Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 3rd July 2009, 17:33   #421
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,710
Thanked: 1,080 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaggoswami View Post
Just one word, Asus RMA is not reputed to be the best. MSI and Gigabyte are good when it comes to RMA along with Intel.
AMD setups are nice and best is not to mess up with them.
Agree. Avoid ASUS products. Their After sales service is best avoided. My first two boards were ASUS , switched to Gigabyte for my last build.
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2009, 17:46   #422
Senior - BHPian
 
devarshi84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ahmedabad - Tor
Posts: 3,996
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

Infact Asus is supposed to be a better board than MSI or gigabyte.

Asus has a better reputation for quality and has been in the business longer too.

Because of the slow RMA, it is no reason to discard Asus.
devarshi84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2009, 17:46   #423
Distinguished - BHPian
 
n_aditya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Namma Bengaluru
Posts: 5,182
Thanked: 2,674 Times
Default

Now i am confused...

P.S. What is RMA?

Last edited by n_aditya : 3rd July 2009 at 17:50.
n_aditya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2009, 17:52   #424
Senior - BHPian
 
devarshi84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ahmedabad - Tor
Posts: 3,996
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

Return Merchandise Authorization
devarshi84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2009, 17:54   #425
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,710
Thanked: 1,080 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by devarshi84 View Post
Infact Asus is supposed to be a better board than MSI or gigabyte.

Asus has a better reputation for quality and has been in the business longer too.

Because of the slow RMA, it is no reason to discard Asus.
partially agree. its not unlike fiat. The product is good, but the A.S.S sucks. You dont want to be the one going back to the shop every 2 weeks checking if your board is back/the board you got has an entirely new and different defect. If you dont mind taking the risk, be my guest

RMA

Most PC hardware is not repairable. if it acts up within warranty, your retailer will send it to your distributor, and you will get a new/refurbished piece in return within about 2 weeks. This is essentially the RMA process
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2009, 18:15   #426
Distinguished - BHPian
 
n_aditya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Namma Bengaluru
Posts: 5,182
Thanked: 2,674 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
If you dont mind taking the risk, be my guest
Well then Asus is out. I cant risk having a headache every now and then.

Any suggestions which are similar to M2A-74AM and M3A-78EM?

I dont want to upgarde in the near future, yet want something which is "future ready". I can spend upto 5k for a MoBo.
n_aditya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2009, 18:23   #427
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,710
Thanked: 1,080 Times
Default

GIGABYTE - Product - Motherboard - Overview - GA-MA78GM-S2H (rev.1.0)
its the same chipset at the M3A78EM. costs <5k in mumbai

If you want ABSOLUTE reliablity, get an intel original (manufactured by intel) motherboard + intel processors. I have friends who have PII's which are still running on original intel boards. All other manufacturers are not as lucky. Most last a few years after the warranty ends ( 3~5 years).

However, those gamer friends of yours will not touch an intel original board with a barge pole. they have very little features, and the performance is no great shakes

the AMD board is AM2+ board It's future proof enough.But if you want something that is entirely future ready, look for an AM3 board. AM2+ and AM3 board will both take the newer processors, but i believe they will have a bit reduced performance in AM2+ boards compared to AM3

Last edited by greenhorn : 3rd July 2009 at 18:31.
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2009, 19:20   #428
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post

If you want ABSOLUTE reliablity, get an intel original (manufactured by intel) motherboard + intel processors. I have friends who have PII's which are still running on original intel boards. All other manufacturers are not as lucky. Most last a few years after the warranty ends ( 3~5 years).

the AMD board is AM2+ board It's future proof enough.But if you want something that is entirely future ready, look for an AM3 board. AM2+ and AM3 board will both take the newer processors, but i believe they will have a bit reduced performance in AM2+ boards compared to AM3
Intel is not good. I am using Intel as well as AMD. Initially my AMD set up was not taking Vista. Disabling on board audio, USB and lan during installation solved the problem. But my DG41TY +Q8200 is not able to take Vista. Windows 7 Beta its running fine, but not Vista. And that processor temperature is in the range of 69-75 during Idle and full load.

About AM3, there are certain AM2+ boards from Gigabyte ( apparently the largest range ) that are capable of running AM3 processors. But I am not sure of HT speeds.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2009, 00:09   #429
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by n_aditya View Post
Well then Asus is out. I cant risk having a headache every now and then.

Any suggestions which are similar to M2A-74AM and M3A-78EM?

I dont want to upgarde in the near future, yet want something which is "future ready". I can spend upto 5k for a MoBo.
Go with Asus M3A-78EM board or GA-MA78GM-S2H (rev.1.0) that Greenhorn suggested. Both are good.

Both these boards will last next 3 -4 years in terms of features. Windows 7 will be the norm for next 3 -4 years and it runs fine on these. And for normal PC users, these boards have everything.

Regarding RMA, its not worth bothering about.

just take AMC for 1500 Rs a year from the chap from whom you are buying the PC. Then leave it upto him to deal with any warranty issues.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2009, 04:55   #430
Senior - BHPian
 
devarshi84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ahmedabad - Tor
Posts: 3,996
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by n_aditya View Post
Well then Asus is out. I cant risk having a headache every now and then.

Any suggestions which are similar to M2A-74AM and M3A-78EM?

I dont want to upgarde in the near future, yet want something which is "future ready". I can spend upto 5k for a MoBo.
I am a PC retailer and I do sell Assembled Computers too. My preference has always been Asus even though I have supplied MSI or gigabyte when the requirements have been in the budget range.

Never had a problem until now. The only time I did visit Asus service was to get a Asus laptop issue resolved. Took them 48 hours. Also an Asus P750 phone had mobo issue (different service center). The phone was replaced in 5 days.

That's the only experience I have had of Asus service. I personally dont own a Asus.

And as netfreak suggested, get an AMC from your pc vendor. You will need it anyways for issues other than the MOBO too.
devarshi84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2009, 07:45   #431
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,710
Thanked: 1,080 Times
Default

devarshi, maybe you deal with a distributor other than rashi, but asus has probably has the highest number of complaints and unresolved issues reported by folks in indian tech forums, and my experience has not been too different. I too got fed up and had to settle for a partially working M2A VM after a couple of RMA's

Asus RMA - TechEnclave
Asus RMA woes + 939 board suggestions - TechEnclave
Poor ASUS after sales service story . - TechEnclave
Rashi - Asus MB RMA - TechEnclave
Pathetic Asus Service - TechEnclave
Calling all Rashi haters - Boycott Rashi & Asus - TechEnclave
Sigh :no: Asus :( - TechEnclave
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2009, 18:50   #432
Team-BHP Support
 
bblost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 9,552
Thanked: 6,310 Times
Default

Croma has an offer of a free HP printer (worth 1600) with any desktop.

For 19,990 A HCL Net Top AZ1107 is available with the following config:
1.6 GHz Intel Atom
160 GB HDD
1 GB RAM
DVD writer
Windows XP Home
18.5" TFT

Has a bunch of USB ports and a Lan Port.
Looks decent.

Is the price a good one. Please advice.
bblost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2009, 19:06   #433
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,710
Thanked: 1,080 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bblost View Post
Croma has an offer of a free HP printer (worth 1600) with any desktop.

For 19,990 A HCL Net Top AZ1107 is available with the following config:
1.6 GHz Intel Atom 3.2K
160 GB HDD 1.9K
1 GB RAM 0.8K
DVD writer 1.2K
Windows XP Home 4.5K
18.5" TFT 6.5k

Has a bunch of USB ports and a Lan Port.
Looks decent.

Is the price a good one. Please advice.
using prices from deltapage.com

works out to 18K. Using Linux/Captain Jack Sparrow's OS, might be lesser
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2009, 11:52   #434
Team-BHP Support
 
bblost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 9,552
Thanked: 6,310 Times
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
using prices from deltapage.com

works out to 18K. Using Linux/Captain Jack Sparrow's OS, might be lesser
You missed out the cost of cabinet, Keyboard and Mouse.

I would add about 1,000 for all of this.
Bringing the cost of an assembled to 19.

So the cost of just hardware will be 15k.
The HCL does not make much sense if Ubuntu is used.

BUT. Now my sister calls me in the morning and is confused about Laptop v/s Desktop.
As far as sisters are concerned, brothers are their secretaries.

Thanks for the link. Its very handy.

Last edited by bblost : 5th July 2009 at 11:53.
bblost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2009, 11:57   #435
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,710
Thanked: 1,080 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bblost View Post
You missed out the cost of cabinet, Keyboard and Mouse.

I would add about 1,000 for all of this.
Bringing the cost of an assembled to 19
So the cost of just hardware will be 15k.
The HCL does not make much sense if Ubuntu is used.
heh, didnt cross my mind then. I would have added 2k in fact
Quote:

BUT. Now my sister calls me in the morning and is confused about Laptop v/s Desktop.
As far as sisters are concerned, brothers are their secretaries.
or tech support, as the case may be
Depends on how mobile she is. Is she staying in a hostel etc? then a laptop is the better solution. in fact, i would be confused between a netbook and a laptop
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me config a new system for Music sequencing and Mixing bheem Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 20th October 2008 13:35
ICE config for Palio amitverma In-Car Entertainment 6 10th May 2006 12:42
Audio Config For My Bro's New Swift.... freakrz In-Car Entertainment 36 10th March 2006 22:25
Needed: Best Audio config for a tata Indica msk_kapoor In-Car Entertainment 52 24th February 2006 09:44
Proposed Audio Config.. allajunaki In-Car Entertainment 38 31st August 2005 23:44


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 17:34.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks