Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22nd November 2007, 11:32   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,172
Thanked: 1,073 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vasudeva View Post
Display Card PCIEx 256mb NVIDIA 7100 GS Rs. 2548.

512 MB NVIDIA would be for around Rs. 4600-5000.

Video memory means jack. A 4 year old 128MB Radeon 9800 Pro will run circles around that 7100GS in 3D performance. Even if one adds 1GB to a 7300 or 7600, its basically useless cos the 3D chip is too slow to use so much video memory.

For 20k, here's what I suggest

Intel Pentium E2140 Rs 2800
(This CPU can easily be overclocked to 2.66GHz or higher on the stock heatsink without overheating issues. I got one for my brother and its running at 3GHz, 24/7)

Biostar TP35D2-A7 motherboard Rs 4500
(The cheapest full featured P35 motherboard you can get. Overclocks like a demon and is currently the best performing intel chipset)

Transcend 2GB DDR2-800 Rs 3000
(Cheapest good DDR2 available in the market)

NVIDIA 8600GT 256MB Rs 6000
(Select whatever vendor you want, just make sure its an 8600GT)

Seagate 7200.10 250GB hard drive Rs 2700
(Do not buy hitachi. Their after sales service is a pain. If the drive dies, you'd be left fending for yourself. Seagate/WD replace the drives in 3 days or less)

Gigabyte Superb 460W Rs 2400
(This is a Fortron/FSP rebadged PSU. Dead silent, good regulation, active PFC, dual rails. Much better than the Topower rebadged coolermaster crap. That 600W coolermaster would blow up if the system pulls more than 450W.)

Zebronics Cabinet + Fans Rs 1300
(Choose whatever catches your fancy )



Total cost : ~23000 INR. If you wish to spend more, get an 8800GT 512MB instead of the 256MB 8600GT. The golden rule for a gaming system is spend most of your budget on the video card. CPU speed is only secondary. There's no point wasting money on an uber powerful quadcore when no games actually use the quad.

I run a pair of 8800 Ultras but my CPU is a cheapo E6600 which is overclocked to oblivion. (from 2.4GHz to 3.6GHz) I changed to a friend's quadcore Q6600 and it didn't overclock as much and performance in games was actually lower.

Last edited by reignofchaos : 22nd November 2007 at 11:40.
reignofchaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 11:38   #17
Senior - BHPian
 
rocksterraghu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,186
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

Busa, if you're upgrading your system, that is great!

However, according to me, all you need to do is reinstall your graphic card drivers, preferably with the latest version downloaded from their site.
rocksterraghu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 11:42   #18
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,172
Thanked: 1,073 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rocksterraghu View Post
Busa, if you're upgrading your system, that is great!

However, according to me, all you need to do is reinstall your graphic card drivers, preferably with the latest version downloaded from their site.
That system is way too slow to play any modern game... especially that video card. Its absolutely underpowered.
reignofchaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 11:46   #19
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 2,175
Thanked: 128 Times
Default

Thanks a lot `reignofchaos' for your technical advice. It seems that I have perhaps bought the graphics card without any need, since I am not into gaming. I am really not a `IT person' and so whatever you have said is appreciated.
vasudeva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 11:49   #20
Senior - BHPian
 
BUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,130
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Thanks Vasudeva, prashanth, l3g014s(how do you remember this name? ), sumit, ramie & im sirni for your valuable inputs.

I have a cabinet, just need a good motherboard, processor, game card & ram(my current RAM is 512mb, so can it be used in anyway)

Since i have a HDD already i can skip on that for the moment, also i have a dvd writer, cd writer so dont need that. Any idea on branded packed PCs as they work better.

ROC - Thanks so much that was a fantastic post

Rockster - Thanks but it does not work with just the reinstallation.

Last edited by BUSA : 22nd November 2007 at 12:09.
BUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 11:51   #21
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 125
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Hi Busa,

Please try the forum Techtree.com: India's Technology Daily. you can find various for various budget. Hope this will be helpful
Ford_madhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 11:56   #22
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 2,175
Thanked: 128 Times
Default

Yes, perhaps you can save on the cabinet, dvd writer, display, etc. Branded Packed PCs would be way out of the budget of 20K. You have a 80GB which suffices. According to my limited knowledge, RAM of 512 MB that you have may or may not be compatible on a new motherboard. Good chances that RAM may not be usable in a new system. But even a 1GB RAM is around 1.7-1.9K. In branded PCs with Windows Vista installed, I have heard from some users that better to get a 2GB RAM first-up.
vasudeva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 11:57   #23
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,172
Thanked: 1,073 Times
Default

Your current memory can not be used as its DDR1. Most contemporary boards use DDR2. You can get rid of the hard drive from the config I suggested and it'll bring the price down to 20k.

Branded PCs are a waste of cash IMHO. You don't know what you are getting and because of non standard designs of the cabinet, motherboard and power supply, you'd be left in a lurch if something goes wrong after warranty expires. They'd charge huge premiums for the dead parts. Upgrading them is a huge pain too.
reignofchaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 12:30   #24
Senior - BHPian
 
BUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,130
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Thanks Vasudeva and ROC again.

I dont want to install Vista, i prefer XP anyday.

The basic games i play dont work all that well with my current setup. I play Hidden and Dangerous 2 Siber Squardon, but it hangs after some time of play and shows multicolours.

SO basically the parts i need to get are the following.

Intel Pentium E2140 Rs 2800 - Is there something in AMD, like Turion, and is the E2140 dual core, i might spend a little more and get a better processor. My computer is on almost 24 hours a day, so i dont want overheating.

Biostar TP35D2-A7 motherboard Rs 4500 - How many slots for ram does it have, like right now if i go for 2GB Ram and later want to upgrade further to another 2GB, will it support?

Transcend 2GB DDR2-800 Rs 3000

NVIDIA 8600GT 256MB Rs 6000

Gigabyte Superb 460W Rs 2400 - What exactly is this?

Total - 18700/-

Quote:
If you wish to spend more, get an 8800GT 512MB instead of the 256MB 8600GT.
How much does the 512MB cost?
BUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 12:31   #25
BHPian
 
im_srini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Portland
Posts: 926
Thanked: 308 Times
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by reignofchaos View Post
Video memory means jack. A 4 year old 128MB Radeon 9800 Pro will run circles around that 7100GS in 3D performance. Even if one adds 1GB to a 7300 or 7600, its basically useless cos the 3D chip is too slow to use so much video memory.

I run a pair of 8800 Ultras but my CPU is a cheapo E6600 which is overclocked to oblivion. (from 2.4GHz to 3.6GHz) I changed to a friend's quadcore Q6600 and it didn't overclock as much and performance in games was actually lower.
Hi ReignOfChaos, I would argue that video memory's important considering the larger & larger texture sizes being used in current games. Too little memory would mean you're spending time moving textures back & forth to your card isn't it ?

Wow ! A pair of 8800 Ultras ! Looks like you're preparing for 'Crysis'. What resolutions are your running ? Is BioShock good on your setup ? Your frame-rates must be really cool.
im_srini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 12:36   #26
Senior - BHPian
 
govigov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cochin!!!!!
Posts: 1,271
Thanked: 382 Times
Default

I would highly suggest this motherboard.

Intel&reg Desktop Board D975XBX2 Overview

Start from this mother board and work your way up.
govigov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 12:38   #27
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,172
Thanked: 1,073 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by im_srini View Post
Hi ReignOfChaos, I would argue that video memory's important considering the larger & larger texture sizes being used in current games. Too little memory would mean you're spending time moving textures back & forth to your card isn't it ?

Wow ! A pair of 8800 Ultras ! Looks like you're preparing for 'Crysis'. What resolutions are your running ? Is BioShock good on your setup ? Your frame-rates must be really cool.
It is useful when the GPU has sufficient fill and texel rates to use large texture sizes. There's no point slapping 512MB on a 7100GS or 7300GS or for that matter an 8600. Its only in the top end cards that the large frame buffer matters.

Bioshock runs at more than 100fps, maxed out at 1680x1050 8xAA, 16xAF. However Crysis runs like a dog :(. SLI support is not fully functional in it as of now.
reignofchaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 12:39   #28
Senior - BHPian
 
BUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,130
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

How much does that motherboard cost.
BUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 12:42   #29
BHPian
 
chetan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 466
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

chaos i have a amd 2800, 1gb hynix 330mzh and msi k8mm-v mother board now i dont know a clue about over clocking......is it safe to overclock the mentioned setup.....

Intel Pentium E2140 Rs 2800
(This CPU can easily be overclocked to 2.66GHz or higher on the stock heatsink without overheating issues. I got one for my brother and its running at 3GHz, 24/7)

does this setup play current games like cod4, quake wars, crysis? and what resolution, is there any ghosting while playing

Biostar TP35D2-A7 motherboard Rs 4500
(The cheapest full featured P35 motherboard you can get. Overclocks like a demon and is currently the best performing intel chipset)

Transcend 2GB DDR2-800 Rs 3000
(Cheapest good DDR2 available in the market)

NVIDIA 8600GT 256MB Rs 6000
(Select whatever vendor you want, just make sure its an 8600GT)

is the gpu overclocked too.........is there any good guide for overclocking


Hey you never replied on how much u payed for the momo, does it have two paddle shifts, where did you buy it
chetan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 12:43   #30
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,172
Thanked: 1,073 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BUSA View Post
Thanks Vasudeva and ROC again.

I dont want to install Vista, i prefer XP anyday.

The basic games i play dont work all that well with my current setup. I play Hidden and Dangerous 2 Siber Squardon, but it hangs after some time of play and shows multicolours.

SO basically the parts i need to get are the following.

Intel Pentium E2140 Rs 2800 - Is there something in AMD, like Turion, and is the E2140 dual core, i might spend a little more and get a better processor. My computer is on almost 24 hours a day, so i dont want overheating.
This is a Core 2 Duo with 1MB cache instead of 2MB. Doesn't matter much otherwise. The performance difference is insignificant between 2MB and 1MB of cache. As I said... its the coolest running CPU in the Core 2 Duo range.

Quote:
Biostar TP35D2-A7 motherboard Rs 4500 - How many slots for ram does it have, like right now if i go for 2GB Ram and later want to upgrade further to another 2GB, will it support?
It has 4 RAM slots. You'd be using only 2 of them as of now. You can add 2GB more later on. As I said its a fully featured board. Does not skimp on any features.

Quote:
Transcend 2GB DDR2-800 Rs 3000

NVIDIA 8600GT 256MB Rs 6000

Gigabyte Superb 460W Rs 2400 - What exactly is this?

Total - 18700/-
A good Power supply. Your existing PSU won't work with a higher end video card that requires a separate PCI Express power connector.

Quote:
How much does the 512MB cost?
The 8600GT 512MB is best avoided as there would be no performance gain. Infact performance might drop as typically board makers use cheaper and slower video ram in the midrange large memory cards.

The 8800GT 512MB will cost you around 14 grand.
reignofchaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me config a new system for Music sequencing and Mixing bheem Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 20th October 2008 13:35
ICE config for Palio amitverma In-Car Entertainment 6 10th May 2006 12:42
Audio Config For My Bro's New Swift.... freakrz In-Car Entertainment 36 10th March 2006 22:25
Needed: Best Audio config for a tata Indica msk_kapoor In-Car Entertainment 52 24th February 2006 09:44
Proposed Audio Config.. allajunaki In-Car Entertainment 38 31st August 2005 23:44


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 05:24.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks