sure he'll help you and give you a good deal).
Saiyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2008, 11:57   #260
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,248
Thanked: 3,647 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saiyan View Post
Corsair 2*2Gb kit should cost you 5.7k for the DDR2 1066.
ATI HD4850 from Palit will cost you 9.2~9.5k (theitwares).
Get the CM 690 for 4k and Corsair HX620 smps for 6k.
Quote:
Originally Posted by reignofchaos View Post
All horrendously overpriced. The Q9550 is around 16 odd grand. P5Q Deluxe is ~11 grand, 1066MHz Transcend I'm not sure but is definitely cheaper. A 500GB SATA drive is around 3200. ATI 4850 graphics card is ~11000, no clue about that cabinet and power supply. The DVD burner's price is about right.
Thanks guys.

The Q9550 on ITwares is 18250, the 1066 Cosair RAM is 10K+ for 2GB (I am getting 8GB for 21K) and the P5Q Deluxe mother baord is 12250.

The Q9550 on primeabgb is 19250 and the motherboard is 12250, and they dont carry 1066 4x 2GB RAM.

Neither is that much cheaper but I do see a 10% difference not 25% though.

Should I give my dealer a price target (for the above system) of 70K (without monitor) or lower? The current total is about 82K so if I assume a 15% discount that should be about 12K less ot 70K for the full system.

Last edited by navin : 6th September 2008 at 12:17.
navin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2008, 18:59   #261
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,630
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue_V View Post
I dont know why you shouldnt consider a AMD system if you are spending 20k.
You can get a Athlon 64 X2 5200+ 2.7GHz 1MB L2 cache instead of the Intel 4500. And its a lot cheaper TheITWares - Processors (CPU Intel , AMD)

Or a AMD X2 6000+ (3.0 Ghz, 2MB L2), which competes very well with the Intel 4500 or 4600.
The new Brisbane core AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ is rated at 3.1 Ghz and not 3.0 Ghz. It easily beats Allendale and matches Conroe ( atlest till E6600 ) performance. My computer lab have these E6600 processors and I can tell you that the Brisbane core can easily match its performance.

As pointed out by you, the brisbane core is good and the best available in AMD right now. The Barcelona is struck at 2.8Ghz and the X2 5000 + black Edition can easily go upto 3.4 Ghz.

Now all models from AMD Athlon X2 3600+ to AMD Athlon X2 6000+ are available in Brisbane cores.

The Bribane Core AMD Athlon X2 6000+
Name:  tbhpbrisbane6k.JPG
Views: 289
Size:  21.1 KB



Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue_V View Post

Try running your game on the 780G. Its a great IGP mobo.
Yes, agreed that one of the best IGP available in the market right now, but its good only for some relatively lightweight games like Counter-Strike ( not CS-Source, but the older version than that ). It cannot very easliy run games like Carbon, DMC3. The games like Crysis, DMC4, and Prostreet are not playable in the IGP.

Last edited by aaggoswami : 6th September 2008 at 19:09.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 03:15   #262
BHPian
 
revvedup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 251
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaggoswami View Post
Yes, agreed that one of the best IGP available in the market right now, but its good only for some relatively lightweight games like Counter-Strike ( not CS-Source, but the older version than that ). It cannot very easliy run games like Carbon, DMC3. The games like Crysis, DMC4, and Prostreet are not playable in the IGP.
I don't know what is unplayable for you but the 780 G has moved the goalposts for an IGP. It easily runs Carbon @ 1280* 1024 HIGH AA off and Prostreet @ 1440*900 High car detail, Low world detail, Smoke and AA off and 1024*768 HIGH AA off. Crysis runs with medium detail and actually looks good save for the fact that the absence of AA and anisotropic filtering is felt.

Heck this thing even runs Assassin's Creed @ 1024*768 with high everything AA off.

Although I am not an avid gamer, however the people who buy the 780 G wouldn't be avid gamers either and thus the board would satiate most of their gaming needs.

Gurus one query if I get a computer from the UK, would it be cheaper ? Although I know that computer components in the US are cheaper but I don't have any clue about the UK. See the dilemma is whether to carry the existing setup ( AMD 5000+ +780 G) or get a new one there(provided that it is a little cheaper).
revvedup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 03:44   #263
BHPian
 
Saiyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 43
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

^Get it from India only if not from US. Actually only few items are better bought from US, like for example graphics card, performance Ram, sound card and few performance motherboards. Rest of the components like processor can be bought in India as the prices are almost the same.
Saiyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 05:03   #264
BHPian
 
MA5K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 76
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

UK (and Europe in general) is not the best place to buy computer components. Often you'll find Indian prices cheaper than UK prices.Also, most people travelling abroad (including students) prefer to carry/buy a laptop than a desktop.
MA5K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 09:00   #265
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,630
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by revvedup View Post

I don't know what is unplayable for you but the 780 G has moved the goalposts for an IGP.


It easily runs Carbon @ 1280* 1024 HIGH AA off and Prostreet @ 1440*900 High car detail, Low world detail, Smoke and AA off and 1024*768 HIGH AA off.

I had trouble playing Prostreet at 1440X900, everything high and AA 2X.
I think that the games gets more enjoyable with high settings and prefer it that way. The game was just playable.

Quote:
Originally Posted by revvedup View Post

Crysis runs with medium detail and actually looks good save for the fact that the absence of AA and anisotropic filtering is felt.
I tired Crysis at 1440 X 900 with as usual, everything high settings and it was not at all playable. This might be because Crysis is a game that requires very high hardware, but 780G could not run it at playable rates.

Quote:
Originally Posted by revvedup View Post

Heck this thing even runs Assassin's Creed @ 1024*768 with high everything AA off.
Never tried this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by revvedup View Post

Although I am not an avid gamer, however the people who buy the 780 G wouldn't be avid gamers either and thus the board would satiate most of their gaming needs.
Agree with you, but to enjoy the game and it must be playable, and 780G is not bad at all, but just not playable. However, plonk in a 3650 graphics card and see how playable the games becomes including DMC4.

Quote:
Originally Posted by revvedup View Post

Gurus one query if I get a computer from the UK, would it be cheaper ? Although I know that computer components in the US are cheaper but I don't have any clue about the UK. See the dilemma is whether to carry the existing setup ( AMD 5000+ +780 G) or get a new one there(provided that it is a little cheaper).
Not an expert as far as shopping abroad is consisdered, but I think that it will be cheaper but not much. I did some searching, and located this site:
Misco.co.uk - Computer Hardware, Laptops, Notebooks, Desktops, TFTs, Printers, Servers, Wireless Networking, Software

and I found that they are selling 5200+ at higher rates than 5400+.
Have a look at this:
AMD Athlon 64 X2 5400+ socket AM2 processor - Misco.co.uk

But advisable to buy from India.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 16:08   #266
BHPian
 
MuzzledMoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: THRISSUR
Posts: 185
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

www.theitwares dot com in mumbai will give all the fair prices. www.deltapage dot com in chennai
MuzzledMoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 16:59   #267
BHPian
 
revvedup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 251
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MA5K View Post
UK (and Europe in general) is not the best place to buy computer components. Often you'll find Indian prices cheaper than UK prices.Also, most people travelling abroad (including students) prefer to carry/buy a laptop than a desktop.
Thanks for the advice so India it is. The problem with laptop is that it's not as upgradable as a desktop. Moreover it would be much more expensive than a similarly equipped desktop too.

However the UK immigration department has a limit of 145 pounds( I don't know how these guys assess the value) for duty-free personal goods. So a Laptop+duty would cost almost the same or more than what it costs in the UK. So I am more inclined towards carrying a desktop CPU now.

Anybody here who has carried a desktop/laptop to the UK ?
revvedup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2008, 13:16   #268
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 172
Thanked: 67 Times
Default

How can IPG run Crysis or Prostreet at such high resolutions? Its IGP! If anything try running Far Cry, Half life etc.
I have a 690g and run Richard Burns rally, coling mcrae '05, rise of nations, dungeon seige. Im happy with it. IGP is not meant to run the latest games.
While the 780G has improved vastly over 690g, its not a substitute for a proper graphic card. But i could live off 690G/780G for time being.
Blue_V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2008, 18:04   #269
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Melbourne, Hyd
Posts: 1,234
Thanked: 22 Times
Default Zenith Smart Style PC, will it be a good buy?

Here are the specifications of it:

Processor : Intel® Pentium® Dual Core T3200, 2 GHz, 1 MB Cache, 667 MHz FSB.

Motherboard : Intel Mobile Chipset based Motherboard.

Operating System: Genuine Windows Vista® Business.

Memory : 1 GB DDR2.

Hard Drive : 160 GB – SATA.

Graphics Card : Intel GMA 950 Graphic Controller.

Audio / Sound : ALC655 AC97 CODEC.

LAN : 10/100 On Board.

I/O Ports : 4 in 1 Card Reader.

Power Supply : 65W Adapter.

Security : Kensington Lock Hole.

Display Size : 17” WXGA; 1440 x 900.

Keyboard / Mouse: PS/2, 107 Keys Keyboard and PS/2 Optical Mouse.

OPTIONS : MEMORY, OPERATING SYSTEM, DVD Writer AVAILABLE.


Source: Zenith Computers.


Some additional Information and review on this one from another forum:
Quote:
The Zenith SmartStyle PC is built around a 1.86 GHz Intel T2140 mobile dual-core processor and 945GM chipset. The 17-inch LCD monitor runs natively at 1440x900 pixels. It comes with 1 GB of DDR2-533 memory, 224 MB of which is shared as video memory, and a 160 GB hard drive to take care of your storage needs. The DVD writer is mounted vertically on the left panel. We had an issue shutting the drive tray, which needed a little force to close The speakers are built into the unit and are situated at the base of the display. There are six USB port, two PS/2 ports, audio jacks, a 4-in-1 card reader, and VGA and Ethernet ports.
source: Zenith SmartStyle PC - InterWeb

A pic from the above forum:





I am looking for a new PC for my home:

What I use a PC for:

Team-bhp & other forums.

Browse Internet

Picassa(mild image editing)

Once in a while a movie(DVD)

Once in a while I use Open Office.

Currently I am using a very old PC(bought in 2000, PIII 700, 128MB RAM, 40GB HDD, DVD writer) at home which just manages my usage.

I would like to know, is this new offering from Zenith a good buy?

Did anyone bought or heard from others who bought this one? Any issues with this one. One possible issue for this one would be while upgrading. But if I see myself apart from the addition of the DVD, I haven't upgraded my PC n the last 8 years. Is there any other issue I should be looking at? Are there any known issues with these?

I heard these PCs are priced at 20,000/- sans DVD writer which could be bought as an option. I would also dump the keyboard with it and buy a TVS GOLD keyboard.

Raj.

Last edited by kkr2k2 : 6th December 2008 at 18:06.
kkr2k2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2008, 18:15   #270
Senior - BHPian
 
deepclutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Muvattupuzha
Posts: 1,119
Thanked: 108 Times
Default

no ,dual core itself is outdated. assemble your computer.or ask your local compu technician to assemble one. you wont get happy days with such outdated "branded" computers.
My 2 rupees advice
deepclutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me config a new system for Music sequencing and Mixing bheem Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 20th October 2008 13:35
ICE config for Palio amitverma In-Car Entertainment 6 10th May 2006 12:42
Audio Config For My Bro's New Swift.... freakrz In-Car Entertainment 36 10th March 2006 22:25
Needed: Best Audio config for a tata Indica msk_kapoor In-Car Entertainment 52 24th February 2006 09:44
Proposed Audio Config.. allajunaki In-Car Entertainment 38 31st August 2005 23:44


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 16:54.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks